We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shell Beach Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Shell Beach Inn to your Saves list
Shell Beach Inn
653 Shell Beach Road, Shell Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shell Beach
dorset
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011 via mobile

Stumbled across shell beach inn what a great little motel
Ed & Jannie are so helpful read all good reports whilst in room yes it's that good
Thank you very much

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    14
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
27
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

There is a lot of accomodation in the Pismo Beach area, but it is hard to find one with such a personal touch as the Shell Beach Inn. Ed & Janine, the owners, are very welcoming and gave us usefull information about activities and sights. We really loved our room (room number 9!), nicely decorated, the kingsize bed was very comfortable, there was a fridge, television, microwave. We stayed in many hotels these last months on our world trip, but this place really felt like home. After our little stay at the Shell Beach Inn, we continued our planned journey, but after visiting San Fransisco, we decided to go back to the Shell Beach Inn for a few more days of real relaxation. This is a hidden gem and if you are tired of staying in the hotel chains, we definitely recommend the Shell Beach Inn with its beautiful neon sign.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is an old motel with humble furnishings. However, it is comfortable, clean, recently painted and included everything we needed. The owner was extremely nice and very helpful in informing us about what to do in the surrounding area. If we're ever in the area again, we'd stay there again.

Be sure to walk down the street to the bluff overlooking the ocean. It's breathtakingly beautiful, especially at sunset!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

My husband, daughter and I stayed 3 nights at the Shell Beach Inn in September. The exterior of the motel is very cute and seems to have been updated recently. The rooms were a little bit dated, with the brown shag carpeting... which seemed to be clean, but probably should be replaced soon. The bathrooms seemed to have been updated in the past 5 - 8 years or so and were clean. The owner (I think his name was Ed?) was so nice and very helpful! We were delayed in LA and arrived at about 10:00pm. He waited up for us and gave us a list of several things to do and places to eat... all of which were great recommendations! The rooms have a little fridge and a microwave. I personally would have not had the microwave, whereas we didn't use it and it got in the way of using the vanity.

Shell Beach Inn is located about 2 blocks from the cliffs of Shell Beach. We walked down there several times - there are stairs to the little beach, which at low tide included tide pools. My daughter and I love to beach comb and found tons of tiny bits of sea glass, shells and pretty rocks. The little neighborhood that you walk through is very safe feeling and clean.

Over all it is a great motel at a great price!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

We really enjoyed this little hotel. After years of going to the beach my husband and I were surprised we did not find this place earlier. Cute decor, friendly owners, very close to a nice trail along the cliffs facing the ocean, and quiet. We will definitely be back, it's a great value and a very nice little getaway for me and my husband.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

We stayed at the Shell Beach Inn as part of our road trip along the Big Sur in May 2011. We found it to be good value for money and were very pleased with our room which contained a king sized bed and a double bed along with a fridge, microwave and a coffee maker. The room was cleaned to a very high standard and the elaborate toilet paper folding was a nice touch. There was a small pool which we didn't have time to use but which looked clean and well maintained. All our dealings from booking to checking in and out were with Ed who we found to be very friendly and helpful. We got the impression that nothing would be too much trouble and he seemed genuinely interested in helping us get the most out of our stay. When we arrived late and were looking for somewhere to have dinner that night he happily called a local restaurant to check when they were serving food until. He also recommended Zorros and Alex BBQ and we enjoyed eating at both of them. We had a lovely walk on the beach while we were there, the beach is just a few minutes walk from the hotel. We would definitely stay here again and we would gladly have stayed for another night if we could have.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

Ed at the Shell Beech Inn is one of the friendliest hotel owners we have ever met! The Inn is warm, clean and beautifully themed, right next to the beach and great value for the area! We advise anyone who is looking for a family run, great and easy place to stay to check out shell beach inn! Our room came with coffee and machine and fridge. The Inn is walkign distance from some lovely restaurants and just a couple of minutes walk from the nightlife of Pismo.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shell Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shell Beach Inn

Address: 653 Shell Beach Road, Shell Beach, CA 93449
Location: United States > California > Shell Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shell Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Shell Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shell Beach Hotel Shell Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shell Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.