We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint hotel, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sausalito

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sausalito
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Sausalito
16 El Portal, Sausalito, CA 94965   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Sausalito
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Quaint hotel, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Sausalito the first week of October, 2012. I was delightfully surprised to see how quaint and pretty this hotel was. It met my full expectation and then some. You are steps away from the ferry to San Francisco and you are a block from boutiques, restaurants and coffee shops. This hotel resembles a B&B. We did have some bad luck when the fire alarm went off for two hours from 7:15 pm to about 9:15 pm. But, the owner was there apologizing, and was hands on attempting to disarm the alarm. The firemen and police couldn't fix the issue, either. After working on this for two hours, Billy stayed at the hotel all night, and was chipper working the front desk the next morning! I give him credit for making the best of the situation. He extended a refund for the night's stay. I would stay at this hotel with every visit to San Francisco. It certainly beats staying in the large city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    53
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
14
97
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were glad we stayed at the Sausalito Hotel. It was fun to be in the middle of the action and was quiet enough at night . The hotel is not fancy but we enjoyed the location. It reminded me of parts of coastal Italy. We caught the ferry to San Francisco for the day and because we are seniors it was a very good deal. We enjoyed the restaurants and had some very good ice cream. Our favourite restaurant was Pojo's (?) on the main drag, Weird but true; we could not find a magazine anywhere downtown.
Try the hotel. It is more affordable than the few others in town.

Room Tip: All rooms seem quite equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel this past weekend. It was amazing they have everything you need from complimentary water to wonderful service. You are steps away from the ferry to San Fran and all the sites in the town. They also give you breakfast voucher to the cafe next door which is amazing! It has great food or breakfast as well as lunch. Great job to the staff for the outstanding cleanliness to the service! I will definitely be back

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had 5 nights at this beautiful place. You literally come off the ferry from San Francisco and land on it's front door. The rooms are really clean, spacious and well decorated. The hotel offers free bottles of water and fruit which is lovely and you get a breakfast voucher for the cafe downstairs.
We found the canny Scotsman owner and his daughter a real treat. They were very obliging and made us feel really welcome.
I dare say you won't find a more convenient and value for money hotel in Sausalito.
Top marks

Room Tip: We has the Sausalito double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Arriving late in San Francisco from the East coast, the short drive across the bridge to Sausalito was perfect. And the Hotel Sausalito was just as perfect! Our room was small but nicely decorated, spotless and very cozy. The friendly front desk person gave us good suggestions and directions for an evening snack. And what a treat to wake up and look out over the Bay! We had nice coffee and pastries from the excellent coffee shop next door (a voucher comes with the room). After a nice morning chat with the very congenial, imported from Scotland, owner, we had a great walk along the waterfront before check out. We decided that when we return to SF, this is the place to stay and use the 'commuter' ferry outside the door for visiting the city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Wonderful boutique hotel. Was concerned at first that it might be noisy due to proximity to parking lot, ferry and main street. I couldn't have been more wrong. The hotel was very quiet and charming. Reminded us so much of our trip to Europe. We walked around downtown before walking to The Spinnaker restaurant for dinner. The views across the Bay make it better (and far less expensive) than staying in SF. Highly recommended! Also, you receive a coupon for free coffee and pastry at Tutti's right next door. The coupon can be applied toward a full breakfast, if your prefer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

My wife and I have been in San Francisco several times, and each time before we stayed in SF or near Fisherman's Wharf. I discovered the Hotel Sausaltio here on Tripadvisor and noted it was steps away from the ferries to Fisherman's Wharf. My wife and I loved this little hotel. Our room overlooked the water front. The sun was always shinning and the morning Fog cloaking Alcatraz and SF was never a bother. There are great restaurants close by, use TA for the reviews. Sausalito is rather quiet at night, so we kept the windows open and enjoyed the breeze off of the water. The owner, middle aged Scotsman's is often behind the counter in the morning and he and his staff are very friendly and ensured all our needs were addressed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front of the hotel for the view of the harbor and to watch for the ferry
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sausalito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sausalito

Address: 16 El Portal, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sausalito is a historic building in the middle of downtown Sausalito. Built in 1915, the mission style building stands in the heart of Sausalito over looking Vina Del Mar Park. After a complete renovation in 1996, Hotel Sausalito is decorated with custom made wrought iron bed frames, faux finsh walls in 3 warm colors and art work that helps compliment the feel of having a little of the French Riviera in Sausalito. With 14 bedrooms and 2 suites, this romantic Hotel is the perfect place to stay for business or pleasure. All rates include a continental breakfast at Caffe Tutti, right next door to the Hotel. Guests park in the City parking lot adjacent to the Hotel, for a fee of $15.00 per day. Family owned and run, gives Hotel Sausalito a personal touch. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sausalito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Sausalito to your Saves list