We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, but Poor Maintenance and Adminstration” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Monterey Bay-Seaside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Monterey Bay-Seaside to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel Monterey Bay-Seaside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1441 Canyon Del Rey, Seaside, CA 93955   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Time Package
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Seaside
USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Location, but Poor Maintenance and Adminstration”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The hotel is in a great location with great views of Monterey Bay and Hwy 1 from our room (we got a corner suite, so that may have helped). It is also close to all the attractions of Monterey. Food quality, night-time piano lounge, and ground floor decor were on par (or better) than most other Embassy Suite hotels. However, the hotel shows sign of age and a lack of upkeep. The elevators were out most of the time during our stay, giving us the physical fitness test to walk up/down 9 flights of stairs or wait 15+ minutes until the elevators were fixed. Even so, these fixes were temporary as the elevators were out when we returned again and again. Our room needed new paint and decor, the bathroom fixtures were outdated, and water drained slowly from the sink (I brought all this to the notice of the management). I was surprised by the self-parking fee, which was never mentioned during check-in, although I was told that it is mentioned on their website.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the lake and with a view of Hwy 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley V, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Monterey Bay-Seaside, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Recent Embassy Suites Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. We regret to hear about your disappointing experience with us and we do extend our sincere apologies for the various challenges that you faced. Our goal is to have each guest have an enjoyable stay, and we appreciate you taking your time to write a review, as well as sharing with us areas that may need improvements. We are continuously striving to provide the best service to our guests as well as making adjustments to enhance our overall guest experience. We hope you return and provide us with another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Sincerely,
Ashley V.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    293
    168
    85
    36
See reviews for
366
197
13
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milpitas, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Left comments already - facilities should be regularly maintained to ensure cleanliness to all. Reservation line should be 100% honest when scheduling reserverations. Repairs to lobby restrooms and guest suites should be completed to provide the best look overall for the business. Some improvements to areas mentioned would ensure returned business and justification to spending $500 per night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley V, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Monterey Bay-Seaside, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Recent Embassy Suites Guest,
Thank you for staying with us recently. I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel that the condition of our property disappointed you on many levels. I'm sorry that you had some troubles with our central reservations as well. We will work with our maintenance team to ensure these problems are immediately attended to. If you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Sincerely,
Ashley V.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

First, the good. The location of the hotel is fantastic. It's just off Highway 1, with easy access to Monterey (Fishermen's Wharf, Cannery Row, Aquarium), Pacific Grove, 17 Mile Drive, Carmel, etc. We used it as a base to explore Monterey, Carmel, and the area wineries.

Breakfast was, as you'd expect from an Embassy Suites, good, with lots of options, both buffet and made-to-order.

The on-site restaurant and bar are acceptable alternatives if you're too tired to go out to explore the area restaurants (although I'd recommend that you take advantage of the area eateries).

The good ends there. The property is in definite need of a facelift, and there were several mechanical issues. Two of the three elevators were not working through much of our stay (3 days). The air conditioning in our room (on the "Premium Floor") was ineffective, and noisy to boot. Hot water ran out during showers. Water pressure was poor.

We also had to laugh at several of the finishings in the hotel. Almost nothing was square. The light bar in the bathroom was hung at an odd angle. Walls in the bathroom were not square. Elevator button coverings were cockeyed. It became a game to point out these oddities during the stay.

For the premium price of the room, we were sadly disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley V, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Monterey Bay-Seaside, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Recent Embassy Suites Guest,
Thank you for giving us your valuable feedback from your recent stay. We are glad that you enjoyed our convenient location to Monterey and many of the local attractions around the area.
Our breakfast certainly does have much to offer as well as our Pacifica Cafe.
I would like to apologize for the many issues that your family experienced during your stay. Our elevators are being attended to and about to undergo and uupgrade. The maintenance issues that you reported are all being immediately repaired. I am sorry that we dropped the ball during your stay and we hope you choose to give us another chance to leave you with a lasting impression of your property.
Sincerely,
Ashley V.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at the Embassy Suites on 10/4 Friday night so we can be close to my daughter's swim meet in Carmel on Saturday morning. We paid a premium on the room but thought that it was conveniently located and we would have a nice cook to order breakfast that was needed for a full swim meet. Unfortunately, in the morning, all the elevators went out of service including the service elevator and we had to spend the morning carrying alot of our bags ourself (including coolers) down 11 flights of stairs. We missed our breakfast and my daughter was late to her swim warm ups. We must of ran up and down the stairs 3 full round trips! By the time we got the meet, we were tired and frazzled. Fire department had to come for safety concerns.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley V, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Monterey Bay-Seaside, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Recent Embassy Suites Guest,
I am sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay which inconvenienced the rest of your day. We apologize for the headaches you experienced with our elevators and will work with our maintenance team to ensure this does not happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Sincerely,
Ashley V.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

When you know there's a special event your times should match up, please start breakfast when you open the cold items. Overall I love this hotel and have stayed here four times and plan on coming back. Great staff

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley V, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Monterey Bay-Seaside, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Recent Embassy Suites Guest,
Thank you for staying with us once again. We appreciate your suggestions regarding our breakfast times and they will be passed along to the appropriate personnel. We hope to see you on your next trip to the area.
Sincerely,
Ashley V.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our room was very spacious and clean with a nice view. All the employees were very friendly and helpful. Good food and drinks in bar area. The breakfast buffet had an amazing number of choices and all were excellent quality. We were so happy we selected this hotel!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley V, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Monterey Bay-Seaside, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Recent Embassy Suites Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent wonderful stay. We are glad you enjoyed our full cooked to order breakfast and nightly manager's reception. Hope to see you on your next trip to the area.
Sincerely,
Ashley V.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We live just a few miles from this place so escaping here to celebrate my wife's 40th birthday seemed a bit empty... Until we did it. The staff and service are superb. Our meal was leisurely and intimate. A single lit candle and a couple of servers singing happy birthday surprised her. The suite was at the top of the building with a balcony overlooking the Monterey Bay. The "landscape" inside is clean and rich with tiered fountains, a large aquarium and a garden ambience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley V, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Monterey Bay-Seaside, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Recent Embassy Suites Guest,
Happy belated birthday! We are happy that we could be the host hotel for your wife's recent birthday trip! Thank you for the positive feedback and comments of our staff. We are proud that we could make your wife's birthday a memorable one!
Sincerely,
Ashley V.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Monterey Bay-Seaside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Monterey Bay-Seaside

Address: 1441 Canyon Del Rey, Seaside, CA 93955
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Seaside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Monterey Bay-Seaside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenically located just two blocks from the beachfront in stunning Seaside, California, this Embassy Suites Monterey Bay – Seaside hotel offers spectacular bay views as well as fine accommodation options. Choose from an array of attractions on the doorstop of this stunning hotel; from hiking and butterfly watching to kayaking or surfing, you need never have a dull moment when you join us in Monterey Bay. Guests of this Monterey Bay - Seaside hotel choose from 225 stylish hotel suites, each offering a range of modern amenities such as high-speed wireless internet access, two remote control televisions and a wet bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Monterey Bay-Seaside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Seaside
Seaside Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Monterey Bay-Seaside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.