We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elliott House Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Elliott House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Elliott House Bed & Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   42062 Tollhouse Road, Shaver Lake, CA 93664   |  
Hotel amenities
Basalt, Colorado
1 review
“Exceeded our Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at Drake's Landing Bed & Bites--a short distance from Elliott House. We were with another couple and stayed in the Crazy Loon & Loose Goose Suites, and shared a common area living room. Drake's Landing is managed by Joanne & Greg, the friendly and professional proprietors of Elliot House Bed & Breakfast. Everything was perfect--from the directions, to the cleanliness, to the charm and overall atmosphere. A delicious breakfast of baked apple-caramel pancakes with sausage, along with home baked pastries, was included in the price and was prepared and served by the proprietors in a lovely dining room at Elliott House. The proprietors made recommendations about things to see and do, and their recommendation to visit the Museum was "right on". We highly recommend this well-run Bed & Breakfast. Thank you, Joanne & Greg, for everything!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    4
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Elliot House B & B is without a doubt the most beautiful place to be and forget about the world, stress, work, phones, computers and buildings. Joan and Greg are the most amazing hosts. My cousin and I looked forward every day to have breakfast and enjoy their welcoming smiles and friendly conversations. First time in Shaver Lake, but I will come back to detach from the world and enjoy true peace and relaxation. Thank you Elliot House for your wonderful place!

Room Tip: La Ponderosa, small and comfortable, sleep like a baby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed at the Elliot House Bed and Breakfast in Shaver Lake for a couple of days before we headed into the high country. Our expectations were modest, given the remote location, but we were pleasantly surprised by the level of comfort and sophistication provided by Greg and Joanne at this charming B & B. Our room was well-furnished and clean and came with coffee service, a frig, wine, and bottled water. The breakfast was first rate--nicely prepared and ample. There was a happy hour every afternoon with wine and snacks. We enjoyed our visit and felt that the Elliot House provided excellent service at a reasonable price. If you're in the area, it's the only place to stay!

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs in the Dogwood room; it was spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Great welcome with wine and appertifs. Lovely room. Superb breakfast. Friendly hosts. Intereseting fellow guests. Exactly why we try and go to B&B's in the USA

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

My fiance and I decided to spend Christmas weekend at the Elliott House. I have been coming to Shaver Lake for over 30 years but have never stayed here. First off let me say that the photos on Tripadvisor do not do justice to how beautiful the accommodations are. But the real treat is Greg and Joanne. The hospitality and service was unlike anything I have experienced, including stays at the Ritz and Omni. From their welcoming demeanor to serving us champagne breakfast in bed, just getting the opportunity to meet Greg and Joanne is worth the trip! They bent over backwards to help us with everything and even went as far as to still clean our room after we forgot to hide some "personal" romantic items in the room. I can not say enough about how wonderful this stay was from the room, to the service and just the overall experience. One thing we were concerned with prior to our arrival that we could not find an answer to on tripadvisor was how thick the walls were being that our headboard of the bed is on the same wall as our next door neighbors bed. We were informed that the wall is three feet think and proved not to be a problem. Just remember, the wall may be 3 feet thick but the window panes are NOT. :) Have a great stay, we cant wait to be back, and you need look no further if you are looking to stay at Shaver Lake. Thank you both for everything!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011 via mobile

Great owners/hosts, quiet, comfy rooms. I had car trouble and had to change dates, and they went out of their way to help me.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Eliot House was a delightful stop during our travel. The rooms are large and very clean. The food was amazing. This is the perfect example of a great B&B! We can't wait for a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elliott House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elliott House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 42062 Tollhouse Road, Shaver Lake, CA 93664
Location: United States > California > Shaver Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Shaver Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elliott House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our guest rooms are delightfully decorated, featuring luxurious feather beds and cozy sitting areas, designed to ensure comfort and relaxation. Throughout the B&B, charming collectibles are mixed with original watercolor paintings from local artists, fresh flowers and scented candles. The array of warm, vibrant colors and soft lighting complete the design details of the B&B, appealing to all of the senses. The original red and white Cape Cod style home, custom built 60 years ago, reflects that era of fine craftsmanship, found in the original oak floors, handset granite stone fireplace and the knotty pine throughout. Located in a new cottage behind the main house, the romantic Cedar and Sequoia Suites are an artistic design complement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Elliott House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elliott House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.