We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday weekend!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ayres Hotel Seal Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ayres Hotel Seal Beach to your Saves list
Ayres Hotel Seal Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12850 Seal Beach Boulevard, Seal Beach, CA 90740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 Nights - 15% Off!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Seal Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Birthday weekend!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Had a ball at the pool with some guys from Canada... They took real good care of me & my man with some drink called Fire Bomb! Went to dinner at Kobe Steak house had a ball dancing to the live band. Sunday had brunch at the Jazz spot across the street . That was great. Will stay here again for the location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Seal Beach, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Havingfun1977 -

It was a pleasure welcoming you recently. How fantastic to hear that you had an amazing and fun time while staying at our hotel. We do have quite a few local dining establishments and other attractions that guests will find enjoyable and I'm thrilled you were able to take advantage of a couple of them. We are very grateful for your review and hope you will visit again very soon.

Sincerely,

Bill Dolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    103
    27
    12
    5
See reviews for
159
99
25
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Ayres hotel at seal beach was a great place to spend 6 nights as a base for Hollywood, Disney, and some of the famous beaches around LA. Located near a freeway, 30 mins to LAX, 30 mins to Disney, 10-15 mins to seal beach itself.

Our room was large and extremely comfortable and well decorated. Not your average hotel room at all!! Big flat screen tv, comfy sofa, large comfy bed, coffee maker, air con etc. Only negative was the metallic tasting water from the tap.

Breakfast was our only niggle, but still not probably a big enough issue to stop us going back. The breakfast room was very small and could get quite crowded. There was no variation day to day so it got quite boring. Not enough choice of hot food-only scrambled egg, omelette or potato bits. This wasn't really to our taste as we're used to hot breakfast being similar to a full English. Some chopped fruit and yogurt were the only slightly healthy options. Everything else was carbs or sweet pastries. This is fine in moderation, but would have liked a few more fruit/nut/granola etc options.

Swimming pool/jacuzzi was fine, but overlooked by a car park. Small gym was fine for a quick workout if that's something you wanted to do. Reception staff very helpful and friendly.

We really liked the afternoon snacks and drinks which were free!! Lots of chopped veggies with some dip and salsa. Crisps, crackers and fresh cookies too. Selection of soft drinks, beer and wine to drink. This was a nice extra!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Seal Beach, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Matthew -

It was wonderful having the chance to welcome you for six days recently. I am so please to know you found the Front Desk team welcoming and rooms comfortable. I do apologize if our breakfast offerings were not to your taste, though. We are constantly reviewing what we serve, so I will be sure to utilize your comments when we next revisit our breakfast menu. We hope you will still come visit again very soon.

Sincerely,

Bill Dolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachwood, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is our 2nd stay at this hotel and they run a first class operation! Great property, well maintained, and spotlessly clean.

Nice breakfast and perfect location in Seal Beach - close to everywhere we needed.

ADVICE FOR WEEKEND TRAVELERS:

There is major road construction - weekend nights only - very close to the hotel. There is NO NOISE PROBLEM WHATSOEVER, however the roads nearby are closed from 11pm to 5am on Friday and Saturday nights and you NEED AN ALTERNATE ROUTE if you are coming in from LAX late at night. Your GPS will be of little help. Call ahead and get the alternate route and it will be EASY. We did not plan ahead and it caused us a 1 hour delay in traffic after getting to within 1/8th of a mile of the hotel at midnight on Friday. Poor planning on our part but VERY painful after a long day of travel. I urge management to send an auto email to all guests 48 hours before their first night stay with alternate directions from LAX.

Great hotel - we will certainly stay there again and again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Seal Beach, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear silvertravel -

It was a pleasure welcoming you back for your second stay. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about our hotel on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased you found everything well run and the accommodations quite and comfortable. I also appreciate you pointing out the nearby road construction for fellow travelers so they will be well informed upon arrival. We hope to welcome you back for a third time very soon.

