We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Weston House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shingletown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Weston House
Save
You added Weston House to your Saves list
6741 Red Rock Road, Shingletown, CA 96088   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Shingletown B&B and Inns
California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at this beautiful property which offers an amazing view.Upon arrival we were greeted by Angela the owner of the B&B who was very nice,personal and accommodating.Angela helped us with planning activities in the area, and offered her kitchen facilities ,so we were able to cook and use her BBQ as well.Since there are not many options of dining out in Shingeltown, this was a perfect solution.The room was large and very comfortable, and the breakfast was outstanding.The location is excellent for travelers who wish to visit Lassen Volcanic park (only 20 miles from the northern park entrance).Ideal for families and couples who are looking for a peacfull upscale place. You will feel like you are at home away from home.

Room Tip: The Jenifer room is very large and has an adjacent room (Laura room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This was the best place we stayed at on our road trip around California. It was like a home from home with the most comfortable bed we have ever slept on! Cosy, comfortable room with a wood-burning stove, fridge & kettle and big views across to the central valley. We guarantee if you're looking for somewhere to hide out and relax for a few days this is the place to stay. We had a warm welcome too from Angela who helped make us feel at home.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Stayed here for a bit of upscale recovery after a tent-camping trip at Burney Falls (see review elsewhere). Stayed in Vanessa's Room, a 2nd floor room with spacious bathroom and shower. Awesome views of upper Sacramento Valley and Red Bluff from the balcony. Room was very nicely appointed. Tiny TV, but who cares, you're here for the escape, right? The pool is pretty, surrounded by nice wood deck. As hot as the weather was, probably in the 80's, I couldn't handle the cold pool water. But it's nice to hang out on the deck and get more of the view. Peaceful night's sleep. Night time was wonderful too with gentle country breezes and plenty of windows to take them in. And incredible night sky viewing. Delicious breakfast on the deck. Doesn't get better than this if you're looking for escape, with good proximity to Burney Falls & Lassen Peak.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

This accommodation was pretty luxurious and well thought out. It felt remote and had beautiful views with lots of open space for children of all ages to explore. Our one year old loved the two dogs and the two horses and the owner, Angela, was more than happy to help her get close to them.

There was a beautiful decking area out by the swimming pool which had a fantastic outlook and was where breakfast was served - which was freshly cooked and also great.

Cooking facilities inside the room were OK too - with a microwave, fridge and sink provided. This was a bonus for us as eating out facilities were limited in the area. We enjoyed a take-out pizza from Shingletown and there was a Mexican style restaurant there that we didn't try too. Our room also had a balcony which shared the same view as the swimming pool.

Lassen National Park was only 30 minutes drive away which was no problem each day - particularly as accommodation in the park is limited.

If you want to visit Lassen and want somewhere comfortable and well equipped to stay, this is it...

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

I highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast. There are several detached buildings, so if you wanted to, you could pretty much just be alone. During the mid week days or off-season time, I wouldn't be surprised if you have the whole place to yourself. The owner, Angela, is available when you need her, but leaves you to yourself when you don't. The rooms are comfortable and ALL of them have an amazing view. We stayed in Helen's room where the refrigerator, sink, dishes and microwave came in very handy. (The refrigerator is a full size, not a dinky mini-bar). The breakfasts are complete breakfasts that will keep you full past lunch time. And Angela is great about working with allergies or special dietary requests. The pool is very relaxing after having spent the day hiking in Lassen. I was there during the summer, but I hear it is beautiful in the area when there is still some snow on the ground. The rooms surpassed their descriptions on her Web site. This would be a great place to go for a romantic get away, but also a good family friendly place to have a family reunion or travel with extended family as there's room for many to stay there, along with several communal areas to hang out together (including the deck around the pool and a piano in the main house). Trust me, just go there. I went there with my mom, and for one day, we drove the short distance to Redding for Spa day and dinner.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

The Weston House is a wonderful place to stay. We were on a fly drive and stayed in Shingletown for a few days of trekking in Lassen.

Weston House is a little out the way up a track into the mountains which only adds to its isolated, 'away from it all', feel. When we arrived our host warmly welcomed us and showed us to our tastefully decorated very comfortable room (the bathroom was particularly lovely).

Overall we loved The Weston House. It's a relaxed, friendly and romantic place to stay and well located for exploring the surrounding area. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

We stayed two nights at Weston House in early July.
We stayed in two rooms with a shared bathroom, very spacious with proper living area. Fridge and microwave.
Very comfortable and clean.
Weston House is a beautiful place in the most beautiful surroundings. On the side of a hill with expansive unspoilt views, it is set amongst trees in complete solitude.
Angela was very helpful and spent a lot of time with our daughter, letting her feed and help with her two foals. She has just the right balance of being around if you need her but also leaving you in peace.
Restaurant options in Shingletown are unexciting, you are better using the grill on the attractive deck at Weston House.
We had great breakfasts: fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals and delicious fresh toast with fruit sauce and a delicious baked omelet type thing.
It is well situated for Lassen (near enough that we went for a star talk there at 9.00 one night) and our daughter loved visiting the Wild Horse Sanctuary nearby.
For a peaceful few days this place can't be beaten.
It would also be ideal for a family gathering as I think it sleeps around 14 total in several rooms.
The children enjoyed the pool.
We loved Lassen and the lack of people there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Weston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weston House

Address: 6741 Red Rock Road, Shingletown, CA 96088
Location: United States > California > Shingletown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Shingletown
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming upscale Inn nestled amid a forest of black oak and ponderosa pine on the slopes of Mt Lassen. The ultimate romantic getaway, Weston House provides the luxury of having wood stove heating, evaporative cooling & air conditioning, balconies overlooking a wild horse sanctuary, and spectacular views from every room. Your Host, Angela Weston has collected fine art and quirky local finds which adorn the Inn and give each room it's own individual personality. Spend a quiet evening sipping local wines by the pool or share an intimate evening on your own private balcony and awaken to the vast panorama of Northern Sacramento Valley with all its canyons and cinder cones. Whether hiking or skiing Mt.Lassen, experiencing the wild horse sanctuary or just traveling through, Weston House will provide a once in a lifetime California experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Weston House Hotel Shingletown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Weston House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.