We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ZANY GOOD BURGERS!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Napa Valley Burger Company

Napa Valley Burger Company
670 Bridgeway, Sausalito, CA 94965-2251 (Formerly Winship Restaurant)
415-332-1454
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 73 Restaurants in Sausalito
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Westchester County, NY
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“ZANY GOOD BURGERS!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

As I scanned the zany menu at Napa Valley Burger, I had this image that it was put together when a group of chefs were sitting around doing shots late one night and started playing a game of culinary "Can You Top This?". I mean how else would someone have come up with the idea of a burger topped with Eggs Benedict? Or a beef burger topped with crabmeat? But if you'll forgive me the pun, the ones we enjoyed were insanely good! As were, I hasten to add, the truffle fries with parmesan cheese. Equally crazy on a personal level, was me, a New Yorker for whom burgers always go with beer, washing this one down instead with one of their namesake Napa Valley wines and enjoying it. I mean, everybody "pairs" wine and cheese, right? But who "pairs" wine and cheeseBURGERS?! And let me quickly add that we ain't talking "paties" here. These are good sized burgers. More like "fatties" as in "plus sized" to use the politically correct term.

The only reason I can't give Napa Valley Burger Co. the full 5 stars is because our table service did not match the quality of the food. We chanced to go in there (i.e. no reservation) in the mid-afternoon on a week day, well past the usual lunch hour. We were seated immediately but unfortunately that's where the "immediacy" ended. There were frustrating lags in our service right up through our having to wait to get our check. (I don't mind waiting for my food once the order has been placed if I have a drink to enjoy while I pass the time.) But that aside, there are plenty of eating places along the waterfront in Sausalito. And I'd say that you'd be crazy to pass this one by.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    113
    19
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Bring your appetite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Great stop after biking the bridge and before you catch the ferry! There are a few tables outside for dinning but I chose to sit inside at the bar. Everyone was friendly and the food was equally as nice! It isn't everyday that you see a burger with jalapeños, Mac & cheese, an egg and all the fixins, so I got it!! It comes with a side salad which was okay. The burger was great and went well with the local red beer :) I also found the wine bottle chandeliers fun. Enjoy!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great selection of burgers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The service was subpar but the burgers made up for it. They are a great size so definitely come hungry. Their waffle fries nachos were amazing too.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Very tasty, reasonable prices and good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

After a walk across the bridge and then into Sausalito itself this was a great place to refuel before the Ferry back.

Service and food were excellent and we will go back if we are back before we go home.

This was the busiest restaurant we saw.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The worst part of any holiday can be the food. If we had to eat EVERY meal at the Napa Burger Company we would still be happy. The food was served quickly, it was fresh and hot, the service was attentive and friendly.
Go. Enjoy. Worth waiting in line if you have to (the place is a poorly kept secret).

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Napa Valley Burger Company also viewed

Sausalito, Marin County
Sausalito, Marin County
 
Sausalito, Marin County
Sausalito, Marin County
 

Been to Napa Valley Burger Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napa Valley Burger Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.