We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Seal Beach

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Seal Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Seal Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2401 Seal Beach Boulevard, Seal Beach, CA 90740   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members - Save 10%
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Seal Beach
rancho cucamonga, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I like staying at the Hiltons hotels because I know they will be clean, safe, and a good price for me. I am on a fixed income so I feel I get more than my money worth. Especially at the Hampton Inns with the free breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    65
    21
    8
    1
See reviews for
62
39
11
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Due to construction at our home, we had to find a hotel room for 3 nights with one day's notice. We always love Hampton Inns so we found this one which is nearby our home. We booked one of only 3 rooms available. It was a king suite with a sofa sleeper.

Upon arriving to our room the first evening, we noticed it was kind of stuffy and humid. Oh well, no big deal, we thought. We went to turn the air conditioner on. The wall control/thermostat didn't work so we went to the unit itself. Yay, it does work! We set the thermometer for 75 and went about our showers and getting kids ready for bed. No bar soap, shampoo or anything near the sink. Weird, but whatever.

After the 2nd shower, we realized the bathroom vent was not working. There was no fan. After four showers, you can imagine the amount of moisture in that room. Sofa bed was lumpy and uncomfortable, but the kids tried to make do. Since by then it was way past bedtime we opened a window, tried to ignore the drive thru next door, and tried to go to sleep. Air conditioner didn't seem to be blowing cold air. ?

After a long, hot, sticky night, I decided to beg for another room. No way we could take another night like that one.

Francis at the front desk was super nice and said he could move me to another room that afternoon. Said he'd have maintenance look into that room and see why it was so damp.

So the rest of our trip was uneventful. New room on 4th floor had a working air conditioner and bathroom vent. Whew. I even got to use my little hotel soap and shampoo. Imagine that.

So overall, even though it started out rough, they made it right.....almost. In my opinion, they shouldn't have charged me for that first night. They have a 100% satisfaction policy posted throughout their property that states if you aren't satisfied, you don't pay. If you aren't going to honor the policy, why bother posting it?

Room Tip: Stick to the top floors if possible. Bottom floors may be able to hear people ordering food from De...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, Calif. USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

For folks on here disappointed because they were expecting a beach resort experience, the very large Navy facility on one side and the Boeing facility on the other should give you a clue. They do alot of business with defense/aerospace people. It also happens to be in one of the nicest small beach towns left in Southern California. Short cab ride to Main street Seal Beach And Los Alamitos marina. Great restaurants and bars. Walt's Wharf, and Joe's Crab Shack. Four Irish pubs on Main street in old town. For couples: The jacuzzi suites are excellent!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our king suite was very nice! Clean, spacious, and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. I liked this hotel much better than the Hilton Anaheim that we just checked out of! Hot breakfast was served every morning and we were happy the coffee was served all day!

Room Tip: We liked the first level as it was close to coffee and smoking outside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here twice in the last 4 weeks and both times, the experience was negative. Intentionally did not write a review after the first visit. Wanted to give them a second chance before I shared my experiences.

I'm a HH Diamond (million plus member). When I arrived the first time, I asked if I had water in my room. I was "lectured" by the young man at the desk that my HH choices included points, and NOT water, and property's are different, yada yada yada..... and therefore I'm not eligible for a free bottle of water. Really? The case on the counter that says "if you are diamond or gold" please select a free snack and beverage??? And, oh by the way, what does a whole sale bottle of water cost the hotel?? Are not my 100+++ nights per years at HH property's worth $1.29???

First trip, there was no frig in the room, as requested. Second trip, again asked for frig, it was there, but it was not in working order. And, in case you are wondering, when I asked for water on the 2nd trip, I was told I could purchase it from their store. Yes, I did buy the water and, the same plastic case offering FREE snacks and a beverage to diamond and gold members was still out. So much for truth in advertising : )

I do have to go back to the area for business and NO, you will not find me at that Hampton Inn ever again! I suggest a bit of training for the staff members, and enlighten them to what "guest services" means for everyone, not just to a million + points diamond member. Didn't really need the lecture on the ins and outs of the Hilton merit program.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBMngr, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Seal Beach, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
I am so sorry to hear about your experience, and if you felt like you were "lectured" about your member’s benefits. That was certainly not our intention. We do our very best to deliver the Hilton Honors benefits, and if our guests are expecting something different than what their profile is set up for, we simply just want them to know that, and not leave them with the impression that we did not deliver what they thought they were supposed to have. As you have mentioned, it is not about such a minimal amount of $1.29. Hilton Honors set up the benefits for their members of different tiers, and at different Hilton properties, from the Waldorf Astoria Brands and ours, the Hampton Brands. We only follow the guidelines provided to us. Hilton Honors can assist you with changing your profile should you choose to pick the option of receiving the snacks instead of the points at Hampton Brands. I will also add the website that has the information about the Hilton Honors Members Benefits. Please feel free to contact me directly if there is anything else I can address for you.
http://hhonors3.hilton.com/en/explore/benefits/index.html
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I would call this a typical Hampton Inn. It is a newer model so the furnishings are up to date. However I would mention that the carpets on the 3rd floor are showing heavy wear and heavy soiling in serveral traffic areas. Also, the suite chair in my room was uphostered in a lighter color fabric and was heavily soiled, spotted and stained--not a chair I would sit in it was that dirty. The hotel staff are very helpful, friendly and do an excellent job of supporting the guests. Breakfast was the typical good quality and selection Hampton breakfast. Good location for venturing out from.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Found everything to be very good. We had a king suite, excellent, with fridge and microwave. Staff were very pleasant. Room clean everything we needed. Good breakfast that was included, buffet style, hot and cold food, including omlettes and potatoes.
No complaints, location not bad would have been nice to be closer to seal beach but only 5 to 10 minute drive to main street

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Seal Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Seal Beach

Address: 2401 Seal Beach Boulevard, Seal Beach, CA 90740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Seal Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Seal Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Seal Beach 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the 405 Freeway, this clean and comfortable hotel in Seal Beach offers home comforts and the little extras that make all the difference, all within minutes of the attractions of Seal Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Reservation Counter, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Seal Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Seal Beach Hotel Seal Beach
Hampton Inn And Suites Seal Beach
Hampton Inn Seal Beach
Seal Beach Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Seal Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.