We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, but got chaeted by hotwire!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Del Monte Blvd, Seaside, CA 93955   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Seaside
Ripon, Ca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel, but got chaeted by hotwire!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2007

The hotel has a great location, good amenities, average bed, and a great walk to the water and the beach. The rates were jacked up because of the race weekend which is to be expected, but I thought I would get a little better property by booking through hotwire WRONG! Just book through another site or Holiday Inn don't use those crooks. You get a jacked up rate and then they will not follow through on their so called guarantee.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    117
    115
    42
    14
See reviews for
118
99
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kansas city
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

This was a nicer place than we expected & the location is just great! It was clean & the rooms were good sized & nicely appointed. This is not a luxury property by any means but we really enjoyed it. All of the staff was very helpful. If you are looking for a moderately priced option in an area that you can leisurely stroll around & enjoy look no further. We even had a partial ocean view from our corner 3rd floor room which was an unexpected treat. You are so close you will hear & see Seals which was fun.
There is a great indoor /outdoor bar at the very nice bayfront hotel on the adjacent corner. The bartenders there were just wonderful.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world travellers
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

Stayed here for 1 night during a trip down the PCH / Highway 1. The price was very economical ($115), included free parking, free wifi, complimentary breakfast in a large dining area (not in reception like most HIEX's), and 24hr coffee/tea/cookies in the lobby. Chili's for dinner is just a walk across the car park; and a lovely view from the back (lake/river). Outdoor swimming pool and whirlpool. Literally "just off" highway 1.

  • Liked — Didn't have to detour from our travel route; clean, comfy & spacious
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2007

I researched many of the hotel offerings in the Monterey area and most were overpriced. I was pleasantly surprised with the comfortable accommodations at the Holiday Inn Express in Seaside. We booked a room with a AAA mid-week August rate for under $120. The room was spotless, bright and roomy for two. The only downside was the bathroom which is definitely small. I choose a room on an upper floor in the back of the hotel which overlooks a small pond. The only sounds I heard were that of the many ducks that are attracted to the pond. I would imagine the rooms up front would probably experience more noise. And there is even a walking path in the back of the motel. Plus it is super convenient to Monterey. It is only a short (1-2 mile) ride to Fisherman’s Wharf and both Pacific Grove and Carmel are easy commutes from the hotel. Also, if you have a chance to attend Monterey has two wonderful farmers markets that are held on Tuesday (4:00 pm) and Thursday. (2:00 p.m.).

Looking at some of the other comments, I wonder if they are referring to the right hotel. This hotel does have a pool, it does have a view of a small pond in the back with walking trails, and it is just on the border of Monterey. It is not in the tourist section of Monterey but is a very easy commute.

If you are looking for a clean, safe, convenient and reasonably priced place you would be happy with this choice. If you are looking for a resort oriented facility then of course this is not it.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2007

Unfortunately we were only scheduled to stay one night but the room was massive. We slept 5 people no problem. The staff couldn't do enough to help, the car park was free and the complimentary breakfast was superb. We arrived too late for a complimentary Cheese and Wine reception - not sure if it was special occassion or not but if it a regular thing it makes the place even better. Location is just fine needing a short walk to access all the tourist sites within Monterey. Overall great value for money - much much better than the Crowne Plaza Los Angeles or Holiday Inn Golden Gateway San Fransisco where we also stayed on our trip up the west coast !!! Perhaps I should write a review about these .......

  • Liked — Location, staff, breakfast
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

This is a standard Holiday Inn Express. We stayed here one night on our way from San Francisco to LA. Two adult and one 12-year old boy ... felt cramped. Husband and I could not stand at the vanity together, so all had to take turns at the sink. Bed comfortable for me, husband didn't think so. Standard Holiday Inn Express breakfast ... son loves the cinnamon rolls. Not a place to stay if you're a family who needs more than a bed and a safe place to sleep overnight. That's basically what it was for us.

  • Liked — Location (near major thoroughfare), decent price
  • Disliked — Room size very small
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, OH
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2007

Monterey can be an expensive place to stay. I knew of this location from previous trips to Monterey. It is not in the thick of Cannery Row, but it is an easy drive to it. Parking is free. The decor is very contemporary, and it looks like they really tried to make this older building look new and sleek. Room doors open to outside. The room was small, but clean. At first, the chemical cleaner smell was pretty strong, but that faded quickly. Breakfast was typical of Holiday Inn Expresses. Nothing special, and not real well stocked. The eating area was way too small, so the kids sat at a small table while the adults had to stand. This hotel is a great place for people who want to see Monterey, and all its beauty, but not pay top dollar. We travelled from San Diego to San Francisco, and this was the adults' favorite location.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay

Address: 1400 Del Monte Blvd, Seaside, CA 93955
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Seaside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express - Monterey Bay (Del Monte Beach Area), CA. We are conveniently located off Hwy 1, just 2 blocks from the beach where you can enjoy a leisurely walk along Monterey's gorgeous coastline. We are at the gateway to the area's most popular attractions only 2 miles north of Monterey's Fisherman's Wharf, 3 miles north of Cannery Row, the world-famous Monterey Bay Aquarium, and minutes from world-class golf at Pebble Beach. Mazda Laguna Seca Raceway is just a short 4 miles from our front door. The quaint seaside town of Carmel-by-the-Sea is a must see, and just 7 miles south via Hwy 1. After a day of exploring the Monterey Peninsula, return to our friendly hotel and relax. We offer 143, 100% non-smoking comfortable newly designed guestrooms and an outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi. You may also enjoy an invigorating work out in our on-site fitness center. Join us each morning for our Complimentary Express Start HOT Breakfast Bar featuring scrambled eggs or cheese omelettes, bacon, sausage, or sausauge gravy and biscuits with our hot cinnamon rolls and over 20 other items. / Check your email or go online on your laptop with our free wireless internet access. We are Committed to Extraordinary Service Assuring Satisfaction & a good night rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay Hotel Seaside
Holiday Inn Seaside
Holiday Inn Express Seaside
Holiday Inn Monterey Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.