We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucked in among the Redwoods” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon, a Luxury Bed & Breakfast

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 4 more sites!
Avalon, a Luxury Bed & Breakfast
11910 Graton Rd., Sebastopol, CA 95472   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersGold level
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tucked in among the Redwoods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you want serenity, this is the place. Everything you'd want is waiting for you in your beautifully appointed room. We stayed in the Enchanted Forest suite and had our own private spa. I also have special food requirements, and Zoe made sure I had plenty to eat -- even a special batch of cookies just for me! The breakfasts we had were superb. There was an elegant casualness to breakfast, so we were able to meet our new neighbors while enjoying a relaxing, but delicious breakfast. We also enjoyed the 5:00 p.m. wine and cheese get-together and the open 24-hour coffee/tea/snack bar. While there is wireless internet available, there is no cell service. This was a problem for us since my husband was in the half-marathon, and we had difficulty coordinating our meeting up in the end. Yes, my husband races while I have a delicious breakfast! When Zoe realized that my husband would not be at breakfast -- he had to get up very early to be at the race start -- she made a "bag" breakfast of fresh biscuits for him to take along. Beautiful, secluded, peaceful -- a perfect get-away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
40
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed four nights in this hidden gem. It is nestled down a hidden path amongst the Redwoods. There are several little towns nearby and of course smack in the middle of Sonoma.
We booked the Enchanted Forest Suite which had its own hot tub on our patio, complete with wrap around curtains for privacy. We totally unplugged from Internet and chilled like we hadn't in a long time. I loved that there was no TV since this would have been an automatic distraction. The owners were so gracious and Hillary made the best 3 course gourmet breakfast and absolutely loves what she does. She has a ton of energy and is full of great ideas. We looked forward to 5pm when they served wine, cheese. There are always homemade cookies and a coffee,tea bar 24/7. Their large deck has a cool pit fire too in the center of the table which would have loved to use during cool weather. We stay at may wonderful luxurious places and I have to say this is one of my top 3. If total relaxation is what you need this is your place, away from the normal crowd in a typical hotel. This place has only 3 suites...perfect.
Be sure to check put the Osmosis Spa which is nearby for a cedar enzyme mud bath and the best massages too.
Kathy and Gary

Room Tip: Enchanted Forest has a private hot tub on patio. Wizards Quarter has a private deck. Both have fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Avalon B&B outside of Sebastapol in Sonoma Valley is an absolutely delightful place. GPS is very handy for finding it if you have never been there. It is delightfully quiet. If you have your smart phone or other computing device surgically implanted on your body, and can't seem to exist for five minutes without consulting it, Avalon may not be the place for you. No TV's in the rooms, no cable or satellite, and no service (we have AT&T, and there was no signal). The proprietors, Hilary and Gary are wonderful hosts, and have made some accommodations if you really must connect, but, relax, you are on vacation. There are only three rooms at Avalon, and all are very cozy and nicely appointed. Breakfast is a delightful social affair and the food is delicious. On Friday afternoon, Hilary had arranged for Wes Lauterbach of Lauterbach Vineyard to come over for a wine tasting and discussion of their winemaking techniques. The discussions were fascinating, and the wine was excellent. There are a number of nice restaurants in Sebastapol, and Hilary can make recommendations. She also has great recommendations for vineyards to visit for wine tasting. Avalon is the essence of what you would expect from a B&B, and we highly recommend it. We have visited twice, and have had a fabulous time on both visits.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms. We have stayed in two of them, and both were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband and I were fortunate to snap up the last room at the Avalon B&B the weekend that we were in Sebastopol. We were one of three couples staying at the Avalon that weekend and the only couple who hadn't stayed there before. We stayed in the Wizard's room, which had a steam shower and it's own outdoor seating area. The room was very quiet and peaceful. Avalon, itself was ~5 min drive from downtown.

Hilary was a gracious and thoughtful host and a fabulous cook. She made us a pesto parmesan scone, veggie quiche, and fresh fruit for breakfast. (I'm drooling just thinking about that breakfast!). On Sunday, we had to leave early and Hilary got up early and made us ginger muffins to take with us. So thoughtful!

