We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Quaint/Historic Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scotia Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scotia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Scotia Inn
100 Main Street, Scotia, CA 95562   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Scotia B&B and Inns
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Quaint/Historic Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

If you are in the area, this is a nice place to stay overnight. My wife and I stayed overnight for a friend of the family wedding. The Hotel grounds are lovely, and the hotel is pet friendly. We stayed in room 221, its not very close to the lobby but it is very quiet. The room had a King bed and a second queen bed. The room is very clean. Shower and Bath area is a bit on the small side but still comfortable and done in an antique style. The Inn is every bit good as advertised, looks just like the pictures on the Internet. The staff are very friendly and very accomodating. We were pleased with our stay.

Room Tip: stay away from the lobby/dining area, tends to be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    25
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
24
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Great place to stay. Quiet, comfortable and historical. Perfect spot to launch to the Avenue of the Giants. Dinner in the pub with Lagunitas on tap made me very happy. Kid's menu a plus. Breakfast of fresh baked scones, coffee and fruit was just right to get us on our way to see the big trees.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Well that's what I heard. I went looking but could not find any ghosts. They do close the third floor though. Anyway we had a street view and this town is quiet at night. Very old fashioned style room. Built before the turn of the last century with beautiful woods all about in the lobby and event rooms. Must have been a grand place in it's day. We had Wifi and a TV but you can request none of those things. Spacious room and bathroom. #207 If you like old fashioned and not to perfect and a high price this is it. We liked it a lot. Can't wait to go back and meet Casper!

Room Tip: Only certain rooms have wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross Ca.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in this Inn at the end of a three month ROADTRIP. The Inn has seen better days and the rooms are in need of some updating. With this said I still gave it four dots because of it's history and the fact that I love to support the older hotels and Inns even though they are past their prime. If someone purchased this Inn and did a major upgrade, the rooms would go for $ 259.00 and not $. 129.00. I slept just fine. Also the pub serves VERY good food. Do not be put off by the way it looks when you walk into the room. The food was a BIG surprise and at a nice price with great service.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

August 5, 2013
We enjoyed a wonderful getaway just at the time we need it. Memories of the past when mills were running constantly beckoned me to revisit Scotia. From the moment we made our reservation until we said goodbye two days later it was wonderful, perfect weather, excellent service with freedom to learn about the deeper past history of this "Company town." I was not ready for the museum that was so carefully cared for with exhibits and information from the docent. There is much to experience in the outlying area including the town of Lolita which is actually growing. It must be experienced! It is still possible to experience something of the great redwood forests that fed the world with such beautiful wood products. The Avenue of the Giants will give us a portrait of ancient time when one could hardly walk among them. Today they are adjacent to the old Redwood highway but surprising quiet. Lingering for at least an half hour heightens the experience. One should read up on the history of Scotia before arriving. It is rich in accessible history. Yes, there are a few amenities lacking but all the more interesting to live at least something of the life that was lived by the loggers , sawyers and especially a small town cinema house, all built from first growth redwood much older than any visitor! I really enjoyed photographs in the hallways that depicted the early days of the Pacific Lumber Company.

Room Tip: Trust the desk clerk to give the best.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is a quaint hotel centrally located near the Redwoods and coastal areas of Northern California. The managers have tried to retain the atmosphere of a nineteenth century building which it is, with antiques and appointments of that era throughout. But there are some shortcomings and idiosyncrasies that one must expect or at least be aware of given the age of the property.

The windows are single pane and if you happen to be in any of the front-facing rooms the street noise is constant. Main street on which the hotel is located is the only way to enter Scotia so all traffic into and out of town passes by this hotel. Ask for rooms in the back or sides.

Adjacent to the east side of the hotel is a lovely grassy area with huge trees for shade. Eventhough this is part of the hotel there are no chairs or tables provided by which the quests can utilize this inviting area!

Breakfast is provided but it is sparse to say the most. The only beverage provided is coffee; no fruit, cereal, juice. Only bagels. Given the price of a room I think management could do a little better here.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front get street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Weary travellers would love this historical Inn. we were heading back to San fran on the coastal road and were at the end of our travels. We were thrilled to find such an interesting Inn, full of history and we felt comfortable straight away. Especially as the bar had a relaxed feeling and the food was delicious. The staff were unobtrusive but helpful and friendly. Breakfast scones were spot on and generous. Beds comfortable and we had a very quiet night's sleep. No airconditioning but window opened and we felt safe. So close to the main road it was easy to find but the noise of the main road was not heard. Clean towels and rooms. Ample space. The local shops and cinema were fascinating and we felt safe walking around in the evening. Definite stay next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Scotia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotia Inn

Also Known As:
Scotia Hotel Scotia
Scotia Hotel
Address: 100 Main Street, Scotia, CA 95562
Location: United States > California > Scotia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Scotia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scotia Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Scotia Inn to your Saves list