We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total rippoff!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Castle Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sand Castle Inn to your Saves list
Sand Castle Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1011 La Salle Ave, Seaside, CA 93955   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Seaside
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Total rippoff!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Unfortunately we arrived on a friday and payed 500$ for two nights, for a shabby, small, stinky room. Never again would we stay there! The 'Free continental breakfast' was a joke! At least it was close to the freeway and we could get to the nearby places of interest.

Room Tip: Chose another Motel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    56
    23
    6
    7
See reviews for
37
53
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This place was great for the price and a quick over night. Maybe not if you plan to stay a few days and want a larger room. I was a little disappointed in the breakfast as it was all carbohydrates. I would stay again if passing through.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I wanted an affordable hotel in a safe location that was close to Monterey for a weekend getaway. This hotel was a piece of cake to get to from Highway 1 and we were pleased to see a Target a block away. I forgot a few things at home in my late night packing so it was quite convenient. We spent most of our time at Fisherman's Wharf & Cannery Row and it was a 10 minute drive from the hotel on side streets. The hotel was clean, although it smelled a little musty so we kept the window open at night. Parking was easy and free, the staff were pleasant and it was a great hotel if you're on a budget. There were quite a few electrical outlets that are easy to access, which is convenient for cameras/cell phones/etc. I hate when hotels only have one or two and they're hidden behind the bed or dresser. There's also a free breakfast, which we took advantage of both days. There was a waffle maker (yay!), juices, danishes, toast and cereal. Nothing fancy but a nice amenity, plus it saves money! The hotel also had a laundry room, which I really liked although I did not use it. Overall, great affordable hotel that is easily accessible from the highway and a quick drive to the Monterey sights.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Room was clean, as was the bathroom, with more than ample towels and washcloths. No stale ordors whatsoever; large wall-mounted TV, cable service, refrig, microwave also in the room. Have no difficulty at all accessing the internet. [The unfortunate problem was not with the motel, but the noisy people in the room above us. Due to a knee injury, required a room on the ground level.] Have stayed here several times in the past two years and will continue to stay here whenever we are in the area.

Room Tip: If you have a room on the second floor, be consider of the person in the room below you...don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Booked this for a short weekend getaway to the beach and were pleasantly surprised: checkin was very short. involving minimum exchange of words, creditcard, id, and room key, no upstairs available since fully booked. Room recently renovated with shiny laminate wood floor (no carpet - great!), tiles in bathroom, energy-efficient lighting throughout, fridge, microwave. Bed comfortable & clean. Table and 2 different chairs. Unique: additional small, openable window towards back of building for extra ventilation. Neighbor watched TV until 9pm but otherwise quiet with some road noise (thin walls). Breakfast area completely empty until ~8am, then too crowded after. Toast, orange juice, oats, danish, waffles. Not bad for ~50$ incl taxes - would probably stay here again for a night.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms may be slightly nicer, AAA rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stayed here one night to visit Point Lobos and Carmel next day. It was a clean motel with microwave and mini fridge. Very close to Monterey Fisherman's Wharf, less than 10 minutes drive.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed overnight in seaside to avoid higher hotel rates in Monterey.....It was a clean,average motel room including frige &microwave. great for an overnight stay.
It was a block behind the main drag where most of the other motels were , so it was quiet.
They provided toast,juice, coffee , danish,&waffles in ther small lobby with a couple of
tables. We booked through the motel site with a AAA discount for $43,99 for a Sat. night.
No coffee pot in room. Very comfy beds.
Couldn't beat that price!!!! Would stay there again when passing through.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sand Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Castle Inn

Address: 1011 La Salle Ave, Seaside, CA 93955
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Seaside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sand Castle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Sand Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Castle Hotel Seaside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand Castle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.