We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Friendly and Private” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon, a Luxury Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sebastopol
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avalon, a Luxury Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Avalon, a Luxury Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
11910 Graton Rd., Sebastopol, CA 95472   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Sebastopol B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Friendly and Private”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I recently booked a three night stay at the Avalon for my wife and me who were visiting wine country with my brother and sister-in-law to celebrate our anniversaries together. This was our first trip to the area and we only considered B&B's...wanting to capture the romanticism and personal touches to such a pretty area.

We booked our rooms through the Avalon website without any issues. The innkeeper responded with a personal confirmation three days after we made the reservation. She (Hilary) included several local restaurants and other activities in her confirmation letter.

Navigating to the Avalon can be tricky...particularly if your car isn't equipped with GPS and even more so after dusk. But once you've arrived and drive across the creek on their own wooden bridge you'll be happy you selected the Avalon. The grounds are beautifully wooded with redwoods, a babbling brook and lush forest to drown out any distracting noise. To this point, Avalon has no operating TV's in the rooms.

My wife and I stayed in Guenevere's Tower; a private room above the garage. The room was warmly decorated, well lit and designed for travelers with plenty of closet storage. There is a separate reading area with a sofa, table and chairs and fully stocked bookcase. There is also a high-powered gas fireplace in the center of the room...capable of heating the room on a cold autumn night in an hours time. The bed was very comfortable with fresh smelling linens and blankets. Taller people will have a hard time in the bathroom; it is built on the angle of the roof and requires bending over for sink-access (I'm 5' 9"). The cast-iron tub has a great shower and plenty of hot water. Fresh towels were supplied every day.

Hilary has the main house set up for the constant stream of travelers she obviously entertains throughout the year. That is to say that her kitchen is very busy and has a 'beverage island' with every kind of tea and coffee condiment set out. She bakes cookies every day and puts out wine (red & white) every evening. She, her husband and her son are very friendly and a pleasure to talk with. She is a very good breakfast cook and obviously enjoys entertaining and extending hospitality to her guests. I've been to some B&B's that emphasize elegance and decor - Hilary and the Avalon put the emphasis on comfort and homey-ness. It may not be what everyone is looking for, but she does it very well.

Other amenities include a workout room, hot tub, 2-3 patios, internet access and a cell-phone signal amplifier (they're in a AT&T dead-zone). Hilary keeps refrigerators in each room stocked with water and soft drinks and leaves a Ghiradelli chocolate on the pillows at night. All nice touches.

The only reason I would not stay at the Avalon during my next trip to wine country it is that Napa Valley is a twisty-turny 1+ hour drive away. Sonoma has plenty of beautiful vineyards very close to Avalon to be sure...but driving back to Sebastapol after a full day of 'tastings' in Napa was something I am not likely to repeat.

Otherwise, I would strongly recommend the Avalon to anyone.

Room Tip: Guenevere's tower is private...the other two have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    5
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
48
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

I can't say enough good things. My wife and I stayed here last month and absolutely loved it. We usually stay at Bed & Breakfast's because we like the homey feeling and the personal attention that you get. Not only do you get that here, but the rooms are private and luxurious as well. The property is gorgeous - imagine relaxing in a hot tub under amazing redwoods, with just a peek of sky so you can see the stars. And so peaceful - we haven't slept that well in years. But the aspect I loved the most was that, with only three rooms, the care and personal attention that Hilary, the wonderful and seemingly never tired innkeeper, bestows upon you. From a fabulous 3 course gourmet breakfast in the morning to helpful tips about which wineries to visit to the so, so delicious cookies in the afternoon to wine hour on the deck, the generosity and thoughtfulness never ends. Hanging out with Hilary, Gary (her husband), and AJ (their amazinginly intelligent and funny 12 year old) was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. And yet, when we wanted some privacy, we got it. All in all, our favorite B&B and we can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

From all of the beautiful redwoods, babbling creek, fresh air and sunshine, to the beautifully rich decor, hand painted murals on the walls everywhere, and FABULOUS hospitality, this is one of our most favorite inns!...And the BREAKFASTS....GOURMET!! Hilary, Gary, AJ, and their staff are so very warm and knowledgeable. They were never at a loss for additional information about where to go and what to do and helped facilitate its happening, and all the while made us feel like family! It seemed as though every detail had been meticulously pondered before our arrival. Thank you for so many wonderful days at your lovely Bed and Breakfast. We will most certainly return again very soon!

