We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sals, still the best in the valley.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sals mexican

Sals mexican
2163 Park st, Selma, CA 93662
896-7257
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 43 Restaurants in Selma
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Sals, still the best in the valley.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We made sure to make time to wander the backstreets of Selma on business trip to visit the original Sals. We first ate here last year as well as visiting the Sister location in Merced.

My wife and I both ordered a Chile Verdi plate, since sharing would bring clashing forks.

The meat is tender and flavorful. The flour tortillas taste of the grill, not a steamer and the pinto beans are great, although salty. My wife had the refried beans and loved it.

Ask for the green ‘extra hot’ salsa. It has slow burn instead of the flavorful warmth of the red.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    7
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Selma, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Went there for lunch again yesterday. Had a salad with chicken on it. Sorta bland, but as Im trying to watch what I eat, thought it would be good. I think next time, back to the fajita chicken salad. Obv, cant go wrong with a Fancy burrito. Service is always great and the chips and salsa yummy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apache Junction, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food but have your GPS ready”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Sal's in one of my favorite mexican resturants. The chile verde burritoe is to die for but make sure you have a good map or GPS or you will never find it. The riverpark location in Fresno is also very good and had great prices for the area

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Don't pass through Selma without stopping here for lunch...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I was introduced to this restaurant as a kid and now more than 30 years later, I'm still looking for reasons to drive through the area just so I have a reason to stop for lunch. The food has always been incredible, and the wait staff have always been friendly and quick to get your drinks/take your order. By far my favorite Mexican restaurant!

For those who have never been to Sal's, be forewarned it is a little hard to find. It is nestled in one of the older residential neighborhoods of Selma. Other reviewers have described the neighborhood as a little "scary"; true, the area is run down and not the best of neighborhoods, but we have never had any issues parking here or ever felt unsafe. Don't let the location keep you from having a great meal here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis CA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Went in but made the choice to leave”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Restaurant was run down. I was concerned about even parking my car in the parking lot. The margaritas are "wine based". Really.... Not for me.
My husband and myself were in the area. We have been told many times that this is the place for good Mexican food. Unfortunate I could not get past the neighborhood, parking lot, smell of the restaurant and then finding out that they did not have a liquor license.
I would never go to this place after dark. Sorry....
The host was very nice. But I just could not do it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sals mexican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sals mexican, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.