We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable with Nice Views of the” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 8 more sites!
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   801 Bridgeway, Sausalito, CA 94965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Sausalito
GreenLeadersSilver level
Benton Harbor, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable with Nice Views of the”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed 2 nights...enjoyed the nice sized room (#354) and full view of the marina. Beds and bedding were very comfortable and solid. All the pictures on tripadvisor accurately depict the rooms and location. Valet parking is available or you can select the prepay lots. The disadvantage to the prepay lots is that your ticket expires at 7am the next day--so you have to get up early to take advantage of the value that they offer. Note that the prepay lots vary in cost depending on which lot you choose. Most restaurants are within walking distance from hotel. For coffee and pastries in the morning...try Taste of Rome one block north of hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was in the general building which has 4 floors. The rooms on the front side of the hotel s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    50
    13
    7
    0
See reviews for
27
120
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

A very nice boutique hotel. It's small, but well done and perfect for a quick getaway for 2. Lots of great dining within in walking distance. Steps from ferry. Great for romance- probably a bore for kids.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan M, General Manager at Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments in response to your recent visit to Casa Madrona Hotel & Spa, recognizing the professional efforts and dedication of our team members. We are very fortunate to have such caring and enthusiastic employeess.

Sausalito is truly a perfect seaside retreat. So close to San Francisco yet a world away!

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. California
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We went to the Casa Madrona for a little mid-week getaway and it was even better than expected. Since the hotel was fully booked they upgraded us to a "cottage" room. We had a fireplace and a lovely view of the harbor. It's fun to be in Sausalito in the off season when things are quiet and not crowded. The hotel restaurant, Poggio, is excellent--a little piece of Italy. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I came here with high expectations only to have them dashed almost immediately - my deluxe hillside cottage balcony suite had a balcony that was so small, that I was shocked. Also, upon calling the front desk, I was told that I could not be moved because the upper levels were under construction and it would be even noisier than it was on the 3rd floor. Further, the bathroom was smaller than one I recently had on a cruise ship. The shower was small compared to one you would expect at a luxury hotel. I chose this hotel over Inn Above Tide and Cavallo Point; I will not make that mistake again.

We had a bed and breakfast package, which was a bit misleading. The breakfast was basically a limited continental breakfast and although I was told at check-in that we could use the coupon for room service, we were told later that this was not the case.

If you have a chance, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan M, General Manager at Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We truly appreciate your perspective on our property layout and the Hillside Cottages.

Casa Madrona Hotel & Spa is a wonderfully unique property in that no two cottages are alike on the many levels cascading down the seaside hill. We do encourage our guests, upon making their reservations, to advise us ahead of time of any special requests so that we may assign accommodations accordingly. On occasion, during periods of high occupancy, some options may be limited, because the property is currently undergoing a remarkable renovation effort on the upper hillside, and we have taken some rooms out of inventory to ensure our guests' comfort.

With that said, in a few short months we will be unveiling 17 incredible new accommodations, including several very spacious one bedroom cottages (some with fully equipped kitchens!), a restored historical Victorian mansion with 10 guest rooms as well as a stunning 3,500 square foot master suite with a 1,500 square foot deck.

As we are heading into spring, progressing through this incredible metamorphosis, we will continue to offer numerous seasonal promotions. This includes our best-selling bed & breakfast package allowing our guests to enjoy a night of unparalleled comfort in one of our luxurious guestrooms and wake up to breakfast and coffee with a choice of breakfast options served at the highly acclaimed Poggio Restaurant. Specifics for this package, an all other seasonal promotions, are available on the hotel's website.

Be sure to visit us on your next trip to the West Coast. Come summer, Casa Madrona will have some very exciting new additions - and we would love for you to see them!

Wishing you safe travels in the meantime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel has an old part and a newer part; we stayed in the newer part which consists of so-called "hillside cottages." They are really independent rooms with wonderful views of the bays and their bridges, but the design is lacking. The bathroom has almost no place to hang toiletries or washed-out lingerie; the shower "door" covers only half the shower and goes up to the ceiling, which makes showering more like a public event than a true shower. The room we stayed in had almost no shelf or drawer space and the tops of the dresser and the fridge were covered with stuff like ice buckets and glasses. The upshot was that you couldn't really feel "at home" in the place and almost had to put your clothing, etc. on the floor. There is no breakfast service and the restaurant attached to the hotel--Poggio's--is only so-so. Would not return if there were an alternative, although the personnel was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan M, General Manager at Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for discovering our select Hilside Cottage accommodations that, when combined with views of sailboats and sea breezes, truly create a romantic, wistful, and classic setting. To add a distinctive touch of nostalgia, each of these rooms has a distinct style and design. In essence, each cottage is truly unique.

Based on your comments, however, our more traditional Harbor View accommodations on the contemporary side of the property would appear to be more suitable for your needs as those rooms boast high ceilings, four-poster king sized beds, flat screen televisions, sleek furnishings with plenty shelf space and drawers, and very large bathrooms including oversized tubs and separate showers.

Please let us know when your travels bring you back to sunny Sausalito. Check out the many vacation packages and seasonal promotions we offer - including the very popular Bed & Breakfast package - and allow us an opportunity to introduce you to our Harbor View rooms on your next visit.

Looking forward to seeing you back at Casa Madrona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here as our Pre-Valentines day gift to ourselves and it was absolutely wonderful!!!

The room and view was gorgeous and the staff were all very friendly and accommodating!

We took advantage of the spa services and both received a 60 minute massage from amazing massage therapists! I got the hot stone massage from Lizzy which I highly recommend! Tyler got the signature massage by Gary and said it was phenomenal!

With such a cheerful staff and its amazing location, we can't wait to be back!!!
Our only regret is we didn't stay longer!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We live locally, but we do love the restaurant Poggio both for lunch and dinner. Now, I have a new love....Gary at the spa. My only wish is that I met him sooner! He has been using his healing hands here for 9 years. He is simply amazing. I feel renewed, relaxed, and calm! I have had many massages...none, none, none like this:).

Lovely steam room, shower, lockers and lounge too. Calm, soothing environment.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan M, General Manager at Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review in response to your most recent visit to Casa Madrona Hotel & Spa in scenic Sausalito. How thoughtful of you to take the time to share your experience in writing, recognizing the professional efforts of our team members, and specifically pointing out Gary's dedication. As you so graciously noted, he has got the "magic touch", and I have made a point of letting him know just how much we appreciate his talents. We are very fortunate to have such caring employees on our team!

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again very soon. If there is any way that I can assist in making your next visit just as enjoyable, please feel free to let me know.

In the interim, have a wonderful Super Bowl weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa

Also Known As:
Casa Madrona Hotel Sausalito
Casa Madrona Hotel
Casa Madrona Sausalito
Hotel Casa Madrona
Address: 801 Bridgeway, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sausalito
#1 Green Hotel in Sausalito
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa to your Saves list