We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal attention” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon, a Luxury Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Avalon, a Luxury Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Avalon, a Luxury Bed & Breakfast
11910 Graton Rd., Sebastopol, CA 95472   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Sebastopol B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Sterling, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Personal attention”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We came to Avalon not knowing what to expect. This was our last stop on a 2-week vacation for our 25th anniversary before going home, and we were hoping (praying) this was the right choice and that the reviews we read were true. We realized all was good when we drove down the long driveway, over the private wooden bridge and through the woods. It looked just like a classic Thomas Kincaid painting. The inn was perched on the edge of a brook and surrounded by giant redwood trees. As we walked up to the front door it opened before we had the opportunity to knock, and there was Hillary our innkeeper. She welcomed us to her home and showed us around the common areas and finally our room, “The Enchanted Forest”. The room, facing the brook, was secluded, quiet, comfortable and calm. Everything was so clean and neat, elegant and perfect! We were invited back upstairs for a glass of wine and a snack after we settled in.
We went upstairs and Hillary offered us a glass of wine, all choices from local vineyards. We chose a wine produced five minutes down the road, delicious. She was able to give us so much information about the area; it's wineries and restaurant recommendations. All the recommendations, she or her husband Gary gave us were spot on (Screamin' Mimi's for homemade ice cream anyone?). They really know the area and are proud of their community. They have a great deal of enthusiasm.
The bed was so comfortable, we didn't want to get up, but we also didn't want to miss Hillary's amazing breakfast. Each morning we had a fresh baked goodie. Drop biscuits, ginger scones, fresh and warm from the oven. Don't expect plain scrambled eggs and cold bacon here! Hillary artfully prepares each three-course breakfast with local, organic ingredients. I can't remember the names of the dishes; I just know our plates were clean after every course! Breakfast is served at 9:00 am, but if that is too late due to your plans that day, Hillary will gladly make it earlier for you. All you have to do is ask.
At Avalon you can be as social or as private as you want to be. We were able to meet several members of the innkeeper's family and talked and laughed over a few glasses of wine, but we also stayed out all day and entered our room, via a beautiful, private walkway and rested, never talking to a soul. Fresh baked goodies, hot tea and coffee are always available upstairs as well as sodas and waters in a fridge outside our room.
We spent three nights at Avalon and would definitely stay there again on another visit to wine country. You are not a customer here. You are a guest. This is a bed and breakfast in its purist form with luxury amenities and the nicest people you'd ever want to meet. When we left, I didn't know whether to hug Hillary or shake her hand. I opted for the hand, but maybe next time I'll have to give her a hug.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
41
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Tucked in the redwoods outside of Sabastopol, this place is a hidden gem. The Innkeeper and her family were absolutely wonderful to us and our room was excellent. This is one of the few B&B experiences that we have ever had and will certainly return to Avalon the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, NH
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed three nights and four days here. It was a lovely way to end our honeymoon. The breakfasts were delicious and there was always lots of free wine flowing all afternoon, as well as cherries and homemade cookies. We barely ate dinner - just a big lunch out, then nibbled in the evenings. It was lovely and relaxing.

Room Tip: Merlin's room was fun, but they are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I recently booked a three night stay at the Avalon for my wife and me who were visiting wine country with my brother and sister-in-law to celebrate our anniversaries together. This was our first trip to the area and we only considered B&B's...wanting to capture the romanticism and personal touches to such a pretty area.

We booked our rooms through the Avalon website without any issues. The innkeeper responded with a personal confirmation three days after we made the reservation. She (Hilary) included several local restaurants and other activities in her confirmation letter.

Navigating to the Avalon can be tricky...particularly if your car isn't equipped with GPS and even more so after dusk. But once you've arrived and drive across the creek on their own wooden bridge you'll be happy you selected the Avalon. The grounds are beautifully wooded with redwoods, a babbling brook and lush forest to drown out any distracting noise. To this point, Avalon has no operating TV's in the rooms.

My wife and I stayed in Guenevere's Tower; a private room above the garage. The room was warmly decorated, well lit and designed for travelers with plenty of closet storage. There is a separate reading area with a sofa, table and chairs and fully stocked bookcase. There is also a high-powered gas fireplace in the center of the room...capable of heating the room on a cold autumn night in an hours time. The bed was very comfortable with fresh smelling linens and blankets. Taller people will have a hard time in the bathroom; it is built on the angle of the roof and requires bending over for sink-access (I'm 5' 9"). The cast-iron tub has a great shower and plenty of hot water. Fresh towels were supplied every day.

