We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend an afternoon relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anselmo Vineyards

Anselmo Vineyards
28740 Iwood Road, Shingletown, CA 96088
530-474-5546
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $65
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Anselmo Vineyards cloaks 15 acres of the ranch and includes a first class wine tasting room. We proudly serve three reds, a bold Cabernet Sauvignon, a full bodied Merlot and a smooth blend we call Majorette. Our wines are always served along with good conversation and fabulous fine dining experience, and complemented by views of sprawling green pastures.
Shasta, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Spend an afternoon relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Come and sit on the patio overlooking the pasture with grazing cattle, sheep, goats and Canadian Geese. Enjoy the relaxing sound of the waterfall as you take in the beautiful landscaping. Take your glass of wine on a tour up to the cave and if so hike through the vineyards to a beautiful chapel overlooking the valley. Then come back to your senses and enjoy the wonderful cooking of Chef John and his crew. Taste a flight of wine with cheese plate and relish the moment. I hear there will be a London cab soon to transport clients from Redding to Anselmo Vineyards and other wineries in the region. We have never had a bad meal here and I also hear the cab for 2012 (although not bottled yet) is a true medal winner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    10
    4
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and myself had a delicious lunch in September. My family came from the Bay Area for a visit in October. We took them for lunch and they were amazed at the beautiful scenery and the great food. They certainly were surprised that something so close to Redding was here.
I sincerely hope that EVERYTHING turns out okay for Mr. Anselmo. He has done a marvelous job turning this red ugly dirt into something worth enjoying.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I have been here twice and both times the food and scenery did not disappoint. I had salmon at the first visit and a filet mignon the second time around. This was the best meat I have ever had. May thru September is perfect if you want to sit outside, but the indoor seating is quite fabulous as well. This place is especially perfect if you are celebrating a special occasion.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weaverville, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“ruined our celebration”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Our 21 year old took us out for our 25 annivrasry today, after we were seated, he was told he needed to have a shirt with a collar. hmm, a man two tables over had a tee shirt on with no COLLAR, but my 21 year old son needed to put on "a povided" polo shirt on over his tee shirt. He didn't want to ruin the party, and was very polite, but
why do some people have to follow the "strict" rules ...but others do not?
a party of 5 came in after us, and 3 men with tee shirts were not asked to put on a collared shirt, hmm...
Do not bring children or teens to this restaurant
stuffy and expensive
not welcome, not wanted
We spent $120 on a LUNCH for 4 and the food was OK, but the
feeling we went away with was not OK

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We were very pleased”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had dinner at the restaurant and had a wonderful experience. We were seated on the terrace with a lovely view of the sunset. The food was delicious and the portions generous - my husband and I could have split an entree. The wine flight was a very good value at $20. Each of us had 4 tastings, plus Prosecco at the end. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anselmo Vineyards also viewed

Been to Anselmo Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anselmo Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.