We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epic views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trident Restaurant

Trident Restaurant
558 Bridgeway, Sausalito, CA 94965 (Formerly Horizons Restaurant)
415-331-3232
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Trident Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 73 Restaurants in Sausalito
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Princess
Transit: Walking distance from the Ferry and Bus stop.
Description: The Trident, formerly 'Horizons", is now open!! We recently completed our remodel and upstairs Skydeck addition showcasing the most amazing views! In January 1981, this beautiful space was revived into Horizons restaurant. Inside is an incredible recipe of art and architecture, complemented with a resemblance of an old yacht. The ceiling mural was original to the Trident and painted by Dave Richards, creator of Janis Joplin’s infamous 1965 Porsche Cabriolet. On the outside deck, discover one of the most stunning restaurant waterfront views on the west coast, which boasts the skyline of San Francisco, Angel Island and Alcatraz. Join us for brunch, lunch or dinner
USA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Epic views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Me and my fiance had dinner here and were amazed by the views! I can't say enough about the views... You're over the water and you're overlooking the bay, with spectacular views San Francisco!

The service was fantastic and the food was amazing... A great place for any special occasion! While somewhat pricey, very much worth it.. You can't put a price on the views!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    68
    28
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A great choice in Sausalito”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We visited Horizons, now called Trident, for lunch, but on the day we were there, it was so busy and rather late in the day, that we opted for dinner instead and made reservations for a few hours later. We were not disappointed, They had a wonderful wine selection, great appetizers and many entrees to choose from, I enjoyed a prawn cocktail and fresh fish entree, it was prepared very well, Hubby had a steak, which was tasty but rather tough. All in all, we were pleased with our visit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

*Now Called Trident* This is the first restaurant we came across after walking to Sausalito from the Golden Gate Bridge. We were looking for Alta Mira but was told this restaurant which had been recommended by a friend, had closed down. It looked good from the outside but we thought we would check out the others before making a decision. It turned out the other restaurants with views were closed for refurbishment! So we went back to Trident. The service was excellent, very attentive & informative. We were shown to a wonderful cosy seat (seat a little uncomfy) but a fantastic view. The waiter was very helpful with the menu & the food was great although we probably made the wrong choice!! Great restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Ignace, Mi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Afternoon adventure AAAAAAAAAAAA++++++++++++”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This place was suggested to my group by a local lady from San Francisco we had met during our adventure around the bay area and she didn't steer us wrong.We found the service too be top notch as well as the food.....I liked the way they use the team method of waiting on tables....also i can't forget the view.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The place to be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We (group of 6) had lunch at Horizon (re-named the Trident) on October 12, 2012.
The early reservation we made has helped us finding a table up-front. The welcoming at the door and escorting to the table was very friendly. You were feeling home already at the door.
Despite the sizeable number of guests service was quick, friendly and perfect. The food was mouthwatering.
I recommend anyone visiting the Trideent to try seafood. All dishes were delightfu and fresh.
Thanks for the excellent food and friendly service!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trident Restaurant also viewed

Sausalito, Marin County
Sausalito, Marin County
 
Sausalito, Marin County
Sausalito, Marin County
 

Been to Trident Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trident Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.