We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeps 6 but perfect for 2” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shaver Lake Village Hotel

Shaver Lake Village Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shaver Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shaver Lake Village Hotel
Save
You added Shaver Lake Village Hotel to your Saves list
42135 Tollhouse Rd, Shaver Lake, CA 93664   |  
Hotel amenities
san diego
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Sleeps 6 but perfect for 2”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were looking for a place that would sleep 4. The Shaver Lake Village Hotel offered a number of options and we chose the Antelope Room.

The room opens off the large deck at the front of the hotel. The downstairs is a large open room with a shower only bathroom off the kitchen. If you're planning on staying in town, the kitchen is a FULL kitchen. You'll be able to cook to your heart's content.

Bathroom: As mentioned, it's a shower only unit. The shower is small but adequate. bathroom is downstairs. It's the ONLY bathroom. Thank God there weren't 6 people staying the night.

Bedroom 1 has 2 queens and a queen futon couch. Bedroom 1 has a dbl bed and 2 bunkbeds.

Wall heaters in the bedroom are very good. Quiet and effective. Don't crank them up too high or you'll wake up in a baking hot room.

Leave a light on in the bathroom downstairs. The stairs are difficult in the dark.

This place was great. I'd highly recommend this place to anyone, but I haven't seen any of the other rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    21
    3
    6
    4
See reviews for
18
12
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Wow, what's cool find! For anyone looking for rest, relaxation, clean air (with the faint whiff of pines!) and blue skies, check out the Shaver Lake Lodge. We made the easy drive up from Fresno to find a world away from the valley's heat and traffic and questionable air quality.

The lodge features a small hotel, bunkhouses and charming themed cabins that smack of " the old days" with all the features and amenities of a first class resort, inc. blue ray/flat screens (as in 2 in our room) microwave, refrigerator and free wi-fi. Our "cowboy cabin" was decorated with a plethora of very cool cowboy accoutrements, from old photos, to cow horns, spurs and more. The "Bear Den" is all about bears, of course.

The staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful, suggesting where to eat, where to hike, tips on a a few movies to borrow (free) and setting us up for the included generously presented bigger-than-continental breakfast. They set up a bonfire for us in one of the pits that sit in the beautifully landscaped and decorated garden grounds, which also feature a dizzying choice of seats and swings.

The room was clean, charming, quiet and comfortable

Room Tip: Pick from a fun choice of rustic country themes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin T, Owner at Shaver Lake Village Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. I am so glad you had a good time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

It is beautiful in the mountains with snow on the ground and the sun shinning. The people are nice, but I wish they would change out the shower curtains now and then. There is something in the water that stains and it makes plumbing and shower curtains look grody. The walls are thin and you can hear coughing, showering, and other noises from next door! Nice reminder to me to keep it down! I like coming for the peace and quiet, the walk to the village—very friendly people. I gave it four stars for the management and for the area it is your best bet.

Room Tip: Room 1 is the only room I have occupied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin T, Owner at Shaver Lake Village Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Shaver Lake has iron in our water.......which although is good for you......it leaves a brownish film on everything it encounters. We do change our shower curtains regularly because of this and must have overlooked this room. Currently we are investigating the possibility of putting rock on the walls of the showers (like the HoneyMoose Cabin and our community rest room) to alleviate this concern. Last week we removed all the front doors to the hotel and installed new solid oak doors with new hardware to help with the noise problem. I personally stayed in Room 3 that night and I think it is now more quite. I do have one question for you Sylvia.......when you rated our hotel in December, you gave us a "5" for location. This rating you downgraded us to a "4" for location.......we didn't move the hotel......what happened????...lol.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a great time staying at Shaver Lake Village Hotel. Went snowboarding during the day and ate popcorn and watched movies at night in our cozy mountain cabin room. We had pizza down the street for dinner which was amazing. Perfect location and the staff were very nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Arrived here very late, and the staff had left an envelope with bill and key for us. Perfect. In small towns I always worry about getting there after this office closed so this worked.
First room smelly, not great, heater would not work and it smelled like gas was leaking. I called the number provided outside and the owner promptly came and switched us to another warmer and and better room. Cute woody theme. Clean. All the basics. Rudimentary complimentary breakfast in the morning.
Would stay again. Great rate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin T, Owner at Shaver Lake Village Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
When we purchased the hotel in July of 2012, we immediately began the renovating and upgrading of the main hotel and cabins. The main hotel was constructed in the 1940's which is the charm......and also the challenge to this structure. Each of the 8 rooms have older wall propane heaters without thermostats. We are currently in the process of replacing each heater with new propane heaters with thermostats. Without the thermostats, the guestsnhad to adjust the heat by opening the older units and turning a knob that was sometimes difficult to find..........very confusing. All but 2 rooms will be completed by next week.
As a small family run hotel, it is difficult to keep the front desk open past 8pm.........especially since we are now offering a continental breakfast which also increased our staffing needs. Although our preference would be to meet and greet each guest upon their arrival, we just don't have the capability to stay open for those really late arrivals. I'm am pleased the posting of the keys for the late guests seem to be working.
We began removing the Formica bathroom sinks and replacing them with our pedestal sinks. It looks much better. My kids and I talk everyday about new improvements we can make to the property.......we are very excited about the upgrades. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Showed up last minute at the Shaver Lake Hotel and the only room that they had available was The Bunkhouse. I was a little hesitant but we had a great time! Please understand that this is exactly what it sounds like "a bunkhouse", a bed and a bunkbed with a queen size bed underneath. There was a brand new flat screen TV and a blue ray player in the room along with more movies than you could watch in a month at the office. My sons and I borrowed three movies from the office, there is no charge, and spent a relaxing evening hanging out together. Please be advised that the heater in the bunkhouses heats up very quickly, before you know it you will wish that you had not turned it up so high to begin with!
The staff was very helpful. We enjoyed a continental breakfast before we headed off for a day on the slopes at China Peak.
If you like the feel of camping with some of the amenities of a hotel this is the perfect option for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haleiwa, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I don't know how I have been living in LA on and off (mostly off) since 1990 and only heard of Shaver Lake for the first time in 2012 after 22 years of schlepping all the way to Mammoth and Tahoe for decent snowboarding when Shave Lake is a mere 4 hours from LA!!! It is very beautiful peaceful and the folks at family run Shaver Lake Village Hotel know how to make you feel special while still respecting your privacy. They put out a lovely breakfast and are pet friendly !!! The rooms are clean and cozy and in the best location to ski China Peak. There IS an Inn at China Peak and God bless them but Shaver Lake Village Resort hotel is more upgraded. If you want romance you can have your own cabin and be sure to ask for a private Heavenly Hands masseuse to come to your room!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shaver Lake Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaver Lake Village Hotel

Address: 42135 Tollhouse Rd, Shaver Lake, CA 93664
Location: United States > California > Shaver Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Shaver Lake
Number of rooms: 15

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaver Lake Village Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.