We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed this weekend for the Avila Blues Festival. Great location not to busy considering it was Memorial Day weekend.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shell Beach Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Shell Beach Inn to your Saves list
Shell Beach Inn
653 Shell Beach Road, Shell Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shell Beach
southern california
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stayed this weekend for the Avila Blues Festival. Great location not to busy considering it was Memorial Day weekend.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

The place is great. A family owned 10 room motel. Close to places to eat, close to the beach cliffs and stairs to walk down to the ocean. Ed was great and very helpful. Wifi was perfect. The rooms are quaint. Only thing I would suggest bring your own soap as the teeny round dots of soap in the room just aren't enough. Close to Pismo and Avila Beach. Went to both and they were busy. Shell Beach was just right. Went to Zorro's for breakfast-great place. Shell Beach Brewery for dinner Saturday after the Blues Festival. Food was ok. Surprised they had run out of 805 when my husband ordered. All around the inn is awesome. Will go back again.

Room Tip: Pool was small but nice. Rooms are small but all they are for is sleeping in. Does have flat scree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    14
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
27
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I was on the road with a friend from SF to LA. We needed a place to sleep!
So somewere on the road we stopped and discovered a sighn saying Shell Beach Inn.

Ed and his fantastic looking wife! ( You are a lucky men Ed!) were outside admiring a white flower lilly.

The plan was to stay for 1 night but we stayed 4 nights.

This was the best hotel we had on our 28 days trip! Not because it was ***** stars But because it felt like we visited a long time no see friend.

Ed did everything he could to help .. My friend had wound in his foot after walking a full day and Ed took care of that foot!

I sure will recommend any traveler on the way from SF to LA to take a stopover and take a stay here!

Higly Higly recommended!

I still am homesick for this wonderfull place and ppl.
We had a GREAT Stay!

Stayed here februari 2012. 4 nights.

(Ps the rooms are spacious and clean!) if you walk about 100 meters you are at stairs gooing to the Ocean.

5 Stars!

Room Tip: This is the place to rent a room on the way from SF to LA!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed there one night. It was our last stop on the way from Seattle to LA and we just had to stay somewhere not wanting to drive three extra hours to LA on that day. This motel is fine for one night. The room is okay, its clean, the bed is okay, the furniture is way outdated. But they have a fridge, a microwave and a tea/coffee maker. Also there is a HD TV and free Wi-Fi. Our room was at the pool side and you can smell the chlorine in the morning. We didn't use the pool. The noise from the highway was tolerable. The manager (or maybe the owner) greeted us at the desk. He was very courteous and helpful in suggesting the restaurant choices and local attractions which I guess are all related to the beach. We were there not for the beach, just for one-night stop and that purpose this motel satisfied.

Room Tip: Perhaps stay further away from the pool if you can. It smells chlorine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night while traveling up north. The hotel is very clean, service is great, and the heated pool is a surprising perk for everyone. The decor of the rooms is a bit outdated but that had zero effect on our comfort and overall stay. I would highly recommend it for anyone staying in the area. Pismo Beach hotels are overpriced for what you are getting.

Tip: Walk towards the beach and you will find a path that will lead you down to the beach. Sunsets at this location are a must see too!

Room Tip: Walk towards the beach and you will find a path that will lead you down to the beach. Sunsets at thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

But ants in our room! We had a nice walk and enjoyed our beautiful natural surroundings. The advice we received for places to dine turned out to be the most valuable thing we came away with. Still, a pleasant place to stay. Just don't bring in any food!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Shell Beach Inn for one night on our way up the coast to Monterey. We had stayed in Pismo before, and wanted to try something a little different and I remembered the really cool neon sign from the last time we were in town, so we chose this quaint little place to crash for the night. I'd say it's more like a motel, and all in all I'd say it's just ok. I love the location which is quiet and off the main drag of Pismo on a weird little street up in Shell Beach. I walked up the street in the morning to a great little coffee shop, and I noticed a few other good looking (and crowded) places for breakfast or lunch. It was a lovely walk, and the neighborhood behind the Inn leading up to the coast is really cute, and we took a walk down the street and sat on the benches on the bluff above the beach and watched the sunset, it's only a block to the coast. The room itself was...meh, it was ok. It was pretty quiet, mostly clean (I did find some old beef jerky in the drawer next to the bed from a previous guest....hey! Free snacks! Yuck.) The bed was pretty comfy and big, we couldn't get any TV stations to come thru on our TV, but whatever...we were only there to crash for one night so it wasn't the end of the world, it just made it seem a little over-priced. I think we paid $95 and it felt like it should be more like $65 or $75 based on cleanliness and amenities (or lack thereof) but I suppose you're paying a higher price for proximity to the lovely coastline.

Room Tip: Don't expect anything fancy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed P, Manager at Shell Beach Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Yes, we are a quaint motel, not a luxury resort. I'm happy you enjoyed our area but do apologize for the housekeeping mistake by our usually very thorough staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

While visiting grandchildren in the area we first investigated motels which,in the off season, are reasonably priced but during the summer are two to three times more expensive. Based on decent reviews we chose the Shell Beach Inn. Our room was still, by our standards, expensive. The majority of the small room was taken up by a low dresser supporting the TV, two double beds, a small refrigerator, and a microwave. The closet was narrow and deep and the only place to have an open suitcase was at the entrance to the closet. There were three coat hangers, although, the owners seemed very nice and probably would have given us more if we had asked. The bathroom was long with a small toilet at one end and a shower without bathtub at the other. The sink had no counter space to speak of. The motel is situated on the main drag and across from the freeway so it gets noisy during the night. The room was clean and the property well maintained. The owners were helpful in recommending restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask about room size and be willing to pay more for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shell Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shell Beach Inn

Address: 653 Shell Beach Road, Shell Beach, CA 93449
Location: United States > California > Shell Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shell Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Shell Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shell Beach Hotel Shell Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shell Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.