We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay, but wifi needs improvement” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   801 Bridgeway, Sausalito, CA 94965   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night Free
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
GreenLeadersSilver level
Silicon Valley, CA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Very nice stay, but wifi needs improvement”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed 1 night for a birthday getaway and really enjoyed our room, which was a hillside cottage with balcony and had a nice view of the docks. The bed was very comfortable with high-end linens, service was excellent, and they brought a duraflame log for the fireplace. Parking is valet-only, and they put your car across the street at $25 per day.

The only complaint I had was that the wifi bandwidth was unacceptable - less than 1 Mbps (actually about 800 kbps). If you were willing to pay an extra $10 per day, you could get "business speed" of less than 3 Mbps. When you're paying over $400 per night for a room, you really wonder why a hotel tries to squeeze a few more bucks out of you for an everyday utility that people rely on.

The other problem was with Sausalito in general. It only took about 30 minutes to explore the whole town. Other than a few restaurants on the water, most of the area was small diners and coffee shops, and a lot of trinket shops. Good thing the room was so nice; we didn't bother going out again except for dinner at an Indian diner that was a 6 minute walk from the hotel. I was really surprised about the lack of things to do, as I had thought that Sausolito was a tourist destination. But there's nothing to do in the downtown section!

Room Tip: Room 400 is a hillside cottage with the largest balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan M, General Manager at Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for the excellent feedback and providing insight into areas of our business that require attention, areas that may otherwise go unnoticed.

To that end, we wish to extend our sincerest apologies for the less than acceptable Internet connection. Our standard high-speed bandwidth has been set to be a minimum 1 mbps at all times (with download bandwidth fluctuating to 1.5 mbps - good for normal email, Internet browsing and standard file downloads), and an upgrade option to 3mbps (business internet service for video streaming, and video conference) is available for a small fee. We are very sorry that the bandwidth fell below the minimum threshold and are investigating the issue with our service provider to ensure consistency going forward.

In the interim, please know that we do offer a corporate midweek package - available for guests booking directly with the hotel - which includes a complimentary Internet upgrade to 3mbps. So, when your travels bring you back to beautiful Sausalito, please let us know if you'd like us to provide you with details on our corporate travel package...as well as some information on what to do in Sausalito. It is a sleepy little seaside town, but very much worth exploring beyond the historic center and shopping districts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    66
    17
    12
    1
See reviews for
36
166
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

The staff at Casa Madrona is exceptional! They are very helpful and professional! They made every effort to accommodate and make my stay smooth!

The rooms are very clean and quiet and I really loved staying here! The views are beautiful and the Spa and rooftop terrace are very relaxing and peaceful! I cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: The Suites are definitely worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

The prefect place to stay and relax form the city. Just take the ferry from San Fran Terminal and enjoy the easy going atmosphere in Sausalito. Hotel is grant with very friendly Management and Concierge, pretty and individial rooms and a beatiful view onto Sausalito marina and Belvedere island.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan M, General Manager at Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
We are so happy you got to experience the ferry ride from San Francisco. Approaching Sausalito by water is truly a beautiful sight, with Casa Madrona perched on the hill, just a stone's throw from the pier and yacht harbor.

Looking forward to welcoming you back hopefully soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Sausalito is a great place to stay when visiting the San Fran area if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of the city. It's generally, quaint, quiet, and peaceful - you just have to watch out for the bikers. The room was nice enough. The bed was comfortable. I got a room overlooking the courtyard so I did not hear any street noise. The soaking tub was a nice addition to the bathroom.

Room Tip: While the best views face the street (to see the water) I took another traveler's advice and boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed here recently and there are a few things to note. Firstly, the valet service is invisible when you arrive (and leave) so don't be in a rush. The rooms are pleasant and the harbor view is lovely. Be aware there is no bar. Not a major issue but the places in town close down early so a late evening drink is hard to come by though the cash only bar nearby, 'the bar with no name' is fun and had a great blues band playing the evening we were there.

Overall nothing bad about the hotel but nothing inspiring either and there is more road noise than I had expected

Room Tip: Harbor view is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan M, General Manager at Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
We wish to express your sincere thanks for your notes regarding your recent stay at Casa Madrona Hotel & Spa and would like to apologize for the delay with our valet parking services. Incidents such as this are quite rare, and if a positive side could be found in this, it would be that your input will have helped us sharpen our procedures to improve upon the availability of our guest services crew.

