We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of French Garden Restaurant & Bistro Bar

French Garden Restaurant & Bistro Bar
8050 Bodega Ave, Sebastopol, CA 95472-3114
+1 707-824-2030
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
French Garden Restaurant & Bistro Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 91 Restaurants in Sebastopol
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, French, Californian, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Pleasant Hill Avenue North
Description: Opened in 2006 to create a welcoming environment for the celebration of community, food and wine, French Garden has become the premier dining spot in the area while maintaining an affordable menu.The elegant dining room, banquet rooms, and patio are perfect for special events, intimate dinners, wedding parties, birthdays, anniversaries, business meetings, and other gatherings - from 2 to 150 people. PATIO DINING is available, weather permitting.The full Bistro Bar at French Garden offers a wide range of mixed drinks, including cocktails from fresh fruit, small plates, and Happy Hour specials (Wed-Fri 4:30-6:30 pm). There is live music on the weekends with no cover charge.
California
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Really good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The evening we were there it was very quiet, I gather that is unusual. The food was really excellent, we all really enjoyed the quality, the sauces, the freshness of the meal.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    20
    3
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sebastopol, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best Restaurant in Sebastopol.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Owners, Joan and Dan are "salt of the earth" kind of folks. They grow the restaurant's produce; chef is "extrordinaire" and food is fabulous. Food is available in the bar area with free dance music and good ambiance.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol ca usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“poor time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

food wasok but agreat restaurant does not have ok food. service was really poor. after ordering the food came out cold and in no real order. will not be returning

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, NJ
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Loved the ambiance and the food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stopped here today on our way to Santa Rosa from Bodega Bay. We had lunch on the patio, and what a nice place to stop. The food and service were outstanding and we both totally enjoyed the experience. My husband had the gazpacho and goat cheese salad, I had the tomato soup and the mussels. Both were served well and tasted great.

I would definetly come back to this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“over”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

totally over rated! What a disappointment. It was good, but not that good. It felt like the neighborhood hangout more than a nice restaurant.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Garden Restaurant & Bistro Bar also viewed

Sebastopol, Sonoma County
Sebastopol, Sonoma County
 
Sebastopol, Sonoma County
Sebastopol, Sonoma County
 

Been to French Garden Restaurant & Bistro Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Garden Restaurant & Bistro Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.