We've been to wine country many times, but had never visited Sebastopol. It is a charming town with several good restaurants, a cute downtown for shopping, and very friendly residents. By chance, we were visiting the weekend of the annual Gravenstein Apple Fair, which was definitely worth the price of admission: think county fair, but on a smaller scale and with better crafts.

A few recommendations for places to visit while in Sebastopol:
- Hopmunk Tavern - Live music in the evenings, great selection of beer and wine, and good food
- Peter Lowells - Fresh, seasonal food that is locally sourced
- Claypool Cellars - Cute winery inside of a train car inside of a warehouse. Great Pinot!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We are seasoned travellers but have not really done the B&B format for many years. Our hosts were just lovely people who truly enjoyed having us share their home and experience the area. They know every inch of Sonoma and Marin Counties and had suggestions for food, hiking, local wineries and take tremendous pride in what they have to offer. Their 3 rooms are spectacular and a great getaway from the rest of the world. Who needs TV?? Hillary and her family are the nicest down to earth people you just want to hang out with and share. I think if we lived in the area we would go out of our way to spend every weekend there but since we had to fly 4 hours and drive 2 hours we will just dream of the next time we can return. Bonuses were the gourmet breakfasts that were prepared with a lot of care creativity and effort. Afternoon happy hour featured wine from local vintners.You will enjoy it tremendously but try and keep it a secret.....

Room Tip: All 3 are excellent you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We came to Avalon not knowing what to expect. This was our last stop on a 2-week vacation for our 25th anniversary before going home, and we were hoping (praying) this was the right choice and that the reviews we read were true. We realized all was good when we drove down the long driveway, over the private wooden bridge and through the woods. It looked just like a classic Thomas Kincaid painting. The inn was perched on the edge of a brook and surrounded by giant redwood trees. As we walked up to the front door it opened before we had the opportunity to knock, and there was Hillary our innkeeper. She welcomed us to her home and showed us around the common areas and finally our room, “The Enchanted Forest”. The room, facing the brook, was secluded, quiet, comfortable and calm. Everything was so clean and neat, elegant and perfect! We were invited back upstairs for a glass of wine and a snack after we settled in.
We went upstairs and Hillary offered us a glass of wine, all choices from local vineyards. We chose a wine produced five minutes down the road, delicious. She was able to give us so much information about the area; it's wineries and restaurant recommendations. All the recommendations, she or her husband Gary gave us were spot on (Screamin' Mimi's for homemade ice cream anyone?). They really know the area and are proud of their community. They have a great deal of enthusiasm.
The bed was so comfortable, we didn't want to get up, but we also didn't want to miss Hillary's amazing breakfast. Each morning we had a fresh baked goodie. Drop biscuits, ginger scones, fresh and warm from the oven. Don't expect plain scrambled eggs and cold bacon here! Hillary artfully prepares each three-course breakfast with local, organic ingredients. I can't remember the names of the dishes; I just know our plates were clean after every course! Breakfast is served at 9:00 am, but if that is too late due to your plans that day, Hillary will gladly make it earlier for you. All you have to do is ask.
At Avalon you can be as social or as private as you want to be. We were able to meet several members of the innkeeper's family and talked and laughed over a few glasses of wine, but we also stayed out all day and entered our room, via a beautiful, private walkway and rested, never talking to a soul. Fresh baked goodies, hot tea and coffee are always available upstairs as well as sodas and waters in a fridge outside our room.
We spent three nights at Avalon and would definitely stay there again on another visit to wine country. You are not a customer here. You are a guest. This is a bed and breakfast in its purist form with luxury amenities and the nicest people you'd ever want to meet. When we left, I didn't know whether to hug Hillary or shake her hand. I opted for the hand, but maybe next time I'll have to give her a hug.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Tucked in the redwoods outside of Sabastopol, this place is a hidden gem. The Innkeeper and her family were absolutely wonderful to us and our room was excellent. This is one of the few B&B experiences that we have ever had and will certainly return to Avalon the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Avalon, a Luxury Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon, a Luxury Bed & Breakfast

Address: 11910 Graton Rd., Sebastopol, CA 95472
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sebastopol
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sebastopol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Otel so you can book your Avalon, a Luxury Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon, a Luxury Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Avalon, a Luxury Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list