We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay here again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ice Lakes Lodge at Royal Gorge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Soda Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ice Lakes Lodge at Royal Gorge
Save
You added Ice Lakes Lodge at Royal Gorge to your Saves list
1111 Soda Springs Road, Soda Springs, CA 95728   |  
Hotel amenities
A TripAdvisor Member
“Would not stay here again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2006

The setting for the lodge is gorgeous,and the lodge itself is very nice looking. I stayed with my 2 year old (my husband was sick and could not come as planned). I had all of the gear a 2 year old requires and the person at the front desk did not offer to help in any way (not even to hold the door) as I struggled with several loads and a child who wanted to be held. The person did not even look up from what she was doing.

The rooms are very starkly appointed....and it was cold. The guest guide states that the rooms are heated to 68 degrees and specifically says to NOT touch the thermostat....even though it read 60 degrees.

The lack of hospitality put me in a more critical frame of mind than I otherwise would have been....I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royals92, Manager at Ice Lakes Lodge at Royal Gorge, responded to this review, July 28, 2008
This review and reviews prior to this date are no longer valid as Ice Lakes Lodge has been under new ownership since March,2006
Services, amenities, cleanliness and restaurant have all been greatly upgraded. Guest rooms are being upgraded gradually.
The magnificent location, lake and outdoor amenities remain outstanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    3
    6
    1
See reviews for
5
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2005

A beautiful location, a lovely lake, but the hotel leaves much to be desired. Service is terrible, waited so long for service at the hotel restaurant that we finally left (as did several other parties). The rooms are small and clean, but you can hear every noise in the hotel from the room. Unfortunately for us, there was no sleep until the bar downstairs closed at 2am. Staff on the phone was surprisingly rude and unhelpful and I was disappointed that such a lovely location really misses its true potential. We'll be staying elsewhere this year.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2005

Just stayed over July 4 weekend. As stated in the other reviews, the lodge offers a very pretty view of Serene Lake. It has a small beach area on the lake. However, the beach is not a private beach and we had all sorts of people from the community sitting there. The rooms are done in a pine wood motif and are minimally furnished: There is not a dresser or bureau to place your clothes in, only a shelf in an open closet with cheap wire hangers. On top of this, the walls are paper thin. We were on the top floor and could hear every word of the people in the room next to us. (they weren't shouting-just talking!). It was as if they were in the room with us. Look elsewhere!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2005

I had my wedding and reception at the Lodge and most of our guests stayed there as well. It is has a beautiful location right on the edge of the Serene Lakes and the stone and wood decor has a warm, welcoming feel. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make everything perfect for us. The rooms are simple but nice, and the food is amazing. All of our guests commented on what a wonderful find it was. The Lodge is the perfect place for a family gathering or just a weekend away.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Calif.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2005

What an awesome place to stay. Our family (this is a great place for families) stayed on a Sun. and Mon. night and paid an amazing 99.00 a night. The Ice Lakes Lodge is a beautiful, chalet style building that was built in 2000. Upon entering we were greeted by a friendly person at the front desk, an outstanding view of the snow covered lake, a warm fire in the beautiful stone fireplace, and a very nice room on the bottom floor.
The lodge has a very nice resturaunt although a little bit pricey. The other option is to eat in the lounge (gorgeous view of lake)
with a good menu for families.

You are in luck if skiing or snowboarding is on your agenda Just a few miles away you will find Sugar Bowl Ski Resort, Boreal Ridge, Donner Ski Ranch, and Soda Springs.

I cannot say enough good things about this place. You will not be dissapointed!

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV, USA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2005

There has been a lodge at Serene Lakes (historically named Ice Lakes) near Soda Springs for about 50 years. But the original building just plain wore out - 40 foot average snowfalls will do that. So about 4 years ago it was replaced by a new and much better Lodge. Twenty six rooms, bar, dining room, beach - all the mod cons. Friendly staff, great views, hiking, canoeing on the lake (no power craft), skiing and snowshoeing. We've used it for the last couple of years and everyone enjoys themselves.

The rooms aren't the largest - but why stay in your room?

-----------
The Lodge At Ice Lakes
PO Box 850
Soda Springs, CA 95728
-----------------------

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ice Lakes Lodge at Royal Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ice Lakes Lodge at Royal Gorge

Address: 1111 Soda Springs Road, Soda Springs, CA 95728
Location: United States > California > Soda Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Soda Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Ice Lakes Lodge At Royal Gorge Hotel Soda Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ice Lakes Lodge at Royal Gorge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.