We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant place to stay in Seal Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pacific Inn

Save Saved
You added The Pacific Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Pacific Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Marina Drive, Seal Beach, CA 90740   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Seal Beach
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant place to stay in Seal Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

First time at the Pacific Inn on trip to visit Grandkids. Location, for me, is terrific--virtually across the street from their house for the general visitor quite convenient to the Main Street shopping district which has numerous restaurants of all types. The room was perfectly comfortable and seemed clean and well-maintained. The staff was pleasant. Free breakfast is exactly what you've already encountered in free breakfasts elsewhere---no better and no worse. Starbucks coffee machine in the lobby is a nice touch for a good cup of coffee any time you like. There is a smallish pool and hot tub but January weather discouraged it's use so I can't comment but the area surrounding is nicely furnished with various lounges and couches and would be nice in the summer. For the quality of the room and location, the $159 price was good value.

Room Tip: All the rooms have balconies but the view from some of them are pretty dispiriting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sagaseal, Public Relations Manager at The Pacific Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your comment and feedback! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    98
    25
    7
    2
See reviews for
88
67
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calif
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed here recently on a short visit to Seal Beach. The property is older and shows wear around the edges but seems fairly well maintained. Our brief interactions with the staff were pleasant and professional. The room was clean and in good order, a bit sparse but not disappointing. The beds were not the most comfortable but fine for one evening.

Our biggest complaint was the free breakfast... pretty sad all things considering. They had a small fridge with milk and juices but it was barely working... the milk was just a few degrees from being hot... put a damper on the rest of the selections.

This is about the only choice if you want to be within walking distance of downtown... and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Eat breakfast downtown...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sagaseal, Public Relations Manager at The Pacific Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! The Pacific Inn is always looking for ways to improve and make our guests stay the best as possible. We will definitely take your comments about the breakfast room and adress them. Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I have stayed at the Pacific Inn several times in the past and been satisfied. My most recent stay in December 2012 was very unsatisfactory. 1. They need to shampoo the carpets which felt slimy in my room. Perhaps allowing pets and smokers is making a difference in their ability to keep the carpets clean. I felt the need to wear slippers at all times. 2. Water was leaking from the toilet in the bathroom and over 5 days it was not repaired. 3. The noise from other guests running through the halls, screaming and yelling and noise from the pool was VERY annoying. I asked three different staff members to ask the guests causing the disturbance to be more quiet but over 5 hrs there was no change. I asked them myself to be more quiet and respectful of others but to no avail. As a business traveler, I will not be back despite a great location and previous positive experiences.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, Washington, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We visit our grandkids every couple months & have stayed here regularly for years. My 1st priority in a hotel room is a comfortable bed & we've always had that at the Pacific Inn! But there are numerous other things that keep us coming back. Wonderful, attentive service from everyone. They really care about your stay there. I much prefer staying in a small, independent hotel rather than a chain. Rates are very reasonable, the rooms are nice - perfect size & very comfortable for 2. The rooms have balconies and being close to the beach we always leave the balcony door open for fresh air. We can walk to the pier and shops easily. Easy driving to local attractions or other shops, grocery etc. Very convenient location. The continental breakfast is just fine with basic choices - cereal, yogurt, a waffle machine and fresh fruit. It's open really early, very handy & again the service is wonderful. The complementary breakfast at a local restaurant is excellent. The new Starbucks coffee/hot chocolate machine in the lobby is a wonderful addition! There's a nice pool & jacuzzi with comfy chairs to lounge, read a book or even swim. The exercise room is simple and has everything you need. We really enjoy our stays which are consistently comfortable & relaxing. As far as we're concerned this is what a hotel stay should be like - excellent service with thoughtful additions for a travelers comfort. Our kids live in Long Beach but we prefer to stay in Seal Beach & always at the Pacific Inn!

Room Tip: We've never had a bad room & we've staying on each floor, either side. Our preference is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sagaseal, Public Relations Manager at The Pacific Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for taking your time and writing a review! We are so happy that you had a enjoyable stay. Can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The rooms are nice and updated. Continental Breakfast is ok. Shuttle service was fine. The driver was very nice. He dropped us off and picked us up at the Long Beach Port. He arrived on time with the shuttle bus. We were a group of 12 and we fit perfectly with our luggage. Would recommend staying there if you are going on a cruise. Parking is included.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sagaseal, Public Relations Manager at The Pacific Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thanks Cristina for your review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and that everything worked out for your cruise. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My Trip took me to Denver then on to LA where i stayed in Seal beach... the hotel was great.
staff really nice this hotel is very clean also used the shuttle which is free i never had to wait and if i did this is ok as everyone in the hotel can use this service. i will for sure be staying there again

Room Tip: I booked online and got a great deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sagaseal, Public Relations Manager at The Pacific Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thanks for your feedback! We are so glad that you enjoyed your travels to Seal Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

The rooms were nice but the.shuttle service from the pier was beyond horrible. We made reservations for a 9:30 pickup but they sent their minivan rather then.their big van to save a.few bucks on gas and.gave our seats to.another couple who had not.made.reservations and made.us wait an additional hour. Don't use these people unless you have two hours to wait for their shuttle. Will not.use.them again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sagaseal, Manager at The Pacific Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you Unkwes for choosing The Pacific Inn. I am pleased hear that you enjoyed the rooms during your stay. I understand that you were disappointed with the Free shuttle service offered to all of our guests, for which I apologize. Our shuttle service was already on its way to pick up other guests who had reserved the shuttle in advance when you called to inform us of your needed pickup, which was not reserved in advance as you mentioned above. Our driver took the smaller of the two hotel vans, not to save gas, but simply because the group being picked up only had five guests. When you called to inform us that there was not additional room for you on the shuttle, another van was immediately sent and you were pick around 10am, only 30 minutes after your "reserved" pick up time. This clarification of the actual events that occurred is not meant to discredit that there was a delay in you pick up, but to reveal your actual wait time which has been greatly exaggerated. I understand that any wait time is inconvenient and I am sorry that you had to wait for an additional half hour while other guests at the hotel were utilizing the Free shuttle van. We have created time specific logs to ensure that an issue like this does not arise in the future and appreciate you bringing this problem to the managements attention so it can be fixed. We hope to be considered in the future for your lodging accommodations, now that this issue has been amended.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Pacific Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pacific Inn

Address: 600 Marina Drive, Seal Beach, CA 90740
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Seal Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Seal Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Pacific Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pacific Inn Hotel is located just a few blocks from the water in beautiful Seal Beach, California, one of Orange County’s best kept Secrets. The Pacific Inn offers many of the amenities you may expect at a larger hotel while maintaining the out-going service and attention of a wonderfully appointed boutique hotel. What separates The Pacific Inn from any other hotel is our superior location that makes us unique to any other property within a 20 mile radius. Our 71 newly renovated guest rooms are all non-smoking, featuring high speed wireless internet access, granite entryways and private balconies to enjoy the mild Southern California climate. We offer a complimentary shuttle service which travels anywhere within a 5 mile radius of the hotel. And a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast is served every morning in our breakfast café overlooking our open air atrium pool. Located in the heart of Seal Beach, a pleasant walk takes you to the Main Street shopping district, the Seal Beach Pier and over 30 local restaurants varying from casual to international cuisine. The Pacific Inn prides itself on going above and beyond for all Guests in an effort to exceed expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, TravelClick, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Pacific Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pacific Hotel Seal Beach
Pacific Hotel Seal Beach
Pacific Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pacific Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.