We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You obviously get what you pay for but would stay again if needed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Inn

Save Saved
You added Discovery Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Discovery Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1106 Fremont Blvd., Seaside, CA 93955   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Seaside
Sacramento, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You obviously get what you pay for but would stay again if needed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just spent a Friday and Saturday night at this motel. After taxes, $163 for 2 nights, not bad for the area and a weekend. The motel is old but I thought pretty clean. I don't care about furniture. As other stated, the walls are thin. I did fine the 1st night but 2nd night's neighbors were loud. I could hear her whole entire conversation that she was having on the phone (word for word). When she slammed her motel door, our bathroom door would open. Also, double check your door, ours seemed to shut behind us but if we pushed on it, it would open back up. Key locks, no card locks so we just made sure to really check before leaving and when entering our room, we checked again and put the safety latch on. Owners were not friendly but I wouldn't exactly say rude. We did have an issue with no wi-fi to which the owner just said it must be our Laptop because his Grandson could get on, wouldn't help us. Later we had an issue with the TV and he came to re-set it, when my friend asked him to show her how incase it happened again, he refused saying he didn't want her to mess with the remote. Limited TV channels. Breakfast was two pastries, two cereals, milk, OJ and coffee. Considering not having to pay for breakfast, I was fine with it. If you don't want to drive, there is enough restaurants or fast food places within walking distance or cheap taxi service, Walgreens right across the street. Close enough drive into Monterey to be satisfied. I would have been happier if the room was only $40 like a few others stated but at $163 for 2 weekend nights, I would stay again if on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    15
    8
    13
See reviews for
10
24
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

SUMMARY -
We stayed here 1 year later and is still an excellent value for a comfortable, simple, clean, quiet and convenient overnight stay.
DETAILS -
Hi, HatMan Geno here again, and this still gets my "5 Hats" tip for being what it strives to be: a very economical (Approx. $45 for the night including the taxes and continental breakfast), clean, functional, quiet, safe and comfortable night's sleep.
My opinion of this hotel has not changed since we stayed here and wrote a review exactly 1 year ago. Last time was room #10; this year room #17. Both were delightful and what I would hope to have from a motel frozen in the "1960's": a refrigerator, no in room coffee or microwave, god but smaller old time towels (remember...1960's...), and delightful flowers all through the motel property. This is a place for an good night's sleep. This is not a "resort", nor does it pretend to be (it certainly would not be $45 if it were!). The "continental breakfast" is simple, giving a little kick-start as you go about your day (coffee - no decaf, simple various Danish and muffins, breakfast cereal of frosted corn flakes and cheerios, milk, and orange juice; Styrofoam cups and bowls, plastic flatware). The room ceilings are high with wood rafters, and the flat panel TV and Wi-Fi work well.
CONCLUSION -
If you are looking to make microwave meals, or in-room coffee, this is not your place. BUT, if you want a very adequate, clean and affordable quiet night's rest, this is a true delight.
So there you have it...this is HatMan Geno...safe travels, and I'll see you next time from the road!
Ciao-4-Now!

Room Tip: Unless you are a smoker, ask for a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed there in Seaside for four days the rooms are older but everything worked coffee and danish every morning if I had to complain about something it would be just at the walls are very thin overall it was a good stay I will recommend this place to my friends we are going back up in September for a wedding and we will stay there

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

the picture you see must have been taken when the place was new. Its a dump. the funiture in the rooms are broken, there isnt even a clock or an iron. its just a rundown dump that hasnt been maintained in years. Dont stay here!!!!!!

Room Tip: Dont stay at the broken down inn. motel 6 is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los gatos
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My wife and I can afford to pay a lot more,but why not save $100 per night and eat and drink well.Suggest you go to Goodwill and buy 2 coffee cups for $1 as there is no in-room coffee and the styro cups they give you are crap.No decaf,but rolls and muffins are fresh.Bed was good and bath was clean.So pocket the $169 per night and drive down to the Best Western(one mile) on the beach and enjoy the view and $10 per glass wine and a great dinner.

Room Tip: Stay close to office if you want coffee-refrigerator,but no coffee maker or micro. in rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Don't understand why this motel would get good ratings....went to check in a little early manager said our room wasn't ready but it would be done by 2...came back at 230 and the room still wasn't ready...tried to talk to the ladies that were cleaning the room before ours and they didn't speak a word of English...then went to talk to the manager and the lady in the officehad no clue what was going on. The rooms are very disappointing ...Very horrible experience would not stay here again...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

This hotel was a wonderful find - do stay here!
My wife and I stayed here Dec.30, 2011 - and were happily surprised how nice and quaint is this simple hotel. We have traveled a lot ovet the years, and while for $45.88 (taxes included) for the night will not get you a 5-star hotel., it will get you a real value for your money. Specifically in these categories:
1) CLEANLINESS - it was very clean and surprisingly well kept for what would be a 1960s vintage property. We stayed in Room#10; there are about 20 rooms total. ALL rooms are NON-Smoking, NON-Pets, so there were NO ODORS to contend with.
2) APPEARANCES - both inside the room (beamed high ceilings, clean rugs and tile bathroom, nice wallpaper, etc), and outside (amazing flowers and bushes, even for late December - very picturesque!), were a treat for the eyes. Cozy and cute.
3) FUNCTIONALITY - everything worked: refrigerator, toilet, shower, TV w/remote control, free WiFi, lights, heater (it was too cool to use the air conditioner so can not speak to that), everyhing as it should be.
4) COMFORT and AMENITIES - the bed, pillows, blankets, etc., were clean and very comfortable. The only 'negative' comment is that like virtually EVERY hotel of this class, age and type, flat sheetsd (not fitted sheets) are used, so they will have a tendency to slip out during the night if you toss & turn a lot. Bath towels are of the older smaller style, but clean and functional. extra towels are available if you desire them. The FREE continental breakfast included orange juice, regular coffee, hot water for tea, Raisin Bran and Corn Flakes cereal with milk, muffins and simple pastry, though certainly not goumet, all of acceptable quality and taste. Ample safe and convenient parking in front of your room door.
5) PEOPLE and SERVICE - the owners - a delightful couple of Asian/Indian descent - were very friendly and very welcoming. The "Mrs" is a gardening buff, and the property shows it with many wonderful colorful flowers and bushes...and wonderul presentation as you enter the property and enter your room.
The conclusion - a simple, clean, quaint, excellent value for the money. Not only will we come here again for a quick overnight getaway to the Monterey area, but we HIGHLY RECOMMEND it as a place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Inn

Address: 1106 Fremont Blvd., Seaside, CA 93955
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Seaside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Discovery Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel Seaside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.