We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ayres Hotel Seal Beach

Save Saved
You added Ayres Hotel Seal Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ayres Hotel Seal Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12850 Seal Beach Boulevard, Seal Beach, CA 90740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 Nights - 15% Off!
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Seal Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
Bear Valley Springs, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Please understand that I am normally a very positive person and rarely complain about things. BUT on the first night of my stay, in order to get at least some sleep I chose to move rooms at 230 in the morning because of noise (annoying beeping and banging) from the ongoing road construction on the freeway side of the hotel. The person manning the front desk acted somewhat disinterested in my trouble and said causally "yeah, the noise is only a problem at night".The two rooms I was offered both had an annoying smell. I chose one of the two rooms, moved all of my things and was back in bed by 4 am. The room was very musty and warm so I set the thermostat lower, but despite my efforts the room never cooled below 75 degrees. I was awakened at 530 am by an alarm that remained on and had been set by the previous occupant; unfortunately I forgot to check it. The shower water was so hot that I could barely shower; it was impossible to get cold water to come out of the shower faucet. I was able to get internet connection in the first room on the freeway side but even after several attempts (and a call with their IT support contractor), I never connected from the second room. I checked out and moved to a different hotel after the second night. I would NOT recommend this hotel at all.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel. If you have to stay here, never stay in a room on the freeway side becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    288
    92
    26
    12
    5
See reviews for
143
90
23
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
las vegas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was an excellent property. The property is well maintained. The decor is very classy. The service was excellent, It is within walking distance to nice restaurants and it is a close drive to Seal Beach and sand and the ocean! We would defnitiely stay there again and I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is one of my favorites.....close enough to lots of things to do and see in the Long Beach area. The staff is always friendly and helpful. Note: Fresh baked cookies in the lobby every 20 minutes or so! Rooms are always super clean. Beds are comfortable and the price cannot be beat. There is a mini fridge in the room should you purchase snacks that need keeping...the standard continental breakfast make the entire package a good deal If you are looking for a gym and a pool, both are small. The gym consists of one treadmill and two other full body machines. The decor is Victorian mansion style with lots of oil painting down the hallways and floral tapestry and such...kinda reminds me of a grandmothers house! But time and again, I will stay at this hotel - its just good value, good location and good people taking care of you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This was our first time staying in Seal Beach and after reading other reviews, chose to stay at the Ayres. It was a good choice...very pleasant staff, comfortable beds and super clean rooms. Great quality for the price and we did not have any noise issues with outside traffic or inside conference room as I read on another review...was perfect. No frills, but clean comfort and quick access to the freeway(and Disneyland) as well as many shops, restaurants and the beach. The only negative was the overpass construction which made traffic a bit tricky at times, but obviously that could not be helped. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loomis ca
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Huge rooms, conveniently located to the 405 fwy with no traffic noise. Extremely clean, very friendly front desk. Nice touch to have a microwave, mini frig, and sitting area. While a Victorian decor is not "our thing", the furnishings were lovely, bed comfy, and breakfast with eggs, sausage, pancakes, french toast in a clean and open room made this hotel a good value and very pleasant experience for a one night stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Very friendly and accommodating staff. Located right off the highway so easy to get around. Close to both beach and the Disney properties. Free continental breakfast every morning. Any concerns I had were addressed immediately (needing more towels in room etc)

Room Tip: Stay on the 2nd or the 3rd floor as the pipes in the wall make noise on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Close to I405 construction and traffic, this hotel is a wonderful place to come back to. i did not notice any noise from the nearby freeway or construction.
The rooms have everything that you could want - refrigerator, microwave, spacious room, spacious closet and all very clean!!
Breakfast was delicious and the dining room kept super clean.
For the warmer mornings, the outdoor seating area adjacent to the breakfast dining area is quiet and nicely landscaped.
The staff was incredibly professional and attentive.
I would highly recommend this hotel to those visiting in the area!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ayres Hotel Seal Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel Seal Beach

Address: 12850 Seal Beach Boulevard, Seal Beach, CA 90740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Seal Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Seal Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayres Hotel Seal Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ayres Hotel Seal Beach! Whether you’re here for a short business visit or a long, relaxing retreat, you’ll find all of the luxurious, European-inspired guest rooms at Ayres Hotel Seal Beach are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and WiFi, iHomes, hairdryers, and curved shower rods. And every morning you will start your day right with our complimentary full American breakfast.Our unique Seal Beach, CA location means you can discover the many distinct shops, art galleries, gift stores, and dining attractions on Main Street. Close by is the city of Long Beach, offering an array of entertainment venues including the Queen Mary or the Aquarium of the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Milestone Internet Marketing, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ayres Hotel Seal Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Seal Beach
Seal Beach Ayres Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayres Hotel Seal Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.