We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not quite great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of French Garden Restaurant & Bistro Bar

French Garden Restaurant & Bistro Bar
8050 Bodega Ave, Sebastopol, CA 95472-3114
+1 707-824-2030
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
French Garden Restaurant & Bistro Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 82 restaurants in Sebastopol
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, French, Californian, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Pleasant Hill Avenue North
Description: Opened in 2006 to create a welcoming environment for the celebration of community, food and wine, French Garden has become the premier dining spot in the area while maintaining an affordable menu.The elegant dining room, banquet rooms, and patio are perfect for special events, intimate dinners, wedding parties, birthdays, anniversaries, business meetings, and other gatherings - from 2 to 150 people. PATIO DINING is available, weather permitting.The full Bistro Bar at French Garden offers a wide range of mixed drinks, including cocktails from fresh fruit, small plates, and Happy Hour specials (Wed-Fri 4:30-6:30 pm). There is live music on the weekends with no cover charge.
Foster City, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good but not quite great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

After years of hearing about this place, we visited with a group. Lovely room, lovely gardens, lovely outdoor seating. Excellent service. But the food was only good, not great, to my taste. The prices were high. Value is idiosyncratic, so you figure this one out for yourself. Maybe my meal wasn't the best they have? Who knows. I would return, but I wouldn't pick this place first.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    30
    18
    3
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“great new find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Beautiful patio seating with flowers everywhere. Inside is large, quiet, white table cloth setting. Goat cheese salad in a apple ring basket is outstanding with the optional addition of chicken or fish I could have had it for my meal and been satisfied. Fish tacos were dry and nothing special. The wild salmon was excellent. Very attentive and accommodating staff. I was able to taste my wine before ordering a glass. Even though the ice cream was part of another dessert they will willing to let me have it rather than what was on the menu. Definitely will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, Ca.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Probably the best restaurant in Sebastopol, though expensive.It is now open 7 days a week which is very good for visitors.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Garden setting, casual elaglance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This place us not to be missed. Garden fresh food, garden setting, great service! The salads with the fresh veggies, cheese, and fruit are yummy! Nice stopping point on our way to coast!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forestville, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Go for the Burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Great place to go for sitting outdoors on a summer night. We arrived in time for one happy hour drink each and then went on to stay until 9pm. The tuna tartare was good but not great. The shrimp cocktail and the bbq pork ribs were fair, will not order them again. The winner was the hamburger - great toasted bun and a beautifully prepared burger! We will return for the ambience and the burger.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Garden Restaurant & Bistro Bar also viewed

Sebastopol, Sonoma County
Sebastopol, Sonoma County
 
Sebastopol, Sonoma County
Sebastopol, Sonoma County
 

Been to French Garden Restaurant & Bistro Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Garden Restaurant & Bistro Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.