We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stop and rest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elliott House Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Elliott House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elliott House Bed & Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   42062 Tollhouse Road, Shaver Lake, CA 93664   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Shaver Lake B&B and Inns
Barkhamsted, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice place to stop and rest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Comfortable setting, nice people, good breakfast. Someplace to stop between Yosemite and Sequioia National Parks. Parking was a bit awkward but worked out fine once we figured out (we arrived at night). Not much for sound insulation - squeaky floor boards above and laughing could be heard which could become annoying.

Room Tip: There are cabins in addition to the main building. Look over your options and see what works best f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    6
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The b&b was adorable, clean for the most part but too noisy since its on the main road in Shaver. Our showers were a bit too cold for our comfort, we couldnt get the water to warm up enough to have a nice warm shower. The breakfasts made up for the rough noisy nights and tepid showers, delicious with a 5 star quality presentation.

Room Tip: Any room or cabin in the back part of the b&b would be quiter than our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at the Elliot house with our son and his girlfriend, both rooms were beautiful and fitted the surroundings perfectly. We had traveled from San Fransisco, through Yosemite and were using the inn for an overnight stop, we had a very enjoyable evening and great night's sleep.
The following day we enjoyed an excellent breakfast and were given some great advice on where to eat when we arrived at our next destination near Pismo Beach.
Joanne and Greg Elliott are excellent hosts, it was a real shame we only had the one night, hopefully we may return.
If you need to eat in Shaver Lake get there early as only the Trading Post was open at 8:00pm on a Wednesday evening, however this is an excellent place to eat, drink and enjoy a really local atmosphere.

Room Tip: We booked both the Ponderosa and Dogwood suites which were both excellent and even though we were ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

They double booked our condo. No one contacted us prior to our arrival and told us about that. Once we arrived at the location, all we were told that by Joan, that she apologies. When we asked here why we were not contacted prior so we can change our vacation plans, no real answer was giving. She offered us to stay in another condo where we had to share the kitchen and living room with another family. They ruined our vacation and no any compensation was offered. They lost our business for years to come.

Room Tip: Call before you leave your house to verify if your condo is not double book. They wont contact you o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basalt, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at Drake's Landing Bed & Bites--a short distance from Elliott House. We were with another couple and stayed in the Crazy Loon & Loose Goose Suites, and shared a common area living room. Drake's Landing is managed by Joanne & Greg, the friendly and professional proprietors of Elliot House Bed & Breakfast. Everything was perfect--from the directions, to the cleanliness, to the charm and overall atmosphere. A delicious breakfast of baked apple-caramel pancakes with sausage, along with home baked pastries, was included in the price and was prepared and served by the proprietors in a lovely dining room at Elliott House. The proprietors made recommendations about things to see and do, and their recommendation to visit the Museum was "right on". We highly recommend this well-run Bed & Breakfast. Thank you, Joanne & Greg, for everything!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Elliot House B & B is without a doubt the most beautiful place to be and forget about the world, stress, work, phones, computers and buildings. Joan and Greg are the most amazing hosts. My cousin and I looked forward every day to have breakfast and enjoy their welcoming smiles and friendly conversations. First time in Shaver Lake, but I will come back to detach from the world and enjoy true peace and relaxation. Thank you Elliot House for your wonderful place!

Room Tip: La Ponderosa, small and comfortable, sleep like a baby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed at the Elliot House Bed and Breakfast in Shaver Lake for a couple of days before we headed into the high country. Our expectations were modest, given the remote location, but we were pleasantly surprised by the level of comfort and sophistication provided by Greg and Joanne at this charming B & B. Our room was well-furnished and clean and came with coffee service, a frig, wine, and bottled water. The breakfast was first rate--nicely prepared and ample. There was a happy hour every afternoon with wine and snacks. We enjoyed our visit and felt that the Elliot House provided excellent service at a reasonable price. If you're in the area, it's the only place to stay!

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs in the Dogwood room; it was spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elliott House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elliott House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 42062 Tollhouse Road, Shaver Lake, CA 93664
Location: United States > California > Shaver Lake
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Shaver Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elliott House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our guest rooms are delightfully decorated, featuring luxurious feather beds and cozy sitting areas, designed to ensure comfort and relaxation. Throughout the B&B, charming collectibles are mixed with original watercolor paintings from local artists, fresh flowers and scented candles. The array of warm, vibrant colors and soft lighting complete the design details of the B&B, appealing to all of the senses. The original red and white Cape Cod style home, custom built 60 years ago, reflects that era of fine craftsmanship, found in the original oak floors, handset granite stone fireplace and the knotty pine throughout. Located in a new cottage behind the main house, the romantic Cedar and Sequoia Suites are an artistic design complement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Elliott House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elliott House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.