We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taco Surf

Taco Surf
115 Main St, Seal Beach, CA 90740-6316
562-594-0600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 80 restaurants in Seal Beach
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fun place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This was a family favorite in Seal Beach. Had a authentic Mexican feel to it and the food and drinks were great. Looks a little dumpy from the outside but I think that's part of the ambiance ;)

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    18
    11
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canyon Lake, Tx USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicioso!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

This place is definately worth visiting. It has great food from the hot sauce to the entrees. The food is plentiful and fairly priced in comparison to other places we ate. This restaurant allows you to choose what type of filling you would like in your enchiladas, tacos and burritos. We had shredded beef and carnitas in ours and both were seasoned perfectly and cooked to perfection. The spanish rice was some of the best we have ever had and being from south Texas that is saying a lot. We have sampled quite a bit of good spanish rice. Apparently there are several locations of Taco Surf around the coastline of southern CA. It is definately worth trying if you want flavorful mexican food.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
1 review
“It was GREAT again as usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

this small town restaurant is the greatest, you don't need to dress up to go there. The menu is great with reasonable prices. Super friendly waitresses and waiters, It's truely a home town resturant for locals and out of towners are always welcome.. We go there all the time.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Taco Surf Seal Beach is #1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

This is THE BEST place to eat in Seal Beach or in California in my humble opinion. I raised my family on Friday or Saturday nights at Taco Surf. I have been to all of them but this Seal Beach location is the best. It is not only a meal it is an event. sure there is a wait but how about waiting on Main Street in seal Beach> It doesn't get any better. The people are friendly. There is a sea shell shop a few doors down that is a great way to kill the wait time. The waitresses get your order right. There is a man there named Mario that gets your chips and salsa and drinks, he is so kind and has been there forever. The food is excellent and a lot of it. You never leave hungry! Then after dinner take a stroll towards the pier and grab a ice creme cone at Cold Stone on the corner and walk out to the end of the pier enjoying the sunset or watch the surfers. I live out of state now but this is my fist stop anytime I get to OC! Start a tradition in your family!

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The best mexican food in the area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Taco Surf has the best mexican food in the area and for the price, you can't beat it! The only downside is the size of the restaurant. If you're a large group, prepare to wait. There are only 2 large booth tables and they fill up quickly. Be sure to get here early - there is typically a long wait on weekend nights. The service is great and the food is amazing! Try it and you won't be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taco Surf also viewed

Seal Beach, Orange County
Seal Beach, Orange County
 
Seal Beach, Orange County
Seal Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Taco Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taco Surf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.