Warm regards,

Bill Dolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
placerville, ca
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed at the Ayres in early May and were very impressed with the hotel. The rooms and public areas were definitely a cut above most hotels in this price range. Taking advise from others, we requested a room not facing the 405 freeway and the room we had on the second floor overlooking the pool was very quiet. Beds were great and the room was spotless. Parking was plentiful and the breakfast was just OK. A word of caution though is there is a major construction project taking place on the 405/22 freeway interchange. The Seal Beach Blvd bridge over the 405 is restricted to one lane each direction causing major backup in both directions particularly during rush hour. Take this in consideration when planning your day. I asked if the front desk if there were plans to open more Ayres outside of So Cal. and she replied there was one being built in Paso Robles (Central California). Will definitely be staying here on our next trip to So Cal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Seal Beach, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Crock -

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your stay and for sharing your experience with fellow travelers. It was an absolute pleasure providing you with clean and comfortable accommodations. We are VERY excited for the opening of the Ayres Resort & Spa Paso Robles in 2014 and hope you will have the chance to visit us and the new resort some time in the near future.

Warm regards,

Bill Dolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Staying in an Ayres Hotel was a new experience for us. We were most impressed with the "old world" decor and atmosphere in the hotel. Our compliments to the interior decorator for general decor and furniture selection.
The room was large and high-ceilinged, the bed was comfortable, and all amenities were included. Further we enjoyed the breakfast selection, although my wife and I generally have a light breakfast and did not try the more traditional hot food options.
Staff were courteous and helpful, and check in and check out were quick and efficient.
All in all the Ayres Hotels are absolutely great places to stay and provide good value for a quality stay. We stayed at the Seal Beach and the Manhattan Beach properties. I look forward to the Ayres Hotel chain moving further north, and will definitely stay in a property in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The facility, ambiance, location and aplomb of the property was as expected - Marvelous. The staff could not have been more accommodating or attentive. Breakfast was satisfying and delightful - The chef (cook) was pleasant, skilled and attendant to guest's requests. All-in-all a most pleasant experience.

Room Tip: All rooms were the same - great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Seal Beach, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear bertfalbaum -

Thank you so much for your very kind review and for allowing us the opportunity to welcome you. We revel in the chance to provide our guests with the best possible service and most comfortable accommodations, so to learn your stay was "extraordinary" is absolutely wonderful! We are very grateful for your recommendation and hope you will visit again very soon.

Warm regards,

Bill Dolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this property. Everyone from the front desk staff, to engineering, to housekeeping, to the restaurant crew couldn't have been more pleasant, and or helpful. The quality of their management team is obvious from the moment you step inside. The decor is very tastefully done, making the quest feel quite welcome and comfortable. The rooms have crown molding, floor molding, stone tile in the bathroom, great color choices, and really everything you need for comfort, with the exception of your own personal valet. :-) Fridge/freezer, microwave, coffee set-up, and a nice little extra counter space for your morning preparations. Really, really pleasant experience. Would return in a heartbeat, and definately recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Seal Beach, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear PSDavidPalmSprings -

It was an absolute pleasure having you as our guest. Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review and for choosing our hotel for your stay. Our number one priority is to provide the best possible accommodations and service to our guests, so it is wonderful to know we were able to do so for you. We are very appreciative of your recommendation and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Safe travels,

Bill Dolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayres Hotel Seal Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel Seal Beach

Address: 12850 Seal Beach Boulevard, Seal Beach, CA 90740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Seal Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Seal Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayres Hotel Seal Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ayres Hotel Seal Beach! Whether you’re here for a short business visit or a long, relaxing retreat, you’ll find all of the luxurious, European-inspired guest rooms at Ayres Hotel Seal Beach are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and WiFi, iHomes, hairdryers, and curved shower rods. And every morning you will start your day right with our complimentary full American breakfast.Our unique Seal Beach, CA location means you can discover the many distinct shops, art galleries, gift stores, and dining attractions on Main Street. Close by is the city of Long Beach, offering an array of entertainment venues including the Queen Mary or the Aquarium of the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Ayres Hotel Seal Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Seal Beach
Seal Beach Ayres Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayres Hotel Seal Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.