Room Tip: Each room has different amenities. Our favorite is the steam shower in the Magician's Sweet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

My husband and I have traveled the world because our business requires it. When we travel together, we usually stay in Bed and Breakfasts in order to get a real feel for an area and to enjoy a little comfort away from home. We have been traveling like this for 23 years and in all our experience, we have never enjoyed a B&B more, or been better taken care of than at Avalon Luxury Inn in the Wine Country of Sonoma County. The house and grounds are breath taking & immaculate, which gave us a great feeling just driving up. The staff is welcoming, friendly and professional. The interesting thing that I want to be sure and write about the staff is that they were there to help in any way, and to answer questions about the area, and provide us with excellent service... but not once were we asked any questions.... we weren't asked... 'would you like some coffee & cookies?', it was...' there are coffee and teas at the coffee bar, and warm cookies on the counter, and if you're hungry for something else, just let us know and we'ld be happy to cook something yummy up for you.'
The beds were so, so wonderful, that it was hard to get up and start our tour of the Wine Country, if not from the amazing aroma coming from the kitchen, we may not have gotten up altogether. The breakfast was one of the absolute best parts of the whole experience... we have never had such a variety of authentically prepared gourmet fare! all accompanied with fresh juice and amazing coffee. When we arrived the afternoon before, they had warm home made cookies, and a coffee and tea bar set up that was available well into the night. I could go on and on and on about the Best Bed & Breakfast in the World, but I guess it says everything, when we tell you that we've already booked our next stay there.... not for work this time, but for romance and pampering!... there is no better place to be.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Beautiful grounds and room decor, but a bit more "family-oriented" than I expected for a couples romantic retreat. I was surprised to be greeted by a basketball hoop attached to the front of Guenevere's Tower... apparently for the use of the owner's home-schooled son. A pet snake is kept in the lobby area, and they also have a cat (in case you happen to have an alergy). Nice place to stay if you want to feel like a house guest or if you bring a child. We would have liked the guest areas to be more clearly distinct from the owners' private living space. Otherwise, friendly hosts and nice amenities.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for the room with the
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

If you want to escape to the most serene, beautiful and accommodating place on earth, you have found the spot!! It is unbelievable what an amazing setting this get away offers. The hosts are fun, easy going and informative about any activity you might be interested in. Make sure you have a hearty appetite for breakfast because you will want to finish every bite of the delicious dishes. We have stayed here three times and can't wait to return. Thank you for this amazing retreat!!

Room Tip: We have stayed in all three rooms and we love them all but Guenevere's Tower is our facvorite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

First let me say we enjoyed our stay very much. But be aware that this is a "bed and breakfast" in it's pure form- you will be saying in their house. Each room has a separate entrance, but it is part of the house either in the basement or over the garage. The rooms are fine, furnished in keeping with the Avalon theme, which some may find less than luxurious.
The hosts were charming and very helpful in every way imaginable. From making dinner reservations to drawing maps and suggesting wineries. The wine and munchies were lovely, and the breakfast was huge and awesome in every way. But, there is no common area for guests to hang out that is separate from the residence. You will have your wine in the kitchen/family room area with the hosts as they carry on their daily family routine. Breakfast in the adjacent dining room. This left us feeling a tad uneasy and
more like we were staying with relatives than at a luxury Inn.
This being said, we did enjoy our stay but feel the price was way too high for the value. A few
days prior we stayed at a very nice traditional "Inn" in Napa for much less.
If you are looking for a personal and more "off the beaten path" experience, this is the place
for you. If you expect a safe and traditional lodging, be advised. You may be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebastopolHil, Owner at Avalon, a Luxury Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Dear Guests:

We respectfully disagree with this guest that Avalon is not a luxury inn. We created Avalon with luxury in mind and we have many, many luxuries throughout. Please see our website for more information and photos. Besides,… evaluations of marble, bronze and Italian plaster aside, is there anything more luxurious than whiling away time in a safe and cozy hideaway surrounded by nature in a protected forest next to an unspoiled creek where you are served delectable food and wine by warm hosts who pay careful attention to your every need? What you find here at Avalon, you will never find at a traditional inn in Napa. If visiting your relatives was anything like Avalon, you’d probably never go home!

One of our rooms has amazing 55-pound rough-hewn, hand-carved granite sinks set into a marble counter. Tumbled marble tile finishes the bathroom, which has a big shower with brushed bronze fixtures. In another room, we have cobalt blue glass sinks set in Cat’s Eye marble which winks magical blue flashes at you as you move around the room. The shower is limestone with fossils of ancient sea creatures and it is also a steam room large enough for two people to share. These rooms are the first floor rooms. They are not in the basement, but open onto the forest and 150-foot redwoods just outside the doors. In the third room, you have the private luxury of being alone and quiet in a separate building. Open your French doors and listen all night to the babbling creek. All guest rooms have a fireplace, and a 5 Star Elite king bed, dressed in hand-pressed luxury linens. Please come experience our complimentary wine hour with us in our lovely kitchen/family room area. We will tell you all about the wine. We’ve met the winemakers and been to their houses and tasted wine in their kitchens. Please make yourselves comfortable while we carry on our daily routine… of opening and pouring gold medal winning wines for you. If you love people and you love being pampered, we promise you will not be disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sebastopol
8.3 mi away
Pearlessence Vineyard Inn
Pearlessence Vineyard Inn
#2 of 3 in Sebastopol
5.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sebastopol Inn
Sebastopol Inn
#3 of 3 in Sebastopol
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
5.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Rosa Sebastopol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel and Spa
9.8 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon, a Luxury Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon, a Luxury Bed & Breakfast

Address: 11910 Graton Rd., Sebastopol, CA 95472
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sebastopol
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sebastopol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon, a Luxury Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.