We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colourful decor and tasty food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Coronel Mexician Restaurant

El Coronel Mexician Restaurant
1015 Gravenstein Hwy., Sebastopol, CA 95472
707-829-7010
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 82 restaurants in Sebastopol
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Colourful decor and tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

As a family we are not huge fans of Mexican food but needed something quick and convenient on the last night of our holiday. The Coronel was bright and cheerful with Diego Rivera themed murals and furniture. Staff were friendly, tho' I wished I spoke Spanish! Portions were extremely generous and the beef fajitas my husband chose were delicious.

Good value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    12
    10
    6
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really mediocre”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My hotel recommended this place and it was nearby. The desk clerk must get a kickback. The food is mediocre (greasy chile relleno and blah taco) at best and the house margaritas were watery. The only plus was that it wasn't expensive and the chips and salsas were decent. Try somewhere else.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Margaritas and Fajitas Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Fairfield Inn close to El Coronel and they recommended the restaurant. After a day in wine country we were craving a margarita and a simple dinner to split between us. The friendly staff started us out with fresh tortilla chips, two types of salsas and refried beans, almost a meal itself. The margaritas were some of the best we ever had with fresh lime and served in beautiful traditional mexican margarita glasses. The fajitas came out sizzling (we ordered the chicken) with fresh red, green and yellow bell peppers and white onions. The accompaniments were outstanding...rice, beans, guacamole, sour cream and salsa. Fairfield Inn guests get 10% discount. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great meal on our first night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were surprised that so many restaurants were closed for business. We decided to try El Coronel as next door to our hotel.
Great service, superb meal, lots of flavours, really helpful staff, and everyone of them served us. Wished we had gone back there on our second night.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, Ca.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“wonderful atmosphere and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The atmosphere is totally wonderful. The service is great and so is the food. I would definitely recommend this place for any one

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Coronel Mexician Restaurant also viewed

Sebastopol, Sonoma County
Sebastopol, Sonoma County
 
Sebastopol, Sonoma County
Sebastopol, Sonoma County
 

Been to El Coronel Mexician Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Coronel Mexician Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.