Hilary has the main house set up for the constant stream of travelers she obviously entertains throughout the year. That is to say that her kitchen is very busy and has a 'beverage island' with every kind of tea and coffee condiment set out. She bakes cookies every day and puts out wine (red & white) every evening. She, her husband and her son are very friendly and a pleasure to talk with. She is a very good breakfast cook and obviously enjoys entertaining and extending hospitality to her guests. I've been to some B&B's that emphasize elegance and decor - Hilary and the Avalon put the emphasis on comfort and homey-ness. It may not be what everyone is looking for, but she does it very well.

Other amenities include a workout room, hot tub, 2-3 patios, internet access and a cell-phone signal amplifier (they're in a AT&T dead-zone). Hilary keeps refrigerators in each room stocked with water and soft drinks and leaves a Ghiradelli chocolate on the pillows at night. All nice touches.

The only reason I would not stay at the Avalon during my next trip to wine country it is that Napa Valley is a twisty-turny 1+ hour drive away. Sonoma has plenty of beautiful vineyards very close to Avalon to be sure...but driving back to Sebastapol after a full day of 'tastings' in Napa was something I am not likely to repeat.

Otherwise, I would strongly recommend the Avalon to anyone.

Room Tip: Guenevere's tower is private...the other two have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

I can't say enough good things. My wife and I stayed here last month and absolutely loved it. We usually stay at Bed & Breakfast's because we like the homey feeling and the personal attention that you get. Not only do you get that here, but the rooms are private and luxurious as well. The property is gorgeous - imagine relaxing in a hot tub under amazing redwoods, with just a peek of sky so you can see the stars. And so peaceful - we haven't slept that well in years. But the aspect I loved the most was that, with only three rooms, the care and personal attention that Hilary, the wonderful and seemingly never tired innkeeper, bestows upon you. From a fabulous 3 course gourmet breakfast in the morning to helpful tips about which wineries to visit to the so, so delicious cookies in the afternoon to wine hour on the deck, the generosity and thoughtfulness never ends. Hanging out with Hilary, Gary (her husband), and AJ (their amazinginly intelligent and funny 12 year old) was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. And yet, when we wanted some privacy, we got it. All in all, our favorite B&B and we can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

From all of the beautiful redwoods, babbling creek, fresh air and sunshine, to the beautifully rich decor, hand painted murals on the walls everywhere, and FABULOUS hospitality, this is one of our most favorite inns!...And the BREAKFASTS....GOURMET!! Hilary, Gary, AJ, and their staff are so very warm and knowledgeable. They were never at a loss for additional information about where to go and what to do and helped facilitate its happening, and all the while made us feel like family! It seemed as though every detail had been meticulously pondered before our arrival. Thank you for so many wonderful days at your lovely Bed and Breakfast. We will most certainly return again very soon!

Room Tip: Each room has different amenities. Our favorite is the steam shower in the Magician's Sweet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

My husband and I have traveled the world because our business requires it. When we travel together, we usually stay in Bed and Breakfasts in order to get a real feel for an area and to enjoy a little comfort away from home. We have been traveling like this for 23 years and in all our experience, we have never enjoyed a B&B more, or been better taken care of than at Avalon Luxury Inn in the Wine Country of Sonoma County. The house and grounds are breath taking & immaculate, which gave us a great feeling just driving up. The staff is welcoming, friendly and professional. The interesting thing that I want to be sure and write about the staff is that they were there to help in any way, and to answer questions about the area, and provide us with excellent service... but not once were we asked any questions.... we weren't asked... 'would you like some coffee & cookies?', it was...' there are coffee and teas at the coffee bar, and warm cookies on the counter, and if you're hungry for something else, just let us know and we'ld be happy to cook something yummy up for you.'
The beds were so, so wonderful, that it was hard to get up and start our tour of the Wine Country, if not from the amazing aroma coming from the kitchen, we may not have gotten up altogether. The breakfast was one of the absolute best parts of the whole experience... we have never had such a variety of authentically prepared gourmet fare! all accompanied with fresh juice and amazing coffee. When we arrived the afternoon before, they had warm home made cookies, and a coffee and tea bar set up that was available well into the night. I could go on and on and on about the Best Bed & Breakfast in the World, but I guess it says everything, when we tell you that we've already booked our next stay there.... not for work this time, but for romance and pampering!... there is no better place to be.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalon, a Luxury Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon, a Luxury Bed & Breakfast

Address: 11910 Graton Rd., Sebastopol, CA 95472
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sebastopol
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sebastopol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Otel so you can book your Avalon, a Luxury Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon, a Luxury Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.