We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The new section is better thanthe original” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   801 Bridgeway, Sausalito, CA 94965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Sausalito
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bay Area California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The new section is better thanthe original”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We booked a single night at our old favorite. This time, the front desk person suggested we stay in the new wing, which from the outside, looks a little cookie cutter. Boy, were we surprised. Room 454 (and she told us 354) were large, with perfect views of the Bay, and very luxurious. The entire short stay was perfect, and the service excellent. A great romantic getaway, in the center of Sausalito

Room Tip: The bay views are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    50
    13
    7
    0
See reviews for
27
120
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed for a week in April for our 1 year anniversary. We stayed in a Hillside Balcony Cottage room. We loved this room because the balcony had beautiful views of the Richardson Bay and it had its own separate outdoor entrance. Hanging out on the balcony with coffee/espresso is a great way to start the morning. The restaurants on the bay and unique shops of Sausalito were great and were all within walking distance. The ferry was a short walk away and a great way to get to and from San Francisco. The staff were great and made setting up transportation easy when needed. The fireplace in the room was a nice touch. There are so many things to do in the area (we saw a show and visited the famous Dovre Club in San Fran, took tours to Muir Woods, Wine Country, and Alcatraz)...There is a farmer's market near the hotel at Dunphy Park every Sunday morning that I would recommend (we stocked up on some great fruit and other food for the week). Sorry VinceKay (see below); that was our almond milk haha. All in all, a great trip! We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for a single night on our way home from a two-week trip. The price was high compared to most of our stays along the coast between Southern California and Seattle, but we knew that when we decided to spend a night in Sausalito. The service was extremely friendly; the Front Desk and the valets/bellboys were wonderful.

The room was small but well-furnished. The patio and view made up for the small size. I agree with some previous reviewers that the vanity/sink area is a bit small and awkward, although aesthetically pleasing. The tub is great, and I appreciate the "green" containers for shampoo, etc.

We walked from the hotel down through Fort Baker and up to the Golden Gate. The location was convenient for walking. If we visit Sausalito again, we would stay in the Casa Madrona.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield, pa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Casa Madrona is just a wonderfully quaint, clean, efficient, modern spot in beautiful and tranquil Sausalito. The hotel sits peacefully on the main waterfront street with beautiful harbor views.
The staff is friendly and willing to please. There is a nice restaurant attached Pagio, which has a nice menu and good selection of wines and very nice f you don't want to venture far. We had lunch here one day and a light breakfast the next. We did not have time for any spa treatments but our room was across the hall from the spa and it did look warm, peaceful and inviting.
Would recommend Case Madrona to anyone looking to stay in Saulsalito-(which, by the way, is almost like heaven on earth).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

First with the good things:

We got the hillside cottage balcony room, and the interior was very modern, clean, and spacious. The bed was very comfortable and we purchased a bubble bath and salt set for a relaxing time in the extra wide and deep tub. We had a balcony with an awesome view of the marina. Since the balconies aren't layered above each other, you can look straight up and get a spectacular view of the night sky.

Now with some disappointments:

One of the first things we come across while exploring our room: an almost empty carton of almond milk in the fridge. Okay, people make mistakes. Maybe the cleaning folks just happened to forget. We tried not to think too much of it in the beginning. (Read the last paragraph)

The toilet and the entire room is separated by this clumsy "door" that you pull together and since it's so flimsy you have to line up the two carefully to get it to close and lock. It's almost as if there was never a separation originally between the rooms and they constructed this ugly door just to make the separation. And still, it's barely a door that provides any privacy and the sound of a person doing their business can be heard echoing throughout the whole room.

The balcony. Feels nice to sit outside with the beautiful view and look at the stars, but the chairs are small, uncomfortable, and a bit outdated, especially when comparing with the interior modern design. A slightly bigger chair that you can cuddle with your partner would have been nice.

I saw someone else mention the same thing in one of the reviews here and we experienced the same thing. When I called the hotel, they told me that I can get my breakfast, which was part of our 'bed and breakfast' package, sent to our room. When we checked in and asked the receptionist, she said that the complimentary breakfast could not be made into room service. Sounds like we weren't the first to be told this.

