We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   801 Bridgeway, Sausalito, CA 94965   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3rd Night Free
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Williamstown, NJ
1 review
“Perfect Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed for a week in April for our 1 year anniversary. We stayed in a Hillside Balcony Cottage room. We loved this room because the balcony had beautiful views of the Richardson Bay and it had its own separate outdoor entrance. Hanging out on the balcony with coffee/espresso is a great way to start the morning. The restaurants on the bay and unique shops of Sausalito were great and were all within walking distance. The ferry was a short walk away and a great way to get to and from San Francisco. The staff were great and made setting up transportation easy when needed. The fireplace in the room was a nice touch. There are so many things to do in the area (we saw a show and visited the famous Dovre Club in San Fran, took tours to Muir Woods, Wine Country, and Alcatraz)...There is a farmer's market near the hotel at Dunphy Park every Sunday morning that I would recommend (we stocked up on some great fruit and other food for the week). Sorry VinceKay (see below); that was our almond milk haha. All in all, a great trip! We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    99
    27
    13
    4
See reviews for
64
251
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for a single night on our way home from a two-week trip. The price was high compared to most of our stays along the coast between Southern California and Seattle, but we knew that when we decided to spend a night in Sausalito. The service was extremely friendly; the Front Desk and the valets/bellboys were wonderful.

The room was small but well-furnished. The patio and view made up for the small size. I agree with some previous reviewers that the vanity/sink area is a bit small and awkward, although aesthetically pleasing. The tub is great, and I appreciate the "green" containers for shampoo, etc.

We walked from the hotel down through Fort Baker and up to the Golden Gate. The location was convenient for walking. If we visit Sausalito again, we would stay in the Casa Madrona.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield, pa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Casa Madrona is just a wonderfully quaint, clean, efficient, modern spot in beautiful and tranquil Sausalito. The hotel sits peacefully on the main waterfront street with beautiful harbor views.
The staff is friendly and willing to please. There is a nice restaurant attached Pagio, which has a nice menu and good selection of wines and very nice f you don't want to venture far. We had lunch here one day and a light breakfast the next. We did not have time for any spa treatments but our room was across the hall from the spa and it did look warm, peaceful and inviting.
Would recommend Case Madrona to anyone looking to stay in Saulsalito-(which, by the way, is almost like heaven on earth).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a beautifully located hotel and spa. The rooms were small but offered a very nice balcony with comfortable chairs to enjoy the expansive view of the harbor, boats and even the impressive Golden Gate Bridge. Proximity to fun, funky and fabulous shops could not be better. Restaurant choices were numerous and varied for all price ranges and within walking distance. The weather also cooperated to make our stay absolutely perfect. Be sure to utilize the friendly, convenient spa! All our needs were met by the friendly and efficient staff. Susan, California

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illusive45
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Booked one of the hillside cottages for my wife's 40th birthday using SniqueAway. We had a late arrival after having her big birthday dinner in the city, but the staff was ready for us, despite our late hour check in.
We were ready to wind down and just relax and we were greeted by an amazing room! The hillside cottages are quite unique. Taking the elevator up and navigating the stairs was a little challenging but we found our room fairly easily. Once inside, there a comfy bed and a breathtaking view of the marina just outside our balcony!
The bathroom is a little "cozy" but the decor was inviting and modern. Shampoo, conditioner, and soap dispensers with quality lemongrass scents.
The cottages are just large enough for couples and I dig the little ste up to the little sitting area where theres a small bistro table, dry bar, fridge, and closet. We couldn't get enough of the views from the balcony!
Only eye sore was the renovations they are doing on the very top of the hotel where tarps covered their ongoing work. It didn't affect us from our room, but taking photos from across the street were a little tainted by the ugly white tarps above. Not a big deal.
Again, service was great. We were a little bummed we didn't take advantage of the "pillow menu" since we only found out the next morning, but we'll have to take advantage of that the next time!
Parking is free at night across the street, but be sure to move it or feed the meters in the morning. So many restaurants and shops within walking distance. You really can't go wrong anywhere in Sausalito, esp. on a beautiful day when there's no fog.
We'll be back again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan M, General Manager at Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Happy belated Birthday!

We are thrilled to have been the perfect backdrop to your celebration and hope to be welcoming you back very soon...and if you liked the hillside cottage accommodations on your last visit, you will LOVE the nine Victorian mansion rooms and seven new upper hillside cottages we are currently redesigning with new interiors featuring King beds, spacious room configurations, hardwood floors, and spectacular bay and city views. The decor and color palettes will be a mix of authentic historic touches paired with a clean and contemporary design while using recycled or refurbished existing materials.

These spectacular new rooms and cottages are scheduled to become available for bookings this summer!

We are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton Harbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed 2 nights...enjoyed the nice sized room (#354) and full view of the marina. Beds and bedding were very comfortable and solid. All the pictures on tripadvisor accurately depict the rooms and location. Valet parking is available or you can select the prepay lots. The disadvantage to the prepay lots is that your ticket expires at 7am the next day--so you have to get up early to take advantage of the value that they offer. Note that the prepay lots vary in cost depending on which lot you choose. Most restaurants are within walking distance from hotel. For coffee and pastries in the morning...try Taste of Rome one block north of hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was in the general building which has 4 floors. The rooms on the front side of the hotel s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A very nice boutique hotel. It's small, but well done and perfect for a quick getaway for 2. Lots of great dining within in walking distance. Steps from ferry. Great for romance- probably a bore for kids.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan M, General Manager at Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments in response to your recent visit to Casa Madrona Hotel & Spa, recognizing the professional efforts and dedication of our team members. We are very fortunate to have such caring and enthusiastic employeess.

Sausalito is truly a perfect seaside retreat. So close to San Francisco yet a world away!

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
1.3 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#3 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 stars 706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
4.0 of 5 stars 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
4.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
2.9 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#2 of 6 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa

Address: 801 Bridgeway, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sausalito
#2 Green Hotel in Sausalito
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TIG Global, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Madrona Hotel Sausalito
Casa Madrona Sausalito
Hotel Casa Madrona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.