We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast was good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ayres Hotel Seal Beach

Save Saved
You added Ayres Hotel Seal Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ayres Hotel Seal Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12850 Seal Beach Boulevard, Seal Beach, CA 90740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 Nights - 15% Off!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Seal Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
Arlington, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Breakfast was good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here for a week in June for a family vacation to Disney and Universal. The hotel is in good shape, room was clean, the pool was small and not heated, but the breakfast was good. My husband used the computer in the lobby to print Disney passes and the hotel staff was friendly although not very knoweldgable with the area. We asked a few times for directions to different locations but were advised by the staff they were not familiar with the area. Being my first time to California, wasn't too sure about the Seal Beach location. There are restaurants, a shopping center including a Target all within a close distance. There's a retirement home behind the hotel and it seems many of the guests staying were visiting relatives in the home. There were a few families with children, but mostly business and adult crowd. Although it's not the Hotels fault, would not recommend this location due to the construction on the highway right outside the Hotel. You can hear the noise from your room and the highway was closed nightly which caused problems after returning from a long day at the Parks. Also, in order to turn on the lights or A/C in the room, you must insert your Hotel Key into a slot. Not a big deal, but if you want your room to be kept cool, you must leave the Key in the slot when you leave the room, thought this was odd.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Seal Beach, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Gingy25 -

Thank you so much for your review of the hotel. While I am very pleased you found your stay comfortable and the breakfast exceptional, I was disappointed to read that the local construction caused any inconvenience to your stay. We anticipate the construction to end relatively soon and do apologize if there were corresponding noise issues that impeded your stay. We do hope you will give us another chance to show you how remarkable a stay at our hotel can be.

Sincerely,

Bill Dolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    101
    27
    12
    5
See reviews for
155
96
24
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lewistown, Montana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Nice location and easy access to beaches and other great southern California attractions. Hotel staff very friendly and helped print boarding passes when another guest was using lobby computer and also recommended food options for dinner with directions.

Room Tip: 3rd floor very quiet and pool very relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Seal Beach, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Sue -

Thank you so much for your kind review and for allowing us the chance to welcome you recently. I am very pleased the location proved convenient for all of your Southern California travels. We are very grateful for your recommendation and hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Bill Dolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We've stayed several times at this location and it is consitently top notch. Room are very comfortable. The 3rd floor room is a bit nicer with vaulted ceilings. Quiet surroundings for a good night's sleep on a very comfortable bed.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms have vaulted ceiling and feel more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We traveled far and were very tired when we arrived late at night, so we went straight to bed. In the morning we found loose M&M's in one of the drawers, a muffin wrapper on the floor and a set of false eyelashes on the soap tray in the bathroom. The cleaning staff did not replace towels, soaps,lotions or coffee. We were told about the breakfast at check-in, but, not the cocktail hour. Wi-fi was down for a day as they were switching over to a new server and we were never alerted when it was fixed or to the new username/password. Breakfast was a disappointment-no brewed decaf and as a vegan, the only option was fruit salad and INSTANT oatmeal. For the money we paid for 2 rooms for a week, we expected much better service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Seal Beach, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear JDrluk -

Thank you very much for your candid review of our hotel. I am so very sorry to hear that you found your unsatisfactory. What you describe in the guestroom and at the Front Desk is absolutely unacceptable as we want our guests to be in the cleanest, friendliest hotel possible. Please know I have already discussed these issues with the appropriate parties to ensure against anything like this in the future. We apologize and do hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Sincerely,

Bill Dolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Hotel is Convenienly located to beach, freeway and stores. Hotel staff were helpful, readily available and very pleasant. Would recommend this hotel. Has nice pool area, outside seating area, fabulous daily breakfast

Room Tip: Enjoyed poolside advantage
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Seal Beach, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Susan -

Thank you so much for your kind words and for allowing us the chance to welcome you. It is fantastic to know that you found our location convenient and service welcoming. We are very grateful that you took the time to recommend us and we hope you will visit again very soon.

