We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quaint old place, well worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sausalito

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sausalito
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Sausalito
16 El Portal, Sausalito, CA 94965   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Sausalito
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
300 helpful votes 300 helpful votes
“A Quaint old place, well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is not the usual sort of place I would stay, but it was good. Like stepping back through time in many respects. Very quaint property in a good central location, with many restaurants around. I would recommend to stay here, I was only there for one night but enjoyed it and would return .

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    53
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
14
97
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Hotel Sausalito has a unique, European feel and is perfectly located downtown off the ferry docks. We stayed in a lovely and spacious room facing the main street, which was surprisingly quiet at night (the town pretty much shuts down by 8 pm). The room was very clean and included Bee Kind bath products which were nicer than what I've seen elsewhere. We enjoyed talking to the staff at the front desk, especially Billy who kept us laughing each day. As for parking, there is a lot within steps of the hotel and you can arrange to leave your car there during your stay as it's easy to walk anywhere in town for shopping, dinner, or sightseeing. To keep the European feel going, the hotel provided vouchers for the cafe next door to have a coffee and pastry each morning. We would definitely stay here again and next time would take advantage of its great location near the ferry to avoid driving into San Francisco. All in all this is a great find with quality rooms, service, and a location that can't be beat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great hotel and a brilliant location right in the heart of the town and next to the ferry. The rooms were a good size and very clean. The decor is very well done and we loved our stay here a few months ago now. Having stayed in San Fran on a couple of occasions we were keen to stay in Sausalito and we did not regret it one minute, despite the town being very quiet at night which made the choice of food feel a bit limited. The Scottish owner was excellent despite being a Rangers fan and yes, my wife still has the $1 coin, thank you very much. Going next door for breakfast was good and this works well for all guests. Complimentary water and wifi were much appreciated and the team were very helpful in organising the parking over the road which is not any bother at all. Would love to go back and would certainly stay here again, a really great stay which was at the end of a 15 day break and therefore really finished things up well for us both....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Sausalito the first week of October, 2012. I was delightfully surprised to see how quaint and pretty this hotel was. It met my full expectation and then some. You are steps away from the ferry to San Francisco and you are a block from boutiques, restaurants and coffee shops. This hotel resembles a B&B. We did have some bad luck when the fire alarm went off for two hours from 7:15 pm to about 9:15 pm. But, the owner was there apologizing, and was hands on attempting to disarm the alarm. The firemen and police couldn't fix the issue, either. After working on this for two hours, Billy stayed at the hotel all night, and was chipper working the front desk the next morning! I give him credit for making the best of the situation. He extended a refund for the night's stay. I would stay at this hotel with every visit to San Francisco. It certainly beats staying in the large city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were glad we stayed at the Sausalito Hotel. It was fun to be in the middle of the action and was quiet enough at night . The hotel is not fancy but we enjoyed the location. It reminded me of parts of coastal Italy. We caught the ferry to San Francisco for the day and because we are seniors it was a very good deal. We enjoyed the restaurants and had some very good ice cream. Our favourite restaurant was Pojo's (?) on the main drag, Weird but true; we could not find a magazine anywhere downtown.
Try the hotel. It is more affordable than the few others in town.

Room Tip: All rooms seem quite equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel this past weekend. It was amazing they have everything you need from complimentary water to wonderful service. You are steps away from the ferry to San Fran and all the sites in the town. They also give you breakfast voucher to the cafe next door which is amazing! It has great food or breakfast as well as lunch. Great job to the staff for the outstanding cleanliness to the service! I will definitely be back

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had 5 nights at this beautiful place. You literally come off the ferry from San Francisco and land on it's front door. The rooms are really clean, spacious and well decorated. The hotel offers free bottles of water and fruit which is lovely and you get a breakfast voucher for the cafe downstairs.
We found the canny Scotsman owner and his daughter a real treat. They were very obliging and made us feel really welcome.
I dare say you won't find a more convenient and value for money hotel in Sausalito.
Top marks

Room Tip: We has the Sausalito double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sausalito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sausalito

Address: 16 El Portal, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sausalito is a historic building in the middle of downtown Sausalito. Built in 1915, the mission style building stands in the heart of Sausalito over looking Vina Del Mar Park. After a complete renovation in 1996, Hotel Sausalito is decorated with custom made wrought iron bed frames, faux finsh walls in 3 warm colors and art work that helps compliment the feel of having a little of the French Riviera in Sausalito. With 14 bedrooms and 2 suites, this romantic Hotel is the perfect place to stay for business or pleasure. All rates include a continental breakfast at Caffe Tutti, right next door to the Hotel. Guests park in the City parking lot adjacent to the Hotel, for a fee of $15.00 per day. Family owned and run, gives Hotel Sausalito a personal touch. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sausalito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Sausalito to your Saves list