We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Spinnaker

The Spinnaker
100 Spinnaker Dr, Sausalito, CA 94965
415-332-1500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Spinnaker is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 73 Restaurants in Sausalito
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Scenic view
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Anchor Street
Transit: Golden Gate Transit Bus: 50, 20; Golden Gate Ferry: Red & White Fleet, Blue & Gold
Description: The Spinnaker is located on the Sausalito waterfront offering panoramic views of San Francisco, Angel Island, the East Bay and Belvedere. They serve an impressive menu with fresh seafood and a fine wine selection.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Can't beat this place for the incredible views of San Francisco. It's built out onto the bay and is just fab. Food was good too. I had a seafood salad and it there was plenty of seafood in it. As we had just walked across the Golden Gate Bridge we were looking a little disheveled and I felt the woman who seated us was a bit snooty but it may have been in my head. Waitress was great though, very down-to-earth. It is more a place for ladies that lunch but we didn't let that put us off. Worth it for the views whilst you eat and recover from the exertion of walking, in a relaxed and quieter place than the more bustling centre.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, Manager at The Spinnaker, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
An amazing meal with an outstanding view must make the perfect treat after your trek across the Golden Gate Bridge! Thank you for thinking of us and leaving such a great review afterwards. Although, I am sorry to hear you felt a bit snubbed by our hostess, I'll be sure to follow up on that. Thankfully, your waitress was there to take great care of you once you were seated! I hope you'll think of us again the next time you're in San Francisco. We'd love to welcome our friends from across the pond again!

Cheers,

Jeff - General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    206
    74
    40
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A pleasant lunch with a fantastic view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The 'meet & greet' woman was pretty grumpy and not at all friendly, but thankfully the waiters were delightful and the service superb. We had a very nice meal and a great view from our window table. Yes, there were a fair few elderly diners, it was nice to see them out enjoying themselves too. Portion size was adequate and the vegetables accompanying my fish were cooked to perfection and were obviously very fresh.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, Manager at The Spinnaker, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your delightful review, Catherine. You should feel nothing but warmly welcomed upon entering our restaurant, and I'm sorry to hear that wasn't the case. Your concerns will be addressed with the team as to avoid making the same impression twice. On another note, I'm glad your waiter took such good care of you and your table. It sounds as though your meal did not disappoint! I hope you'll stop by and see us again the next time you're in San Francisco!

All the best,

Jeff - General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“lovely view; but mediocre food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Used to offer their wonderful green goddess salad; but no more. Food was drab and unimpressive; but the view is exceptional. Definitely a tourist place

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, Manager at The Spinnaker, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
We're so sorry we had to see your favorite menu item go, Lillie. To keep things fresh, we sometimes change up our menu items. I'm curious to know what you ordered instead, so we can get to the bottom of why it was so disappointing. It might just be that you caught us on an off day! I do hope you'll give us another chance, as I know we can serve up a dish just as good as that Green Goddess Salad you loved so much.

All the best,

Jeff - General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good food with an excellent view of the bay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

The food was pretty good, but the views better. Wait staff was fantastic, a little pricey. Overall I would recommend the restaurant but there are others in the area better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, Manager at The Spinnaker, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
It's wonderful to know our staff took such great care of you during your meal, although I wish our food had been just as good, if not better, than our view. If you can put your finger on what was amiss, be sure and let us know. In the meantime we hope you'll join us again the next time you're craving a bay side meal!

All the best,

Jeff - General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco CA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“No Point in Reserving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Although we made a reservation for 6pm on a Sunday. it seemed not to matter as far as preferential seating was concerned. Food standard Fisherman's Wharf-style far but excellent quality. When a large part arrived at the table next to ours, we paid our bill and went to the bar to have dessert. Wise decision! View beautiful and staff pleasant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, Manager at The Spinnaker, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We like to think there isn't a bad seat in the house when you're dining with us. I'm surprised to hear you weren't pleased with your table, and wish you had let us know so we could have moved you to another one more to your liking.

However, it's wonderful to know the quality and flavors of our food did not disappoint. I'll be sure to pass along your compliments to the staff and hope you'll think of dining with us again soon.

All the best,

Jeff - General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spinnaker also viewed

Sausalito, Marin County
Sausalito, Marin County
 
Sausalito, Marin County
Sausalito, Marin County
 

Been to The Spinnaker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spinnaker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.