Warm regards,

Bill Dolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

On or recent visit to Seal Beach we stayed at Ayres Hotel on Seal Beach Blvd. and had a bad experience with quite a bit of noise on our 2nd floor at 7AM in the morning. It was either noise coming from the room directly upstairs our the hotels housekeeping laundry and supply room. The other unpleasant experience was the taste and smell of the water for showers, brushing your teeth or anything you needed water for. The hotel simply needs to put some kind of filtration that removes the horrible odorous smell that the hotel water has. The water was honestly undrinkable. There is a strong sulfur smell to the water that you get when you take a bath or shower or brush your teeth that you cant get rid of. We had to go buy bottled water just to brush our teeth because it was so bad tasting. I did tell the manager and he didn't really have any explanation or concern or solution. We wont go back to this hotel again because of this. The other inconvenience was the hotels way of being energy efficient. They have a card type switch on the wall that you have to put either your hotel room key in or a credit card in order to turn the lights on for the room. It was a bit odd to have the lights go off on you when someone left the room. I guess it is there way of being environmental correct which we are all for but just not at the expense of being in the dark if one of us left the room.

Room Tip: Dont stay on the first or second floor it you don't want to be awakened by noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Seal Beach, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear robertscb -

Thank you very much for your candid review of our hotel. I am very sorry to hear that you found your stay with us mediocre. We are always happy to investigate noise issues should we be notified at the Front Desk and encourage our guests to contact us if they are being disturbed as we definitely want guests to feel at ease in their rooms. As to the water, while this has been a rare complaint indeed, I do understand the issue and will address it with our corporate team. Most of our guests find the energy saver in the guestroom very efficient and eco-friendly. The device simply requires that a key card be placed in the slot to keep the lights on, so we are always happy to provide a second one to guests so they do not experience any darkness when another leaves the room. We thank you again for your review and hope you will reconsider staying with us in the future.

Sincerely,

Bill Dolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I might give this place 3 but I was annoyed by the management request that if I enjoyed my stay would I please make a trip advisor rating
There was a piece of tape across the carpet in the hallway in front of my room.
I didn't understand the lighting right off the bat, came in the room in the dark and had to find a small slot to put a card in to turn on the lights after calling downstairs.
Then there was only soap for the sink and not the bath, and no tea or hairdryer.
The breakfast is fantastic with real cooks, but things are not restocked promptly and I have to ask for things a lot.
These are small things compared to the fantastic and patient staff and their doing everything possible to make my stay wonderful.
Kelly at the front desk solved a problem with my bill even more than to my satisfaction.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the roads. Check to make sure you have everything you need in your room as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Seal Beach, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Susan -

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor and for allowing us to welcome you. While I am pleased you enjoyed the breakfast and service, I do apologize if your stay was not an exceptional one. The missing amenities are concerning as they are standard in each guestroom, so please know I have reviewed this with the appropriate team members. I am so sorry you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay. Hopefully you will give us a second chance to make your hotel experience a remarkable one.

Sincerely,

Bill Dolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayres Hotel Seal Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel Seal Beach

Address: 12850 Seal Beach Boulevard, Seal Beach, CA 90740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Seal Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Seal Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayres Hotel Seal Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ayres Hotel Seal Beach! Whether you’re here for a short business visit or a long, relaxing retreat, you’ll find all of the luxurious, European-inspired guest rooms at Ayres Hotel Seal Beach are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and WiFi, iHomes, hairdryers, and curved shower rods. And every morning you will start your day right with our complimentary full American breakfast.Our unique Seal Beach, CA location means you can discover the many distinct shops, art galleries, gift stores, and dining attractions on Main Street. Close by is the city of Long Beach, offering an array of entertainment venues including the Queen Mary or the Aquarium of the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Milestone Internet Marketing, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ayres Hotel Seal Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Seal Beach
Seal Beach Ayres Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayres Hotel Seal Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.