We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique experience but fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scotia Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scotia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Scotia Inn
Save
You added Scotia Inn to your Saves list
100 Main Street, Scotia, CA 95562   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Scotia B&B and Inns
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unique experience but fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Checked in at the bar and had dinner and drinks, huge room. Seemed like a dorm room but very cool experience staying there. Nice tv, clean hotel, breakfast upstairs and friendly service. Would recommend at least a stay of a night

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    31
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Martinez, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I stopped by the lumber town of Scotia and found this wonderful 1920"s hotel called the Scotia Inn. We loved the look of this hotel, with pretty grounds and a very friendly staff. We asked to see a room and were given a key to one of their rooms. A large room with an antique bed and dresser. So pretty. We made reservations for the night in another location, but we will be back. We did go downstairs to a pub and bar for our dinner and we completely enjoyed our drinks and evening meal. Good food, good drinks and a friendly staff. Worth coming back to when we travel north again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

If you are in the area, this is a nice place to stay overnight. My wife and I stayed overnight for a friend of the family wedding. The Hotel grounds are lovely, and the hotel is pet friendly. We stayed in room 221, its not very close to the lobby but it is very quiet. The room had a King bed and a second queen bed. The room is very clean. Shower and Bath area is a bit on the small side but still comfortable and done in an antique style. The Inn is every bit good as advertised, looks just like the pictures on the Internet. The staff are very friendly and very accomodating. We were pleased with our stay.

Room Tip: stay away from the lobby/dining area, tends to be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Great place to stay. Quiet, comfortable and historical. Perfect spot to launch to the Avenue of the Giants. Dinner in the pub with Lagunitas on tap made me very happy. Kid's menu a plus. Breakfast of fresh baked scones, coffee and fruit was just right to get us on our way to see the big trees.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Well that's what I heard. I went looking but could not find any ghosts. They do close the third floor though. Anyway we had a street view and this town is quiet at night. Very old fashioned style room. Built before the turn of the last century with beautiful woods all about in the lobby and event rooms. Must have been a grand place in it's day. We had Wifi and a TV but you can request none of those things. Spacious room and bathroom. #207 If you like old fashioned and not to perfect and a high price this is it. We liked it a lot. Can't wait to go back and meet Casper!

Room Tip: Only certain rooms have wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross Ca.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in this Inn at the end of a three month ROADTRIP. The Inn has seen better days and the rooms are in need of some updating. With this said I still gave it four dots because of it's history and the fact that I love to support the older hotels and Inns even though they are past their prime. If someone purchased this Inn and did a major upgrade, the rooms would go for $ 259.00 and not $. 129.00. I slept just fine. Also the pub serves VERY good food. Do not be put off by the way it looks when you walk into the room. The food was a BIG surprise and at a nice price with great service.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

August 5, 2013
We enjoyed a wonderful getaway just at the time we need it. Memories of the past when mills were running constantly beckoned me to revisit Scotia. From the moment we made our reservation until we said goodbye two days later it was wonderful, perfect weather, excellent service with freedom to learn about the deeper past history of this "Company town." I was not ready for the museum that was so carefully cared for with exhibits and information from the docent. There is much to experience in the outlying area including the town of Lolita which is actually growing. It must be experienced! It is still possible to experience something of the great redwood forests that fed the world with such beautiful wood products. The Avenue of the Giants will give us a portrait of ancient time when one could hardly walk among them. Today they are adjacent to the old Redwood highway but surprising quiet. Lingering for at least an half hour heightens the experience. One should read up on the history of Scotia before arriving. It is rich in accessible history. Yes, there are a few amenities lacking but all the more interesting to live at least something of the life that was lived by the loggers , sawyers and especially a small town cinema house, all built from first growth redwood much older than any visitor! I really enjoyed photographs in the hallways that depicted the early days of the Pacific Lumber Company.

Room Tip: Trust the desk clerk to give the best.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scotia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotia Inn

Address: 100 Main Street, Scotia, CA 95562
Location: United States > California > Scotia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Scotia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Scotia Hotel Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scotia Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.