Sausalito is indeed a wonderful hideaway. With fresh sea breezes and a casual but cosmopolitan style, Sausalito is often compared to the Mediterranean Riviera. Beautifully situated on Richardson Bay, the city is a charming blend of vibrant storefronts and artisanal shops in a seaside village atmosphere - and while it is not a 'late night' town (save the Bar with no Name and Smitty's, of course!), we do hope your travels will bring you back to our exceptional community soon.

When it's time to return, be sure to ask us about our brand new upper hillside accommodations - away from any street noise - including wonderfully designed deluxe rooms and junior suites inside our historic mansion as well as numerous spacious cottages with private decks and sweeping views of the Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Even though we live near-by in the East Bay, we decided to have a mini “get-away” for our 27th Wedding Anniversary, which happened to fall on the 27th day of the month. We had heard of the Casa Madrona in Sausalito, and we booked a Hillside Cottage with Balcony. It was easy to find, right in town. From the moment we arrived, we felt totally welcomed by the staff, starting with the very friendly valet staff. Yes, they have valet parking, which I gather is not required, but parking anywhere in Sausalito would probably cost just as much and would be more inconvenient. Given the nature of the town, with its tourists and traffic, we turned over the car and just walked everywhere in town.

The front desk was just as friendly and nice, and upgraded us to a Junior Suite in celebration of our Anniversary. The room we had booked was supposed to have a fireplace, but the entire Bay Area was under a “Spare the Air” alert and no fires could be lit. So, it was just as well since we would have hated to have the fireplace and not be able to use it. The Junior Suite had a large, nicely appointed bath, an small entry way and room with a small refrigerator, coffee maker, and closet with safe. There was an adjoining living area with a sofa and table and chairs. Then the bedroom with a king-size,four-poster bed that looked out to a small balcony overlooking the Sausalito Marina and Belvedere Island. The view was not expansive, but pleasant (we are spoiled by our home’s view of San Francisco and two bridges). There was not a lot of privacy as other guests used the stairs outside the room, but a cozy place to open the nice champagne that the hotel gave us in celebration and munch on welcome chocolates.

Wi-Fi was good, there was an elevator if you didn’t want to use the stairs, and staff were consistently friendly and helpful. We did not use the spa or eat at Poggio’s so we cannot comment on them. We did eat at Salito’s (seafood, nice atmosphere on the Marina, we did not care for the food), and Copita’s (a Cal-Mexican small plate place with excellent food and house margarita’s to die for). Salito’s was an easy stroll away, Copita’s was basically next door.

They are working on rejuvenation of the old section that is even higher up on the hill and should have better views when completed.

All in all, a very nice Anniversary – thank you Casa Madrona.

Room Tip: Cottage rooms have better views. Our junior suite was very nice but with a limited view and privacy...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan M, General Manager at Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments about our guest services team. We truly appreciate the gesture!

Hopefully, we'll have an opportunity soon to introduce you to our re-imagined Casa Madrona as we continue to redefine boutique hospitality in the San Francisco Bay Area. The multimillion dollar transformation of our historic upper hillside will exemplify innovation, technology, luxury, service and style. Designed to perfection by the award-winning architect team of Safdie Rabines, the unveiling will reveal the top-to-bottom renovation of our Victorian mansion built in 1885, the restructuring and redesign of the Mansion’s 11 rooms including the new, standout 5,000 square-foot Alexandrite Suite and the 1,700 square-food Junto meeting and event space, plus the renovation of our spacious hillside cottages.

Here's to discovering a fresh view of timeless luxury!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I used to live in the city of San Francisco, 20 years ago and thanks to a special offer, I decided with my best friend to indulge one day in Sausalito in order to have the time to do some amazing kayaking, just a short stroll away from the hotel, dine in the next door Italian restaurant, have lunch in one of the outdoor cafés with some great seafood or fish. The hotel does not have its own F&B but is next door to a fantastic Italian - we sat at the bar, served by 2 Italians, making it a perfect combination of US-Italy and almost a trip back to the Genovese Coast. The noise of the street is not as bad despite the vicinity of the road but the sound proofing is good. Unfortunately not twin rooms in the entire establishment but all rooms are very large, and the sofa bed was confortable. The room we got was really large with a little patio with 2 chairs.
Very easy to get with the boat that commute between San Francisco and Sausalito, and most likely by bus. We came by car and there is a parking lot right across or convenient valet parking at much decent prices than downtown San Francisco.

Room Tip: Probably higher up rooms (but there is not elevator) to get away from the street traffic which is on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa

Address: 801 Bridgeway, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Madrona Hotel Sausalito
Casa Madrona Sausalito
Hotel Casa Madrona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.