We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Problem!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sebastopol Inn

Save Saved
You added Sebastopol Inn to your Saves list
Sebastopol Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sebastopol Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6751 Sebastopol Ave., Sebastopol, CA 95472   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Sebastopol
El Cerrito, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“No Problem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Consider, if you will, "Complaint" is maybe synonymous with "American". We are too used to our good material life in this country. Who would complain about having high luxurious beds, good volume bath tub, and a luxurious cafe a stones throw from your door for breakfast? (clean room, clean floor, clean walls)

That is precisely what I did. Pulled in late at 1 am, slept well in a bed that was very comfortable to me. Had a nice warm bath in the morning and enjoyed breakfast at Coffee Katz 30 seconds from my room. My request to check out at 12 instead of 11 was granted as well. 

Paid $133 in total - a fair deal considering quality, location (quaint downtown, coffee, wineries), and cleanliness...to what you might get in San Francisco or along the coast for the same price (as of Fall 2013). What's to complain about?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    40
    13
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
19
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ukiah california, usa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I had stayed here one other time and liked it. A friend had treated me to a day at the Osmosis Spa in Freestone, then we had dinner in Sebastapol and I was too tired to drive anywhere else. They are nice people, the rooms are clean, and it's convenient to walk everywhere in Sebastapol. The big bathtubs are great. What I like the best are the windows in the dressing area and in the bathroom. That cross ventilation is rare in a hotel room, but it's one of my favorite features. I slept so well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

If you are looking for that "Musty Smell" when you walk into the room, or stained carpets and sinks, plus thin walls and lumpy beds, this is the place for you! I appreciate it's charm and in such a small town the options are few...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights. The inn is very convenient to the wine country and Bodega Bay. It is a bit pricey for an average room, but the pool area was great, you can walk anywhere in a town with great places to eat. The staff was very friendly and when a wedding party grew very loud, they quickly enforced a 10 PM quiet time. We will certainly return. It's nice to stay in a non-chain inn where the staff really cares and does everything they can to make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The wine country is an expensive place to visit, and the Sebastopol Inn is no exception. We were initially quoted $160, but said that was too expensive and the clerk dropped it to $109 (One night, mid-week, for a very average room - no breakfast, no special amenities). But we overheard him on the phone quoting someone else $199 a night.

The room was average at best. Spacious, but very dated décor, stain on the carpet, the lamp and the table were both crooked, the room was a bit dusty and musty. Beds were pretty good, and the room had a mini-fridge and coffee maker, no microwave. Bathroom was decent, but again looked dated.

The hotel is two stories, outdoor corridors, no elevator. Some of the outdoor noise gets into the room, but not horrible. Very pretty grounds, with a pool and spa out back. Pretty close to downtown for driving, but a bit too far to walk on the 95-degree day when we were there.

Not a bad place, and this is what you're going to get for the money in the overpriced wine country of California.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The room is clean and spacious.I see why other reviewers felt it was a bit dated.However it is close to downtown and in a nice little shopping center with restaurants and shops.My room has a great big bath with plenty if hot water.The reason I am giving it a 3 is a couple of things.1)there is quite a big stain on the dated carpet that just does not invite me to walk in bare feet.I am sure it has been cleaned,but I would advise the owners to at least put an area rug down to cover it.It is a big turn off! 2) when I came in to register at the front desk,the man who helped me was rather brisk,as if I had interrupted him somehow..I doubt that I will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had two rooms for our small group. All agreed that it was perfect for the occasion with a hot tub/spa and small pool that took the kinks out after our 6 hour drive and my sister's 6 hour flight. It is convenient to Sonoma State U., and many fine restaurants in Sebastopol, Santa Rosa and wine country. If only I had known about this inn before, I would have chosen it over the Rohnert Park hotels any time. The price is comparable, but the service and experience outmatch even the Doubletree on the golf course.

Room Tip: any room is good. I suppose the second floor is quieter, but the ground floor has immediate access t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sebastopol Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sebastopol Inn

Address: 6751 Sebastopol Ave., Sebastopol, CA 95472
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sebastopol
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Sebastopol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sebastopol Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebastopol Inn, in Sonoma's Wine country, is the ideal accommodation not only for the romantic wine country getaway, but also for a family vacation. With wine touring, Russian River canoeing and kayaking, hiking, biking, and superb antiquing at your doorstep, this inn, tucked behind the historic Gravenstein train station, offers a central location to explore all that is wine country in Sonoma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Sebastopol Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebastopol Hotel Sebastopol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sebastopol Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.