We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed the atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scotia Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Scotia Inn to your Saves list
Scotia Inn
100 Main Street, Scotia, CA 95562   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Scotia B&B and Inns
Haiku, Hi.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed the atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Scotia Inn is an old-fashioned kind of place but my husband and I loved it. Both the room and the bed were really large and comfortable, the pub had great food and we generally enjoyed staying in place that was not part of a chain. Scotia is a company town for the lumber company and is an interesting reflection of both the good and bad aspects of the redwood industry through the last 100 or so years. We found the whole experience fascinating.

Room Tip: We upstairs and had some difficulty getting our big bags up the stairway, but it was worth it once w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    33
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
29
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

When we arrived the place was all shut up so we rang the number on the door and a lovely lady opened the door and said that we would be the only guests but that we would be welcome to stay. The place itself is amazing, very old looking with lots of history. We were the only guests and had lots of fun looking around. The room itself was large, a bit outdated, but not too bad. Reasonable price. Breakfast was basic but fine.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The outside facade and gardens you are greeted with are beautiful. We (family of 4 (12 & 14 yr old)), arrived on a Sunday night. Everything was dead. We were one of only 4 rooms rented. We felt like we had the run of the place. When we got our key to our room, the woman at the front desk also gave us a key to the front door of the hotel in case no one was around. There is a nice little market right across the street with a deli to get sandwiches. We had dinner at the Pizza Factory in Rio Dell which is the town across the river about 2 minutes away. We had a 2 bedroom place which the kids loved because they had their own tv. I would sum it up as staying at your grandmother's house. Lots of lace & antiques. Breakfast in the morning was average. Coffee, juice, bagels, yogurt. Wifi was very poor in our room(farthest away from lobby)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This Place has BIG history with the California Logging Industry. They have kept the Hotel alive with much of that history plus, it's right in the very town and area where the mill is. You can see the mill and a walk through the town is where the mill employees and their families lived.
We enjoyed our one night stay and they are pet friendly. They have a very nice garden area and a walk aroung the town shows that they want to keep the essence of their past alive. the rooms are great and claw bathtubs with brass shower hardware is really unique. My wife, Queenie our Chihuahua and I give the Inn a big thumbs-up! enjoy
P.S. They have what looks like a very nice eatery on the first floor of the Inn which you can check out on their website. we ate at Chapela's Mexican Rest. in Eureka before arriving--Great Place, one of our favorites in the area

Room Tip: Don't forget your camera
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindenhurst, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

What an impression the Scotia Inn makes as you arrive. It is beautifully manicured and the lobby is magnificent. Staff was very friendly and check-in process was quick. If you enjoy historic places, you will love the victorian/ antique appointments to the rooms. Room itself was quite large as was the bathroom with a beautiful claw foot bathtub. We had a king size bed that was comfortable and slept well. We loved walking around and exploring the hotel. Huge banquet rooms, hallways with interesting pictures that show the history of the Pacific Lumber Mill across the street which built the structure for its workers as living quarters, and fitness center (we didn't use however). There is also an on-site pub with good food at reasonable prices. Continental breakfast had simple offerings: coffee, tea, fruits, yogurt, oatmeal, and delicious scones. We travel with our two dogs and they are pet friendly with area to walk and doggie bags provided. A great place to stay and we would again if traveling in the area. Added benefit is that it is five miles to the Avenue of the Giants.

Room Tip: Since this is a historic place, note that there is no elevator so you will need to carry luggage up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We arrived on a Sunday night, for a two night stay, and apparently this is a weekend hotel. They do not have staff at the hotel around the clock. There is a number to call if you need assistance. When you call, it will be at least thirty minutes before you can get on premises assistance. We were told that breakfast would be out by 7 am. On Tuesday, at 7:10, we called and were told by this staff member that it was her day off and that the some staff member would be there by 7:30. So we packed our car first …and as a side note, they say there is no elevator at the hotel and that there is assistance to carry luggage, no one offered to help carry luggage on check in, and no was there at check out, so plan on carrying your own bags. When the staff arrived at 7:30, we asked how long it would be before she could get out breakfast. She replied that she was really coming in early, and that she would have to preheat the oven and cook the sweet rolls, so about 30 minutes. We took a juice and left. This is not a cheap place to stay and we expected it more for the money.

Room Tip: away from main st, windows rattle every time a truck goes over the brick cross walk in front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Stayed 2 nights here. I can say WOW, a very beautiful hotel. Clean, wonderful friendly staff. The pub ( restaurant) in the hotel, excellent, quality food without the price. enjoyed the stay and the town, and the friendly people here. Will return again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scotia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotia Inn

Address: 100 Main Street, Scotia, CA 95562
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Scotia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Scotia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Scotia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotia Hotel Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scotia Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.