Another issue we had the morning of checkout. Around 930am, the cleaning folks barge into our room. What the?? We were woken up by the door opening and the person saying 'oh excuse me'. Now, first they forgot to clean up the carton of almond milk from the fridge. Now they go into people's room while they're sleeping. And it did not end there. They came two more times, knocking on our door shouting 'room service!' until the last minute we were about to step out. We kept telling them we haven't checked out and we even heard them knocking on our neighbor, who impatiently said, "Yeah, we are checking out now." When the hotel policy says checkout is noon, we will check out by noon. Why must you bug us from 9am and make us feel like we need to get out? Way to make the guests feel welcome.

Thinking about it just frustrates me. WIth the price you're charging, you need to train your staff a little better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan M, General Manager at Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
We truly appreciate your candid comments. Our prime waterfront location and spectacular views are really second to none, and it is so important that we, at Casa Madrona Hotel & Spa, deliver equally impressive service standards. I am sorry to read that our Guest Services team fell short of that promise, good intentions aside.

To that end, please accept our apologies for the miscues you experienced with our Housekeeping crew. As you point out, guests often depart as late as 12 noon, and while we can assure you that we take painstaking efforts to accurately inspect all accommodations, it is on rare occasions that, in an effort to ensure availability of our guest rooms and cottages to arriving guests prior to 3 pm, an oversight occurs. You are absolutely correct - staff training is essential to our success - and observations such as yours greatly assist us in improving our operations as we prepare for the launch of our new premium accommodations, including the completely restored historic mansion and renovated upper hillside cottages. Thank you again for sharing your insights - they are tremendously helpful!

Thank you, also, for remarking upon the special online promotion of which you took advantage. Our 'bed & breakfast" package is designed, priced, and advertised for our guests to enjoy a freshly prepared breakfast at the highly acclaimed Poggio Trattoria, though room service options are certainly available. We apologize if the information you received on the various alternatives was unclear.

We hope to be welcoming you back to beautiful Sausalito hopefully soon. Rest assured, no amount of effort will be spared to provide you with the first class service and hospitality for which Casa Madrona is known!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautifully located hotel and spa. The rooms were small but offered a very nice balcony with comfortable chairs to enjoy the expansive view of the harbor, boats and even the impressive Golden Gate Bridge. Proximity to fun, funky and fabulous shops could not be better. Restaurant choices were numerous and varied for all price ranges and within walking distance. The weather also cooperated to make our stay absolutely perfect. Be sure to utilize the friendly, convenient spa! All our needs were met by the friendly and efficient staff. Susan, California

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illusive45
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Booked one of the hillside cottages for my wife's 40th birthday using SniqueAway. We had a late arrival after having her big birthday dinner in the city, but the staff was ready for us, despite our late hour check in.
We were ready to wind down and just relax and we were greeted by an amazing room! The hillside cottages are quite unique. Taking the elevator up and navigating the stairs was a little challenging but we found our room fairly easily. Once inside, there a comfy bed and a breathtaking view of the marina just outside our balcony!
The bathroom is a little "cozy" but the decor was inviting and modern. Shampoo, conditioner, and soap dispensers with quality lemongrass scents.
The cottages are just large enough for couples and I dig the little ste up to the little sitting area where theres a small bistro table, dry bar, fridge, and closet. We couldn't get enough of the views from the balcony!
Only eye sore was the renovations they are doing on the very top of the hotel where tarps covered their ongoing work. It didn't affect us from our room, but taking photos from across the street were a little tainted by the ugly white tarps above. Not a big deal.
Again, service was great. We were a little bummed we didn't take advantage of the "pillow menu" since we only found out the next morning, but we'll have to take advantage of that the next time!
Parking is free at night across the street, but be sure to move it or feed the meters in the morning. So many restaurants and shops within walking distance. You really can't go wrong anywhere in Sausalito, esp. on a beautiful day when there's no fog.
We'll be back again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan M, General Manager at Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Happy belated Birthday!

We are thrilled to have been the perfect backdrop to your celebration and hope to be welcoming you back very soon...and if you liked the hillside cottage accommodations on your last visit, you will LOVE the nine Victorian mansion rooms and seven new upper hillside cottages we are currently redesigning with new interiors featuring King beds, spacious room configurations, hardwood floors, and spectacular bay and city views. The decor and color palettes will be a mix of authentic historic touches paired with a clean and contemporary design while using recycled or refurbished existing materials.

These spectacular new rooms and cottages are scheduled to become available for bookings this summer!

We are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa

Also Known As:
Casa Madrona Hotel Sausalito
Casa Madrona Hotel
Casa Madrona Sausalito
Hotel Casa Madrona
Address: 801 Bridgeway, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sausalito
#2 Green Hotel in Sausalito
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.