We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but property needs attention.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Monterey Bay-Seaside

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Monterey Bay-Seaside to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites Hotel Monterey Bay-Seaside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1441 Canyon Del Rey, Seaside, CA 93955   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Time Package
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Seaside
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great location, but property needs attention.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

First, the good. The location of the hotel is fantastic. It's just off Highway 1, with easy access to Monterey (Fishermen's Wharf, Cannery Row, Aquarium), Pacific Grove, 17 Mile Drive, Carmel, etc. We used it as a base to explore Monterey, Carmel, and the area wineries.

Breakfast was, as you'd expect from an Embassy Suites, good, with lots of options, both buffet and made-to-order.

The on-site restaurant and bar are acceptable alternatives if you're too tired to go out to explore the area restaurants (although I'd recommend that you take advantage of the area eateries).

The good ends there. The property is in definite need of a facelift, and there were several mechanical issues. Two of the three elevators were not working through much of our stay (3 days). The air conditioning in our room (on the "Premium Floor") was ineffective, and noisy to boot. Hot water ran out during showers. Water pressure was poor.

We also had to laugh at several of the finishings in the hotel. Almost nothing was square. The light bar in the bathroom was hung at an odd angle. Walls in the bathroom were not square. Elevator button coverings were cockeyed. It became a game to point out these oddities during the stay.

For the premium price of the room, we were sadly disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley V, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Monterey Bay-Seaside, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Recent Embassy Suites Guest,
Thank you for giving us your valuable feedback from your recent stay. We are glad that you enjoyed our convenient location to Monterey and many of the local attractions around the area.
Our breakfast certainly does have much to offer as well as our Pacifica Cafe.
I would like to apologize for the many issues that your family experienced during your stay. Our elevators are being attended to and about to undergo and uupgrade. The maintenance issues that you reported are all being immediately repaired. I am sorry that we dropped the ball during your stay and we hope you choose to give us another chance to leave you with a lasting impression of your property.
Sincerely,
Ashley V.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    218
    273
    159
    82
    32
See reviews for
346
174
11
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at the Embassy Suites on 10/4 Friday night so we can be close to my daughter's swim meet in Carmel on Saturday morning. We paid a premium on the room but thought that it was conveniently located and we would have a nice cook to order breakfast that was needed for a full swim meet. Unfortunately, in the morning, all the elevators went out of service including the service elevator and we had to spend the morning carrying alot of our bags ourself (including coolers) down 11 flights of stairs. We missed our breakfast and my daughter was late to her swim warm ups. We must of ran up and down the stairs 3 full round trips! By the time we got the meet, we were tired and frazzled. Fire department had to come for safety concerns.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley V, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Monterey Bay-Seaside, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Recent Embassy Suites Guest,
I am sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay which inconvenienced the rest of your day. We apologize for the headaches you experienced with our elevators and will work with our maintenance team to ensure this does not happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Sincerely,
Ashley V.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

When you know there's a special event your times should match up, please start breakfast when you open the cold items. Overall I love this hotel and have stayed here four times and plan on coming back. Great staff

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley V, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Monterey Bay-Seaside, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Recent Embassy Suites Guest,
Thank you for staying with us once again. We appreciate your suggestions regarding our breakfast times and they will be passed along to the appropriate personnel. We hope to see you on your next trip to the area.
Sincerely,
Ashley V.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our room was very spacious and clean with a nice view. All the employees were very friendly and helpful. Good food and drinks in bar area. The breakfast buffet had an amazing number of choices and all were excellent quality. We were so happy we selected this hotel!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley V, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Monterey Bay-Seaside, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Recent Embassy Suites Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent wonderful stay. We are glad you enjoyed our full cooked to order breakfast and nightly manager's reception. Hope to see you on your next trip to the area.
Sincerely,
Ashley V.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We live just a few miles from this place so escaping here to celebrate my wife's 40th birthday seemed a bit empty... Until we did it. The staff and service are superb. Our meal was leisurely and intimate. A single lit candle and a couple of servers singing happy birthday surprised her. The suite was at the top of the building with a balcony overlooking the Monterey Bay. The "landscape" inside is clean and rich with tiered fountains, a large aquarium and a garden ambience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley V, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Monterey Bay-Seaside, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Recent Embassy Suites Guest,
Happy belated birthday! We are happy that we could be the host hotel for your wife's recent birthday trip! Thank you for the positive feedback and comments of our staff. We are proud that we could make your wife's birthday a memorable one!
Sincerely,
Ashley V.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario, canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here for 2 days, and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The suites are spacious, and impeccable. There were granite countertops in the washroom and the small kitchenette area. You also get a bar sink, fridge, and microwave along with the standard coffee maker. We had a king bed, and a double fold out couch in the living area. Each room overlooks the atrium, and this is where a buffet breakfast is served every morning. There was also a free happy hour in the early evening - free drinks and snacks for 2 hours.

While we were there, they were having trouble with one of the two elevators in the lobby area. Apparently this has been an ongoing issue, and can cause the waits to be very long. There is another elevator at the back of the atrium, and this is a good option instead of waiting for the lobby ones.

It's just a short drive to old Fisherman's Wharf at Monterey, and there are restaurants nearby if you don't want to eat at the hotel. We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley V, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Monterey Bay-Seaside, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Recent Embassy Suites Guest,
Thank you for staying with us recently and providing us with your positive feedback of your trip. We are pleased you enjoyed all the amenities our hotel has to offer and we hope to see you if you decide to travel back to Monterey.
Sincerely,
Ashley V.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Nice modern hotel with large Atrium full of plants.
Free parking and breakfast with plenty of choice.
Shuttle bus will drop you down to Cannery Wharf which I thought was a nice gesture as its usually or the airport run.
Large comortable suite rooms.
I would use again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley V, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Monterey Bay-Seaside, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Recent Embassy Suites Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent ejoyable experience with us. We are happy you had the chance to enjoy many amenities that we had to offer here. We hope to see you on your next trip to the area.
Sincerely,
Ashley V.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Monterey Bay-Seaside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Monterey Bay-Seaside

Address: 1441 Canyon Del Rey, Seaside, CA 93955
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Seaside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Monterey Bay-Seaside 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenically located just two blocks from the beachfront in stunning Seaside, California, this Embassy Suites Monterey Bay – Seaside hotel offers spectacular bay views as well as fine accommodation options. Choose from an array of attractions on the doorstop of this stunning hotel; from hiking and butterfly watching to kayaking or surfing, you need never have a dull moment when you join us in Monterey Bay. Guests of this Monterey Bay - Seaside hotel choose from 225 stylish hotel suites, each offering a range of modern amenities such as high-speed wireless internet access, two remote control televisions and a wet bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Monterey Bay-Seaside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Seaside
Seaside Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Monterey Bay-Seaside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.