We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sausalito

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sausalito
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Sausalito
Save
You added Hotel Sausalito to your Saves list
16 El Portal, Sausalito, CA 94965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

What a cozy and charming Hotel. It was a nice and relaxing place to stay.
Our room had a great View of the Bay one direction and a great view of the park the other direction. Even if this Hotel is located in the heart beat of Sausalito i could never here the noise. My Husband and I loved in the hall way every day a full bowl of fresh apples and bottled water. If you are looking for a clean and easy access to everything in walking distance Hotel Sausalito is a must. Enjoy....

Room Tip: Park View are the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    60
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
14
105
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed just a couple of nights on our way back to Australia after a two month drive around the US. We have been to Sausalito a few times but never stayed there.
This hotel is reasonable in price for the area and place just a little back from the waterfront with a great view of San Francisco across the bay.
Handy to great restaurants and bars and the owner, a Scottish Gentleman, provides a good laugh.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed here on spec after a long drive, rooms gorgeous, clean with mediterainian feel. ended up staying 2 nights! Sausalito is very pretty and quaint, lovely view over river and towards the golden Gate and Alcatraz. Ferry terminal 100 yards away, and a bus stops across the road which takes you into San Francisco for about 6 dollars, which I would recommend as parking in San Fran if very expensive, we got the bus there and the ferry back.Ferry goes past Alactraz so excellent view, of this and bridge.Hotel a bit pricy, but worth it for the comfort, you will get a voucher for breakfast to use in the cafe next door,only covers a % of it eg coffee and pastry, but is nice touch. If you want to go on Alcatraz book early as only one ferry company goes onto Island so they have a monopoly and it's almost impossible to get same day tickets.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Arrived very late and hadn't booked, but lucky enough to find vacancies at this hotel. Absolutely beautiful, decor, bathroom, bedroom - just lovely,with mediteranian feel. Immaculatley clean and extremely comfortable. Beds are high, you may need to vault on to them! Great stay, friendly staff. :)

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

If you are visiting San Francisco this is the place to stay. Its beautifully and quiet at night, you catch the ferry across the bay to the big city in the morning and then return in the evening to the peace and quiet of this lovely little town. Our room was perfect; very clean and comfortable with a great view over the little town square. The owners are friendly, helpful and interested in their guests. There is a superb Italian restaurant called Angelino's just around the corner and the town is well worth exploring - lots of history, very pretty, very interesting.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Good location in Sausalito, right next to the ferry to San Francisco.
Reasonable value accommodation, very nice funising, excellent bathroom.
Had a park view room which overlooked a car park and could be a bit noisy but overall a good place to stay.
Breakfast in cafe next door was good.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Although we stayed here over Memorial Weekend we did not have any problem finding a space in the public car park opposite the hotel, which is a $15 a day charge (you get a ticket from the hotel to display in the car window). All the staff are very friendly and the hotel is in the perfect position. The hotel provides complimentary water and apples and breakfast is in the coffee shop. Although the rooms are quite small ours had a large bathroom. We had chosen a room at the front which was not too noisy and we could sit at the window and watch the world go by. There is also free WiFi at this hotel.
The owner, Billy, has a great sense of humour and we had a lengthy chat with him about the English premier league which he follows closely.
Sausalito is a beautiful little town and worth visiting for a couple of days for a break from the hustle and bustle of San Francisco, and where better to stay than Hotel Sausalito?

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sausalito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sausalito

Address: 16 El Portal, Sausalito, CA 94965
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sausalito is a historic building in the middle of downtown Sausalito. Built in 1915, the mission style building stands in the heart of Sausalito over looking Vina Del Mar Park. After a complete renovation in 1996, Hotel Sausalito is decorated with custom made wrought iron bed frames, faux finsh walls in 3 warm colors and art work that helps compliment the feel of having a little of the French Riviera in Sausalito. With 14 bedrooms and 2 suites, this romantic Hotel is the perfect place to stay for business or pleasure. All rates include a continental breakfast at Caffe Tutti, right next door to the Hotel. Guests park in the City parking lot adjacent to the Hotel, for a fee of $15.00 per day. Family owned and run, gives Hotel Sausalito a personal touch. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sausalito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.