We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ayres Hotel Seal Beach

Save Saved
You added Ayres Hotel Seal Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ayres Hotel Seal Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12850 Seal Beach Boulevard, Seal Beach, CA 90740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 Nights - 15% Off!
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Seal Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We have stayed in several area hotels but the Aryes by far is the best. From the front desk staff to the wonderful breakfast this is our favorite hotel in Orange County. Rooms are spacious and clean. Beds are comfortable. The one complaint would be the air conditioner is loud, but this wouldn't stop us from staying here every time we come.

Room Tip: Even though one side of the hotel is facing a very busy freeway you can not hear the traffic in your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    261
    81
    23
    12
    5
See reviews for
129
85
21
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I was already used to staying at the Ayres in Manhattan Beach, but was needing to stay at a place near Spaghettini Grill & Jazz Club to go see friends of ours perform, Lisa Gay & Tony Drake (Gentlemen of Thrill Band) with Magnetiq and Mark Gabriel Hasselbach. it just so happens that there is an Ayres property direclty across the street on Seal Beach Blvd. After checking rates out at several hotels and motels in the area the Ayres finally grabbed us with the "Romantic Romp" package. We already knew we could always depend on the level of Ayres service, but it's always a challenge to maybe find that one other deal out there that you might take a chance on - not this time we could't resist the offer of champagne, chocolates, bath robes, full buffet breakfast and a late 2pm check-out all waiting for us to say yes! So we booked it. We arrived drank champagne, ate chocolate, walked across the street, saw the show, came back jumped in our robes, missed the buffet breakfast and were only disturbed at being roused at 12 noon by eager housekeeping, but non-the-less checked out relaxed at 2pm. The staff is great - what can you say - it's the Ayres!

Room Tip: It was a hot and humid summer day and the upper-story hallways were a bit muggy. Heat rises. Would l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

I was a little shocked on arrival as I had not expected it to be located quite so close to the freeway. However, staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were new and spacious and very clean. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverbank, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I was provided with excellent service, beautiful rooms and comfortable accommodations, while enjoying a perfect location!

We will be using this Hotel as well as giving great recommendations for your outstanding service.

Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here for a week in June for a family vacation to Disney and Universal. The hotel is in good shape, room was clean, the pool was small and not heated, but the breakfast was good. My husband used the computer in the lobby to print Disney passes and the hotel staff was friendly although not very knoweldgable with the area. We asked a few times for directions to different locations but were advised by the staff they were not familiar with the area. Being my first time to California, wasn't too sure about the Seal Beach location. There are restaurants, a shopping center including a Target all within a close distance. There's a retirement home behind the hotel and it seems many of the guests staying were visiting relatives in the home. There were a few families with children, but mostly business and adult crowd. Although it's not the Hotels fault, would not recommend this location due to the construction on the highway right outside the Hotel. You can hear the noise from your room and the highway was closed nightly which caused problems after returning from a long day at the Parks. Also, in order to turn on the lights or A/C in the room, you must insert your Hotel Key into a slot. Not a big deal, but if you want your room to be kept cool, you must leave the Key in the slot when you leave the room, thought this was odd.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Seal Beach, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Gingy25 -

Thank you so much for your review of the hotel. While I am very pleased you found your stay comfortable and the breakfast exceptional, I was disappointed to read that the local construction caused any inconvenience to your stay. We anticipate the construction to end relatively soon and do apologize if there were corresponding noise issues that impeded your stay. We do hope you will give us another chance to show you how remarkable a stay at our hotel can be.

Sincerely,

Bill Dolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewistown, Montana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Nice location and easy access to beaches and other great southern California attractions. Hotel staff very friendly and helped print boarding passes when another guest was using lobby computer and also recommended food options for dinner with directions.

Room Tip: 3rd floor very quiet and pool very relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Seal Beach, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Sue -

Thank you so much for your kind review and for allowing us the chance to welcome you recently. I am very pleased the location proved convenient for all of your Southern California travels. We are very grateful for your recommendation and hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Bill Dolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We've stayed several times at this location and it is consitently top notch. Room are very comfortable. The 3rd floor room is a bit nicer with vaulted ceilings. Quiet surroundings for a good night's sleep on a very comfortable bed.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms have vaulted ceiling and feel more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ayres Hotel Seal Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel Seal Beach

Also Known As:
Ayres Seal Beach
Seal Beach Ayres Hotel
Address: 12850 Seal Beach Boulevard, Seal Beach, CA 90740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Seal Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Seal Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayres Hotel Seal Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ayres Hotel Seal Beach! Whether you’re here for a short business visit or a long, relaxing retreat, you’ll find all of the luxurious, European-inspired guest rooms at Ayres Hotel Seal Beach are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and WiFi, iHomes, hairdryers, and curved shower rods. And every morning you will start your day right with our complimentary full American breakfast.Our unique Seal Beach, CA location means you can discover the many distinct shops, art galleries, gift stores, and dining attractions on Main Street. Close by is the city of Long Beach, offering an array of entertainment venues including the Queen Mary or the Aquarium of the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Milestone Internet Marketing, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Ayres Hotel Seal Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayres Hotel Seal Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.