We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Respite from the Ruckus!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley to your Saves list
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6001 La Madrona Dr., Scotts Valley, CA 95060   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Family Fun Package
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Scotts Valley
Oakland, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Respite from the Ruckus!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

While my granddaughter and I truly enjoyed the beach and the excitement of the Santa Cruz Boardwalk, at the end of the day, I was soooooo relieved to leave it behind and head to the wooded retreat of the Hilton in Scott's Valley. Our room was clean and quiet, the pool and hot tub were very enjoyable, and we had a great time just relaxing and reading on the mezzanine level. I look forward to another opportunity to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    178
    76
    26
    11
See reviews for
176
155
29
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

When we first arrived we were thoroughly impressed with the nice view and scenery all around. Our room was on the 4th floor and we had a good view of the adjacent parking lot from our balcony.

The first impression of the room was okay. The furniture and inventory were state of the art with a decent TV, tiny fridge and a microwave. Our room had a sink in the room in addition to the one in the bathroom. Upon arrival the sink was blocked and therefore unusable. The hotel has taken care of it on the next day with the result of a remaining sewage odour hanging over our room. This had fortunately passed the day after.

What had also passed the day after was our ownership of a pair of sunglasses and a couple of pieces of fruit that we had purchased on the day we arrived. It is fairly obvious that these items had been removed by housekeeping, since no one but ourselves and hotel personnel have had access to our room. If you look at other reviews here you will find that it is not an isolated case where food left in the room has gone missing. After talking to the person on the front desk I was informed that housekeeping sometimes mistakenly assumes people had checked out and they then collect the remaining items to lost and found. While I think that bags and clothes being left behind are a decisive indicator for people not having left I gave the benefit of the doubt. On the next day I returned to the front desk to ask for my sunglasses and all I got in return was "I am sorry". This is an unacceptable way to treat your guests. Especially at north of $220 per night. If allegations like this arise I do not understand why the guest is the one being held in doubt. I understand that hotels need to protect their employees but they have some kind of responsibility towards guaranteeing the safety of their guests and their belongings. It cannot be that mistakenly leaving something on the night table ultimately leads to the loss of said item.

The pool area is fairly small for a hotel in California and therefore very busy at most times. It offers complimentary towels and a very nice hot tub though.

There is ample parking space available.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

What a nice hotel! After staying at six different hotels this summer, all Hilton brand, this was my favorite. The location is nice. About a five to ten minute drive to shopping plazas, close to Felton, near Henry Cowell Redwoods State Park, and even not too far away from Big Basin Redwoods State Park. We were able to get to our room promptly after a quick check-in. The room was clean, with a pretty classic design. What makes this place a five star stay was the outdoor pool overlooking the forest, the balcony, the restaurant, the nice fish tank while waiting for the elevator at the lobby, and the overall design of the hotel. For the one night we stayed here, I decided to spend it relaxing at the pool at night. It was surprisingly crowded with kids. It wasn't too annoying being with them but it probably would have been a little nicer without them there. Anyway, the pool overall is nice plus there's a Jacuzzi. I must say though living by the Gulf of Mexico in Florida made the pool a little uncomfortable considering I was in the pool at night in about 60 degree weather. But I must say that the pool was at least somewhat heated. My only negatives here was the slow Wi-Fi (not specifically this Hilton but all Hiltons have slow Wi-Fi), even though we're Hilton Honors Gold Members we only got two free continental breakfast vouchers even though there were three of us, and the pool did not have shower to wash the choline off (is that only a Florida thing?). The hotel also has the best and largest selection of TV channels I have ever seen in a hotel. They have DirecTV with an actual guide and tons of HD channels. Overall, I had a great stay and would love to return!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sedona
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

There is so much lacking at this hotel in comparison to what you would normally find at a Hilton Property, I am actually taken aback.

First, this is my second stay. Housekeeping on both occassions threw away baggies that I use for both my jewelery and toilet articles for packing. I'm a business traveler and this has only happened in all my years of travel at this hotel. The front desk did have a someone bring me up 10-15 baggies tonight, but that this happened is absurd. The Housekeeping staff definitely needs to be trained better.

