We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but . . .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ship Ashore Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Smith River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ship Ashore Resort
Save
You added Ship Ashore Resort to your Saves list
12370 Highway 101 North, Smith River, CA 95567   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Smith River
Brookings, OR
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great location, but . . .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I've never been sure what makes it a "resort." Large RV park? On-site restaurant? But, if you don't need city attractions, and want to spend some time exploring nearly-deserted shorelines and some of the biggest trees in the world, this is a good location. Regular rooms are nothing special, but it is ocean-view dining (with good specials), staff is wonderful, live music on the weekends, three-minute drive to a casino. And all right on the southern edge of "America's Wild Rivers Coast": which, of course, is the most beautiful place in the world.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    23
    6
    2
    11
See reviews for
9
24
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grants Pass, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

My husband and I stumbled across this place by accident. We asked if we could see a room so as to know what kind of shape it was in. The room had a bad smell like old urine coming from the bathroom. The drapes were stained and very tacky. This could be a great place if the owners would upgrade the rooms. The beds are old and all the furnishings are way out dated. We liked the restrant and bar but didn't stay to eat. It's a shame they don't fix this place up or sell it to someone who will.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

My hubby and I needed to getaway, but only had 3 days, so Ship Ashore Resort was the place. Staff was wonderful fitting us into a spur of the moment, and very pleasent when we arrived. We felt very welcomed. The room was great! Clean, large, with jacuzzi tub and a view to die for. We spent the weekend on the Deck! It was everything we needed, quite, clean and the resturant was very nice.
We will escape there again.

Room Tip: Stayed in the north wing, very nice, single room with king bed, deck, and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stayed at Ship Ashore this past weekend. Very pleased with the whole enviroment. The hotel is older but was very clean. The view is awesome, all rooms have a view of the Smith River and the ocean. Hotel manager was very friendly and very helpful. Also a big plus it is pet friendly and prices are great. I will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

I havent been to Ship Ashore for about 15 years. I was very excited to visit. After arriving, I became very saddened over what I had seen. This place used to be amazing in every way. They have always had absolutely top service, accommodations and so much to offer. Upon our stay, my husband and I learned that since the original owner died, the place has gone to waste. The building is literally falling apart. The rooms are still very clean, and the service and staff are all absolutely wonderful, but the building structures are in huge need of updating and much repair. This property has a beautiful view and this place had made such a good name for itself. It is so very sad to see it falling to ruin because someone who now owns it obviously just doesnt care. :(
The food is still top natch, as is the service. There are obviously employees there who care about the place and their customers. We left an extra huge tip and hope something is done soon to save this once beautiful establishment.
All in all, it is clean, peaceful, amazing food, and they have great service. The breakfast was great, and they have affordable prices.

Room Tip: All their rooms have a great view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Fished the Chetco River on Monday at 5:30am. Got to the hotel late the night before,

Found the after poking along in the coastal fog. The room was nice enough. Could hear the waves outside the door.

Room Tip: Just can't really say. Never saw the place with daylight. But it was clean, plenty of Hot Wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka ca
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We have to agree with most of the reviewers about Ship Ashore.For a secluded beautiful, romantic night, we often visit si this great spot.Since we live in a neighboring city, it makes a nice couples getaway. We love the small cabins with in room hot tub and the deck is nice for a quiet picnic in the afternoon.The restaurant has nice no frills food with good service.It can be a little crowded during salmon season,but winter is blustery and awesome under the covers! For night life there is a lounge and a casino about 1/2 mile away. Also very affordable a must visit experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ship Ashore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship Ashore Resort

Address: 12370 Highway 101 North, Smith River, CA 95567
Location: United States > California > Smith River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Smith River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Ship Ashore Hotel Smith River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ship Ashore Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.