We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missed the mark” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Beachwood BBQ

Beachwood BBQ
131 1/2 Main St, Seal Beach, CA 90740-6316
562-493-4500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 80 Restaurants in Seal Beach
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Fountain Valley CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Missed the mark”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I had such high hopes from all the recommendations and reviews. There was certainly nothing wrong with the friendly atmosphere or our server. It's a lively spot with good beer, a ton of energy and fun to boot. But when one goes for BBQ, it's all about the meat. The sides were the hit of the night. Great collard greens and a very serviceable creamed corn. Thankfully there was a good choice of sauce on every table because the brisket I was served was dry as a bone. For true BBQ purist there is no smoke ring either....a sign of a slow smoking process that produces tender, juicy smoke rich meat. My wife's chicken came out with a strange gray look as well. I am not really sure how they do their smoking but something is amiss in their process. My search continues for great BBQ.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    26
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Placerville, California
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great Food and Beers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

A couple of friends and I met at Beachwood BBQ for dinner the other night and if you are in the Seal Beach area, you should definitely make this your stop for dinner. The baby back ribs are dry rubbed and slow smoked to perfection. There is a good selection of other BBQ items, salads and fish, as well as an extensive selection of sides. The sweet coleslaw is creamy and very tasty. The sweet potato fries were crisp with creamy insides. The other side of Beachwood BBQ is the incredible menu of craft beers that will surely please any palate.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice food, great service, top selection of good beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We went along here on the recommendation of a friend. I was impressed by the good selection of craft beers on offer - opting for one of their own brews (good option.) The service was attentive. I enjoyed my food, a selection of bbq options. My partner opted for a burger special, but was not too keen on the level of smokiness.

Nice and relaxed, worth a visit if nearby!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Long Beach has a Little Bit of Seal Beach in Downtown!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

The same joy that is Beachwood BBQ Seal Beach is now on the Promanade in Long Beach! The house beers are cold and the dry rubbed ribs very tasty with those wonderful side dishes! If you want combos; Google the menu! Pick your time and place, remember it is very popular! There should be good parking, but public transit is your best bet; Metro Blue Line or Long Beach Red buses! Another BBQ place graces Long Beach, Call them up and ask direct questions! Enjoy in Good Health!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious and great menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

The food and the selection of craft beers are outstanding. The barbeque pork ribs, chicken, and beef are slow-cooked, making them tender and delicious. The BBQ chicken salad is a favorite of mine, with an assortment of greens, vegetables, shredded BBQ chicken, and a light dressing that is a great complement. The grilled asparagus and sweet potato fries are great too. Prices are very reasonable for such high-quality food.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beachwood BBQ also viewed

Seal Beach, Orange County
Seal Beach, Orange County
 
Seal Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Beachwood BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachwood BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.