This is a no smoking property EXCEPT for an ashtray placed outside a door leading into the 4th Floor rooms and just outside the pool. REALLY? How disgusting to have people smoking outside the pool. And the cigarette smoke (during my last stay) actually came into my room on the 4th floor as the ashtray is just outside a well trafficked door.

I was given the wrong room number when I first checked into my room. I was on 5th floor, and actually had a cart I was pushing along the maze of hallways in order to get to the 5th floor rooms. There is only one elevator so by the time I got to my room, I was very frustrated when I found the keys did not work. When the bellman brought me replacement keys I learned I was at the wrong room. I was compensated with a $20 credit at the restaurant.

Ah, but the restaurant. I ordered vegetables without butter as I cannot eat butter; it makes me physically sick. When my order arrived, my vegetables were cooked with butter. And the salmon portion was abysmal.

There is no maintenance staff at the hotel after 6pm. This is a large property; if something goes wrong, there is no-one here to help. This is unprecedented.

The clock in my room was 45 minutes off. Hilton Hotels require a special screw driver for resetting the time so I had to call to have a bellman come up and do this for me. This is something that should be on a check list for every guest change over.

I had purchased 3 apples; I only have 2 left in my fridge. I'm willing to place bets: Someone from Housekeeping took it.

Scotts Valley has very little healthy food restaurants to choose from. I ended up driving to New Leaf Market and getting some great food to go (closer to River Street). Next time I come into town I will be staying in that area.

If you are traveling on business, I wouldn't recommend this hotel. There are families with screaming children (running down halls, pushing all the elevator buttons so that when the elevator does finally arrive you now have to stop at every floor) Why parents allow this type of behaviour is beyond me.

I'm usually not this disdainful about a familes with children. I'm truly not. I'm just weary after a really frustrating stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

For all the hype about this place, our two day visit turned out to be a let down. The exterior is great, looks like a castle. But that hides a run-of-the-mill hotel. There is absolutely nothing special or extraordinary about this place. The rooms are pedestrian, bland, and give no sense of luxury. The restaurant has a minimalist menu with rather small portions for the price. The staff (desk and restaurant) are not particularly welcoming and do nothing to make one feel "special." In fact, when I asked what "perks" I would get as a "Hilton Honors" member, I was handed two small bottles of water. That was it. By-the-way, no one tells you that if you book through any method other than directly with hotel or with Hilton, you don't get Hilton Honors credit. Bah Humbug. A cut above Motel 6 but not much of a cut.

Room Tip: Do not book through a third party vendor. The best rooms go to those who book directly. And you do n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Upon our arrival, the staff (Joe) was very nice and checked us in a little early. The room itself was a different story. When we entered the bathroom, we noticed that the maids had left the soap in the shower, covered with hair, from the previous guests. We called the front desk, and they immediately sent someone up to clean the tub and shower. The next day when we returned from our day out, the bed had been made, but that was about all. They maids left empty shampoo bottles in the shower, did not empty the trash, didn't vacuum the room or wipe down the furniture, didn't restock cups that we had used, and didn't put a new liner in the ice bucket. I'm a Hilton Honors member, and expect more from Hilton. On the plus side, the staff (Joe again, in particular) responded as well as one could expect. He comped us a couple of desserts to help make up for our dissatisfaction. Unfortunately, room service took three tries to get our order correct. The beds were less than comfy, as it was the first time I have ever woken up in the middle of the night with my hip sore from sleeping on my side.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the hilton in July during our travel down from San Fransisco.. We hadn't booked and just popped in as booking.com had said there was availability at a good price.. When we arrived at reception we were told there was availability but at double the price!! So we went outside and booked via our phone and it came up instantly on their system. After that I can't praise the staff at this hotel highly enough! They have us a choice of rooms and views. The hilton is a little further out from the main drag but the setting is great.
The rooms were clean and tidy.
We had dinner in the restaurant which tasted amazing. Overall a great place to stay for a night.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley

Address: 6001 La Madrona Dr., Scotts Valley, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Scotts Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Scotts Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley Hotel Santa Cruz
Hilton Hotel Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.