We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem Across the Bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sausalito

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sausalito to your Saves list
Hotel Sausalito
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 El Portal, Sausalito, CA 94965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Gem Across the Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Wonderful boutique hotel. Was concerned at first that it might be noisy due to proximity to parking lot, ferry and main street. I couldn't have been more wrong. The hotel was very quiet and charming. Reminded us so much of our trip to Europe. We walked around downtown before walking to The Spinnaker restaurant for dinner. The views across the Bay make it better (and far less expensive) than staying in SF. Highly recommended! Also, you receive a coupon for free coffee and pastry at Tutti's right next door. The coupon can be applied toward a full breakfast, if your prefer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    68
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
18
117
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

My wife and I have been in San Francisco several times, and each time before we stayed in SF or near Fisherman's Wharf. I discovered the Hotel Sausaltio here on Tripadvisor and noted it was steps away from the ferries to Fisherman's Wharf. My wife and I loved this little hotel. Our room overlooked the water front. The sun was always shinning and the morning Fog cloaking Alcatraz and SF was never a bother. There are great restaurants close by, use TA for the reviews. Sausalito is rather quiet at night, so we kept the windows open and enjoyed the breeze off of the water. The owner, middle aged Scotsman's is often behind the counter in the morning and he and his staff are very friendly and ensured all our needs were addressed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front of the hotel for the view of the harbor and to watch for the ferry
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, GA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here to end our trip to Sonoma and Napa. Our room overlooked a park and ferry and the Bay. We enjoyed a glass of wine in our room while enjoyed the city scene. Walked to dinner in the evening and the night was surprisingly quiet. Our pastry and coffee from Tuti's was good as well. Friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: We loved looked over the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Normally we stay in big chain hotels, but we wanted to be closer to San Francisco and not spend a lot more money. This was a great option. The hotel is very close to the water, we could see it from out room.

We arrived at 2:15 pm, knowing check-in was not until 3 pm. Our room was ready, so we were able to get settled. I was worried that with all of the activity outside of the hotel, that it would be noisy and we wouldn't be able to sleep. Once inside the room, it was quiet, you didn't hear street noise. We also never heard any of the other patrons, although we saw them. The room is small, but that is only in contrast to chain hotels, It was the size of a normal bedroom at home. The bathroom was NOT downsized. The shower was unique. There was a sky light in the bathroom that was brighter than any light.

The hotel gave us a voucher for food at the cafe next door. The food was good. Parking is $15 per day, but you can see it is at a premium in this area. If we were staying longer, then the come and go feature without added cost would have been even better. We were just glad to have a place to park.

A few questionable issues: I thought the room had a funky smell when we first entered, but it resolved. So it may have been because it was closed up. The other is the ice machine. It is not a push button. I was getting ice just to keep something cold, not for drinking. You actually have to grab the scoop and scoop out the ice. When I did this, I returned the scoop to it's space with the handle sticking up. When I went back later, someone had placed the handle in a downward position. This meant that they had grabbed the scoop portion with their hand and now I had to do the same in order to get the scoop out for use. This is not sanitary, and I would NOT have wanted to put that ice in a drink.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms near the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed in the Park Room which was located at the end of the hotel. It had great views of the main street... excellent for people watching! The room itself was very comfortable and decorated impeccably! The Father/Daughter that own the place are Scottish and very friendly. Had a fantastic trip and stay in Sausalito thanks to this Hotel. Also, make sure to try the cafe located downstairs.... the best corned beef hash breakfast I have EVER had in my life!!!!!

Room Tip: There are 2 larger rooms at the far end of the hotel (all the was left when you come up the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed here for a few days over New Year 2011/12 and had a fabulous time. Owned by a Scotsman who made us very welcome and everyone was very helpful. Surrounded by great restaurants and a lots to see, we loved it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My son and I were in Marin for one night so a friend booked me a room here last minute. The location is perfect for walking around Marin and right next to the ferry if you want access to San Francisco. There isn't valet but parking is right across the street in a public lot (hotel charges 15$ per day)and you can pull up to temporary parking to check in and drop off bags. The staff are friendly and the room was well appointed with windows overlooking the ferry and fountain outside the hotel. The bed was super comfy with nice linens and the streets were quiet at night so yu could leave the windows open to sleep. All in all a pretty good value and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
0.1 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
1.3 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#3 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 stars 729 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
4.0 of 5 stars 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
3.1 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#2 of 6 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sausalito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sausalito

Address: 16 El Portal, Sausalito, CA 94965
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sausalito 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sausalito is a historic building in the middle of downtown Sausalito. Built in 1915, the mission style building stands in the heart of Sausalito over looking Vina Del Mar Park. After a complete renovation in 1996, Hotel Sausalito is decorated with custom made wrought iron bed frames, faux finsh walls in 3 warm colors and art work that helps compliment the feel of having a little of the French Riviera in Sausalito. With 14 bedrooms and 2 suites, this romantic Hotel is the perfect place to stay for business or pleasure. All rates include a continental breakfast at Caffe Tutti, right next door to the Hotel. Guests park in the City parking lot adjacent to the Hotel, for a fee of $15.00 per day. Family owned and run, gives Hotel Sausalito a personal touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sausalito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sausalito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.