We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revisiting an experienced past.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scotia Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scotia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Scotia Inn
Save Saved
You added Scotia Inn to your Saves list
100 Main Street, Scotia, CA 95562   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Scotia B&B and Inns
Sacramento CA
1 review
“Revisiting an experienced past.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

August 5, 2013
We enjoyed a wonderful getaway just at the time we need it. Memories of the past when mills were running constantly beckoned me to revisit Scotia. From the moment we made our reservation until we said goodbye two days later it was wonderful, perfect weather, excellent service with freedom to learn about the deeper past history of this "Company town." I was not ready for the museum that was so carefully cared for with exhibits and information from the docent. There is much to experience in the outlying area including the town of Lolita which is actually growing. It must be experienced! It is still possible to experience something of the great redwood forests that fed the world with such beautiful wood products. The Avenue of the Giants will give us a portrait of ancient time when one could hardly walk among them. Today they are adjacent to the old Redwood highway but surprising quiet. Lingering for at least an half hour heightens the experience. One should read up on the history of Scotia before arriving. It is rich in accessible history. Yes, there are a few amenities lacking but all the more interesting to live at least something of the life that was lived by the loggers , sawyers and especially a small town cinema house, all built from first growth redwood much older than any visitor! I really enjoyed photographs in the hallways that depicted the early days of the Pacific Lumber Company.

Room Tip: Trust the desk clerk to give the best.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    30
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is a quaint hotel centrally located near the Redwoods and coastal areas of Northern California. The managers have tried to retain the atmosphere of a nineteenth century building which it is, with antiques and appointments of that era throughout. But there are some shortcomings and idiosyncrasies that one must expect or at least be aware of given the age of the property.

The windows are single pane and if you happen to be in any of the front-facing rooms the street noise is constant. Main street on which the hotel is located is the only way to enter Scotia so all traffic into and out of town passes by this hotel. Ask for rooms in the back or sides.

Adjacent to the east side of the hotel is a lovely grassy area with huge trees for shade. Eventhough this is part of the hotel there are no chairs or tables provided by which the quests can utilize this inviting area!

Breakfast is provided but it is sparse to say the most. The only beverage provided is coffee; no fruit, cereal, juice. Only bagels. Given the price of a room I think management could do a little better here.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front get street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Weary travellers would love this historical Inn. we were heading back to San fran on the coastal road and were at the end of our travels. We were thrilled to find such an interesting Inn, full of history and we felt comfortable straight away. Especially as the bar had a relaxed feeling and the food was delicious. The staff were unobtrusive but helpful and friendly. Breakfast scones were spot on and generous. Beds comfortable and we had a very quiet night's sleep. No airconditioning but window opened and we felt safe. So close to the main road it was easy to find but the noise of the main road was not heard. Clean towels and rooms. Ample space. The local shops and cinema were fascinating and we felt safe walking around in the evening. Definite stay next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We didn't know what to expect when we booked this inn for an overnight stop, Scotia itself is described as a place you stop on the way to somewhere else with little to recommend it. This historic building was obviously the place to stay in the logging heyday, would love to have visited then. Despite it's elegance, there seems to be something sad about the place - seemed empty, echoey (is that a word?!) and lacking staff, indeed it seemed that three girls were running around doing everything. We had one of the smaller Queen sized rooms which was perfectly fine and well furnished - the bed very comfortable, nice towels, good hot shower.

We ate at the pub - we had coconut shrimp, sweet potato fries and salad - delicious! good selection of beers, could do with better wine selection. Breakfast was coffee/tea/orangejuice; yoghurt; bagels; yummy fresh scones - a highlight! Would recommend as a very reasonable priced accommodation to explore the Eureka/Redwoods area.

Room Tip: We had a queen sized room at the rear of the property ?206 - it doesn't have wifi but there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I reserved a room at this dump over two months prior to visiting the area only to get an e-mail today telling me that there was an error in their online reservation system and that I will not be able to stay there during my visit despite getting a confirmation e-mail saying that I was good. Now I will have to scramble to make last minute reservations somewhere else for a trip coming up in 3 weeks during a major holiday weekend! DO NOT TRUST THIS PLACE, SPEND YOUR MONEY SOMEWHERE MORE RELIABLE!

Room Tip: Find somewhere else to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Inn is on the National Registry of Historical Buildings and it is easy to see that in its hey day it was quite a grand place to lodge. However, it has lost its appeal. This was our second stay and will be our last. During this stay our room was larger and therefore, very spacious. During each stay the room does not give one the feeling that it is clean. It is not a comfortable room. During this stay the wind made the windows bang all night long. Finally in the morning I investigated (granted I should have checked it while we were still awake) and found that the top window and the bottom window had about a one inch gap. I placed and magazine in that space and it was fixed. However, the other window was still noisy and when I placed another magazine there it fell though to the ground (we were on the 2nd floor). I then realized that the gap was actually open air. This might explain why parking lot conversations sounded like they were in our room. The nice lady who I retrieved from the pub upon check-in stated that each room now has WiFi as of yesterday. Not true! We shared our lack of ability to receive a signal and were told that only rooms 201-209 are able to utilize WiFi. There were only three other guests this time and about the same last time. Why we were given a room that does have WiFi I do not know. I think most of their business these days are from party's. There was a fund raiser auction while we were there and they were very loud, but gone by the time we were ready to sleep. The pub is a good place for a snack, burger, and/or drinks. The lobby is the best indication of it's legendary past-- high ceiling, beautiful logs and wood. The lodge is near Ferndale, a great little Victorian Village. It is close to Avenue of the Giants, which is where we stayed the next night. Our recommendation is that if you are considering this lodge a better alternative is The Benbow Inn. Yes, it is more expensive, but it is also on the Historical list and is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: If WiFi is of concern stay in a room between 201-209. Those rooms face the street, but it is pretty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stopped in the town of Scotia for lunch and found the Scotia Inn Pub. It is attached to the Inn and we were able to walk around the grounds. Everyone we encountered was very friendly and helpful. It felt like stepping back in time. The lobby was beautiful and we were invited to tour a few open rooms. Unfortunately, we did not have the time to tour, but from everything we saw it was well kept.

The pub was really good food with really big portions. I would definitely go back and recommend this establishment to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Scotia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotia Inn

Address: 100 Main Street, Scotia, CA 95562
Location: United States > California > Scotia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Scotia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Scotia Hotel Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scotia Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.