We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine little motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Castle Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sand Castle Inn to your Saves list
Sand Castle Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1011 La Salle Ave, Seaside, CA 93955   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Seaside
West Grove, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
284 helpful votes 284 helpful votes
“Fine little motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights here. The room was clean and the location was convenient. The desk chair needed to be replaced, but the show walls were marble and the water pressure was great. We found housekeeping helpful and prompt. We did not try the continental breakfast--it appeared Spartan, but instead went to the Breakfast at the Breakfast Club there at Seaside, CA (see our review) and had a great time. We covered the desk chair with a towel and enjoyed our economic stay, booked through hoteldotcom

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma M, Guest Relations Manager at Sand Castle Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and constructive input. We are always trying to update our rooms when appropriate and we apologize for any of the damage that was done to your room prior to your visit. We are currently looking into improving our breakfast selection as well, but are glad you enjoyed a nice meal in Seaside with your family. We look forward to your next visit.

Sand Castle Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    56
    23
    6
    7
See reviews for
37
53
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Husband and daughter stayed here while visiting CSUMB. Very clean and comfortable. Picked up a sale price, so it made it even better. Not sure how good it would be for a long term vacation, but for an overnight stay, it was great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Pulling in this place looks much nicer than normal value hotel, well kept flowers and fresh paint. The room was clean and had a very nice recently renovated bathroom. The bed was comfy and the room had a fridge & microwave, so you can save on your food bill.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Unfortunately we arrived on a friday and payed 500$ for two nights, for a shabby, small, stinky room. Never again would we stay there! The 'Free continental breakfast' was a joke! At least it was close to the freeway and we could get to the nearby places of interest.

Room Tip: Chose another Motel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This place was great for the price and a quick over night. Maybe not if you plan to stay a few days and want a larger room. I was a little disappointed in the breakfast as it was all carbohydrates. I would stay again if passing through.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I wanted an affordable hotel in a safe location that was close to Monterey for a weekend getaway. This hotel was a piece of cake to get to from Highway 1 and we were pleased to see a Target a block away. I forgot a few things at home in my late night packing so it was quite convenient. We spent most of our time at Fisherman's Wharf & Cannery Row and it was a 10 minute drive from the hotel on side streets. The hotel was clean, although it smelled a little musty so we kept the window open at night. Parking was easy and free, the staff were pleasant and it was a great hotel if you're on a budget. There were quite a few electrical outlets that are easy to access, which is convenient for cameras/cell phones/etc. I hate when hotels only have one or two and they're hidden behind the bed or dresser. There's also a free breakfast, which we took advantage of both days. There was a waffle maker (yay!), juices, danishes, toast and cereal. Nothing fancy but a nice amenity, plus it saves money! The hotel also had a laundry room, which I really liked although I did not use it. Overall, great affordable hotel that is easily accessible from the highway and a quick drive to the Monterey sights.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Room was clean, as was the bathroom, with more than ample towels and washcloths. No stale ordors whatsoever; large wall-mounted TV, cable service, refrig, microwave also in the room. Have no difficulty at all accessing the internet. [The unfortunate problem was not with the motel, but the noisy people in the room above us. Due to a knee injury, required a room on the ground level.] Have stayed here several times in the past two years and will continue to stay here whenever we are in the area.

Room Tip: If you have a room on the second floor, be consider of the person in the room below you...don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sand Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Castle Inn

Address: 1011 La Salle Ave, Seaside, CA 93955
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Seaside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sand Castle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Sand Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Castle Hotel Seaside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand Castle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.