We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic fresh Mex” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Tortuga Torteria

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Tortuga Torteria
1257 Fremont Blvd, Seaside, CA 93955-4830
831-899-8429
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 81 Restaurants in Seaside
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Fair Oaks, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Authentic fresh Mex”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Loved it, great food, great price. Very authentic, perfect tortillas. Fresh carrot juice and other varieties. Not as pricey as other healthy fresh food places. Lots of locals.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not on the regular tourist routes, and that makes it great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Oaxacan mole sandwich is great, nice family atmosphere. The waitresses are always so busy, but it is worth the little bit of extra time it takes. Do not go here for Tex-mex or you standard issue burritos, they are best at the Oaxacan flavors!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Finally, good Mexican food in Monterey area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Small place, good food at good prices. We've always been disappointed with the Mexican restaurants in this area. Being from Houston, we know good Mexican food.

This place has the stuff. Dark mole, great soups and excellent chile relleno. Good desserts too.

Plus the portions are large.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great spot for Mexicn food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I was in Monterey all week on business and blundered into this place. The food is based on the Oaxaca region in Mexico so it tastes different then your basic, standard issue mexican fare. I went here twice for dinner; both times I was the only white person there.The atmosphere is very laid back; I would not hesitate to bring kids. Both times my waitress was friendly and the service was prompt.My lack of spanish skills did not matter as they both spoke excellent english.The food was wonderful! The portions were large. The facility was very clean.Prices are very reasonable.
As mentioned earlier, this is a "no frills place". Not a mass market Chevy's atmosphere.
I enjoyed it and will go back next time I'm in Monterey.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaside, ca
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“So so”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Food was serviced quickly, soso waitress, didnt care for the food, pricea cheap if u like the food. Clean place.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tortuga Torteria also viewed

Seaside, Monterey Peninsula
Seaside, Monterey Peninsula
 
Seaside, Monterey Peninsula
Seaside, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to La Tortuga Torteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tortuga Torteria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.