We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ya get what ya pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Inn

Save Saved
You added Discovery Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
and 2 more sites!
Discovery Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1106 Fremont Blvd., Seaside, CA 93955   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Seaside
los gatos
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“ya get what ya pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My wife and I can afford to pay a lot more,but why not save $100 per night and eat and drink well.Suggest you go to Goodwill and buy 2 coffee cups for $1 as there is no in-room coffee and the styro cups they give you are crap.No decaf,but rolls and muffins are fresh.Bed was good and bath was clean.So pocket the $169 per night and drive down to the Best Western(one mile) on the beach and enjoy the view and $10 per glass wine and a great dinner.

Room Tip: Stay close to office if you want coffee-refrigerator,but no coffee maker or micro. in rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    11
    7
    13
See reviews for
8
23
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Don't understand why this motel would get good ratings....went to check in a little early manager said our room wasn't ready but it would be done by 2...came back at 230 and the room still wasn't ready...tried to talk to the ladies that were cleaning the room before ours and they didn't speak a word of English...then went to talk to the manager and the lady in the officehad no clue what was going on. The rooms are very disappointing ...Very horrible experience would not stay here again...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

This hotel was a wonderful find - do stay here!
My wife and I stayed here Dec.30, 2011 - and were happily surprised how nice and quaint is this simple hotel. We have traveled a lot ovet the years, and while for $45.88 (taxes included) for the night will not get you a 5-star hotel., it will get you a real value for your money. Specifically in these categories:
1) CLEANLINESS - it was very clean and surprisingly well kept for what would be a 1960s vintage property. We stayed in Room#10; there are about 20 rooms total. ALL rooms are NON-Smoking, NON-Pets, so there were NO ODORS to contend with.
2) APPEARANCES - both inside the room (beamed high ceilings, clean rugs and tile bathroom, nice wallpaper, etc), and outside (amazing flowers and bushes, even for late December - very picturesque!), were a treat for the eyes. Cozy and cute.
3) FUNCTIONALITY - everything worked: refrigerator, toilet, shower, TV w/remote control, free WiFi, lights, heater (it was too cool to use the air conditioner so can not speak to that), everyhing as it should be.
4) COMFORT and AMENITIES - the bed, pillows, blankets, etc., were clean and very comfortable. The only 'negative' comment is that like virtually EVERY hotel of this class, age and type, flat sheetsd (not fitted sheets) are used, so they will have a tendency to slip out during the night if you toss & turn a lot. Bath towels are of the older smaller style, but clean and functional. extra towels are available if you desire them. The FREE continental breakfast included orange juice, regular coffee, hot water for tea, Raisin Bran and Corn Flakes cereal with milk, muffins and simple pastry, though certainly not goumet, all of acceptable quality and taste. Ample safe and convenient parking in front of your room door.
5) PEOPLE and SERVICE - the owners - a delightful couple of Asian/Indian descent - were very friendly and very welcoming. The "Mrs" is a gardening buff, and the property shows it with many wonderful colorful flowers and bushes...and wonderul presentation as you enter the property and enter your room.
The conclusion - a simple, clean, quaint, excellent value for the money. Not only will we come here again for a quick overnight getaway to the Monterey area, but we HIGHLY RECOMMEND it as a place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

There was a major event taking place in Monterey so the places we usually stay were full or charging outrageous rates. We found the Discovery Inn on a motel booking site and although the rates were slightly "inflated" (aka "market prices") to $ 99/night it seemed reasonable.

The location is fine for somewhere to eat and sleep and is on the main drag in Seaside with a Walgreens and Safeway across the street and a host of eating establishments from fast food to Chinese to a Black Bear Diner all within close proximity.

The room was functional, spacious and clean and the staff were very pleasant. The breakfast was basic but good and consisted of a choice of two types of cereal, two types of pastries, coffee and orange juice.

We'd stay there again on a budget trip to the beautiful Monterey peninsula

Room Tip: With only 20 rooms and a dead-end car park there was very little traffic and no noise from the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

My fiancé and I stayed here last weekend Friday-Sunday (he's a student at the DLI and I flew out to visit). This is the second time I have stayed in one of these little cheaper motels and again, I was pleasantly surprised. You can't expect anything super fancy when you're only paying like $60 a night! The owner is really sweet and helpful, nice guy. The room was clean, smelled normal. Yes, everything is ancient, the TV is probably an historic artifact, but it served our needs! The bathroom was very clean and the shower worked great. We never spent much time in the room, there's too much to do elsewhere! Also, my fiancé left his $2000 laptop in the room out in the open (we ran out in a hurry trying to get to McDonald's for breakfast, haha) and when we came back after lunch, about 5 hours later, they had moved the laptop to the desk and rolled up the cord very neatly so we were very thankful! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

My boyfriend and I decided on a road trip up the coast for labor day weekend and Monterey was the last stop. This hotel basically fulfilled our needs. We were greeted at the front desk and she wasn't rude or anything. She even pointed out maps for us and explained how to return the key once we were done paying.
The room was mediocre. When we arrived at around 3:30PM they were still cleaning. The furniture was dated, but I didn't think they were gross or dirty, just a little too traditional and dark to be hotel decor. The bathroom was actually nice and clean. The sheets seemed like it could not have been washed from the last persons stay - they weren't crisp and detergent smelling at all however it was hard to tell.
On safety - I left my purse in the hotel room accidentally when we went to the aquarium. When I came back nothing was taken or touched. They just tidied up the towels, so I wouldn't say its a place to super paranoid.
The one huge drawback was the noisy heater/AC. Unless its a perfect 68 degrees outside at night it may be a problem for travelers needing a good nights rest.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

We arrived one day earlier than expected and went to the hotel to see if they had vacancies for one additional night (to the one we'd already booked online a few days before), but instead of giving good polite service to a customer who on top of everything was nice and wanting to stay an extra night, he yelled at me for not having called if we knew we were going to arrive earlier! I told him we had no cell with us (on a roadtrip in Calif but originally from Europe) and that we didn't even know we'd drive this far in one day. But I told him if he didn't have vacant rooms we could just go somewhere else. He didn't even answer, but kept on yelling at me and scolding me for not knowing the car's registration number by heart (it's a rental). After having been out the whole next day, we came back to a room with all windows open even though we had plenty of valuables in the room, plus some one had been in the room but everything was a mess and they hadn't even cleaned the room. (But they had taken our towels so we had none left) Poor breakfast and bad tasting coffee. EXTREMELY rude management who's treating their customers like manure! DONT STAY THERE!!!!! There are LOADS of other hotels with similar standard down the road - pick one of those instead!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Inn

Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel
Discovery Hotel Seaside
Address: 1106 Fremont Blvd., Seaside, CA 93955
Location: United States > California > Seaside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Discovery Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.