We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ayres Hotel Seal Beach

Save Saved
You added Ayres Hotel Seal Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ayres Hotel Seal Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12850 Seal Beach Boulevard, Seal Beach, CA 90740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 Nights - 15% Off!
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Seal Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is by far the best hotel in Seal Beach. I frequently visit my parents in nearby Leisure World, and I stay at another hotel only if the Ayres is booked. The rooms are charming in an old- fashioned way, amenities are modern, the beds are large and quite comfortable, and there is laundry on every floor. Breakfast is free and very good. The rooms are uniform in quality; there are no "clunkers". reliable internet is free.

There is just something pleasant and inviting about the Ayres that is hard to find in the land of sterile and characterless motels. I have never had a bad stay there.

Room Tip: The rooms are remarkably uniform. There may be a bit of noise if your room is just above the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Seal Beach, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Michael S -

We are pleased to be so reliable! Thank you so much for giving us the chance to be by making us your choice of hotel in the area. We are always thrilled to learn we have been consistent in providing comfortable accommodations and efficient, warm service. We look forward to hosting you the next time you visit your parents. Thank you for your recommendation!

Sincerely,

Bill Dolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    261
    81
    23
    12
    5
See reviews for
129
85
21
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Maria, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

It was busy, so somewhat loud, but other than that, they have a decent breakfast, and nice spacious rooms. I stay here regularly and am never disappointed by this hotel. Even though it's right off the 405, I rarely hear street noise at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Ayres Hotel is a treat we give ourselves a few times each year. It is clean and comfortable. The staff is wonderful and treat us like family. My favorites:Relaxing in the wonderful courtyard that makes you feel like you are in a European Garden; and the classic Southern California beach town - Main Street in Seal Beach. We never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Seal Beach, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Amafina G -

What a kind review! Thank you so much for allowing us to be your special indulgence during the year. To know we have earned such loyal guests is heartwarming and we are beyond grateful for your continued patronage. We appreciate you making us your choice of hotel in the area and look forward to welcoming you during your next little getaway.

Warm regards,

Bill Dolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

First stay at this hotel and very much enjoyed the experience. Room was large, clean and comfortable and fit four easily. Very good breakfast although no decaf coffee. We had a drip in the shower which was promptly fixed. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipomo Ca
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The hotel was a Christmas wish come true. A long drive to relatives and a busy reunion with family. What a dream to close out the day and prep for the long road home. Tops in service, comfort in room and wonderful breakfast to send us on our way.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We arrive close to midnight check in was flawless. We had requested a higher floor room and our request was fulfilled. Staff were extremely pleasant and efficient. Room was large, clean.and very comfortable. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed at the Ayres on Business for a Night in November. Wonderful location at Seal beach close to some real good shops and eating joints.

Had a wonderful breakfast with a Live Counter and an excellent spread. They also have an enticing evening reception with lots to eat and drink.

Had a real snuggy large room and the linen and carpets smelt fresh. Internet speed was OK and did use this extensively as I had a lot of work to catch up.

There was quite a lot of construction activity going on nearby which made driving in and out a little difficuly but I did not mind!

This also turned out to be a successful trip and that will make the memories even better!

Ravi

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ayres Hotel Seal Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel Seal Beach

Also Known As:
Ayres Seal Beach
Seal Beach Ayres Hotel
Address: 12850 Seal Beach Boulevard, Seal Beach, CA 90740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Seal Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Seal Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayres Hotel Seal Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ayres Hotel Seal Beach! Whether you’re here for a short business visit or a long, relaxing retreat, you’ll find all of the luxurious, European-inspired guest rooms at Ayres Hotel Seal Beach are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and WiFi, iHomes, hairdryers, and curved shower rods. And every morning you will start your day right with our complimentary full American breakfast.Our unique Seal Beach, CA location means you can discover the many distinct shops, art galleries, gift stores, and dining attractions on Main Street. Close by is the city of Long Beach, offering an array of entertainment venues including the Queen Mary or the Aquarium of the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Milestone Internet Marketing, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ayres Hotel Seal Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayres Hotel Seal Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.